No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Palace Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Oxford Street , Manchester, M60 7HA
Situated right in the heart of vibrant Manchester on Oxford St, sits the iconic four-star Palace Hotel with its distinctive clock tower soaring over the Manchester skyline. For business, you are at the very centre of the commercial and business district, opposite Oxford Rd train station and just a 10 minute walk from Piccadilly station both of which are served frequently from Manchester International Airport. The hotel has the North of England's largest event space our spectacular Grand Room which can comfortably cater for up to 1000 guests, we also have a fully equipped business centre and a further 18 Conference and Event rooms perfect for a meeting, private dinner or celebration. For short break guests, you’re in an extremely convenient location to uncover everything that Manchester has to offer. The Palace Theatre is across the road, Harvey Nichols and the main shopping district is close-by as is the Opera House, Manchester Central, the MEN Arena for world-famous concerts and Bridgewater Hall, home to the amazing Halle Orchestra. For football fanatics, Manchester is home to United and City and both stadiums can be reached easily from The Palace Hotel. When there is so much to see and do, after a day exploring the city, our Tempus Bar and Restaurant is a haven to relax and unwind with its wide range of cocktails, coffees and mouth watering menu with food to suit your every mood.

Parking is available at NCP Manchester Palace Car park’ on Whitworth Street a short walk from the hotel. The reduced rate for 24 hours/Overnight car parking is £15. This is payable locally at the Hotel.
Picture of The Palace Hotel, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 396 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast
Breakfast although buffet style could have been warmer and the waitress was slow with the coffee and toast.

Reviewed by
C Douglas

From England
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Elbow weekend
the Hotel is brilliant (customer services restaurant etc). the room we stayed in was very tired and doors all around us could do with closers on them as all night doors would bang very loudly. glad that it is having a makeover soon and that is the only reason I would be happy to return.

Reviewed by
Ian M

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Discount Room, Discount Experience.
We booked what we thought was a bargain a £220 room for £77. However, we were very disappointed. We arrived at 2pm to check in and were directed to our room. The fire door for our corridor had a black box on the bottom right hand corner which was alarming a series of beeps every 3-5 seconds, this was reported to reception at roughly 5 o'clock following a fire alarm test, which we were not warned about. We were told someone would be sent to sort it out, but it continued all night and for the duration of our stay.
We had no hot water in the shower and the hair dryer in the room didn't work. When checking out we were asked if we had rang reception about any of these issues, we had the fire alarm but not the water as so close to check out time. The receptionist said "oh sorry, have a nice day"
A reduced room rate should not mean a reduced quality of experience.

Reviewed by
Paul S

From Buxton, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great staff let down by a tired hotel
A continuous door alarm forced us to move rooms at 3am
Upon my return to the original room I discovered there was no hot water for a bath.......so a tepid shower it was.

Reviewed by
j wildey

From carlisle, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful large hotel - would benefit from reviewing plumbing
The Palace Hotel is a striking venue. The large dome in Reception is striking - as is the service from those working there who spent time orientating us to the city and recommending eateries. The hotel is huge! A warren of rooms. The night my sister and I stayed there was a wedding on and another awards event - but the hotel was so large it could accommodate both easily and not impact on us at all.our only gripe regarded the bathroom: the toilet was tricky to flush and took a long time to refill and in the morning there was no hot water for the shower - a basic requirement.

Reviewed by
S Downey

From Stirling, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal location
Lovely hotel and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay,just took 10 mins to get served at the bar. Can understand the young girl behind the bar has other duties as she was putting out condements on the dining tables but she clearly saw us and smiled but still took another 5 mins to serve us.. No harm done and had another lovely stay, thankyou!!!!

Reviewed by
Paul Schofield

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Manchester - A City with character
The Room was a lovely size with a very comfortable bed.
Although there is no parking on site the Euro carpark just around the corner was good value at £8.50 for 24 hours.
Very central for most of the sites, bang opposite the theatre.
Very nice hotel but if you got a room on the railway side it might be a little noisy.

Reviewed by
Graham T

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The best hotel in Manchester
Perfect old & classy, unbelievable style & perfect experience. Food, service, everything. The whole package. Just book it, you won't be disappointed! Also the ceilings in the rooms are massive!!

Reviewed by
Shane Davis

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

spot on!!
Cant complain about this hotel. Rooms really nice with ultra high cielings. Staff helpful and friendly. And location was perfect. All in all a good experience.

Reviewed by
m dunne

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is not a four star hotel and should not be advertised as such
I have stayed in this hotel several times before-the hotel is massive and one side has been renovated and the other side has not been. We were instantly offered a £15 or £25 upgrade. We said we wanted to see the room first. We were given a very dark depressing oak panelled room - definitely not 4 star! We paid the extra £15 for a better room. The second room was no better!!
I was very upset - After talking to a manager she then upgraded us to the modern side.
Why would a hotel not give the best rooms they have available so you have a good experience. We will never stay again.

Reviewed by
amanda a

From Twickenham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next