No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Palace Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Oxford Street , Manchester, M60 7HA
Situated right in the heart of vibrant Manchester on Oxford St, sits the iconic four-star Palace Hotel with its distinctive clock tower soaring over the Manchester skyline. For business, you are at the very centre of the commercial and business district, opposite Oxford Rd train station and just a 10 minute walk from Piccadilly station both of which are served frequently from Manchester International Airport. The hotel has the North of England's largest event space our spectacular Grand Room which can comfortably cater for up to 1000 guests, we also have a fully equipped business centre and a further 18 Conference and Event rooms perfect for a meeting, private dinner or celebration. For short break guests, you’re in an extremely convenient location to uncover everything that Manchester has to offer. The Palace Theatre is across the road, Harvey Nichols and the main shopping district is close-by as is the Opera House, Manchester Central, the MEN Arena for world-famous concerts and Bridgewater Hall, home to the amazing Halle Orchestra. For football fanatics, Manchester is home to United and City and both stadiums can be reached easily from The Palace Hotel. When there is so much to see and do, after a day exploring the city, our Tempus Bar and Restaurant is a haven to relax and unwind with its wide range of cocktails, coffees and mouth watering menu with food to suit your every mood.
Picture of The Palace Hotel, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 461 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel poor toilets
This was our first stay at the Palace. Staff were great, room was great, breakfast OK but it is little things that let a place down. The toilets at the bar/restaurant were disgusting. They weren't dirty it was just that the toilet seat was old and broken. It looked like someone had danced on it wearing ice skates. In the Ladies there were no door locks and in the Gents it had been broke and badly repaired. Overall I would stay there again but little things like this suggest poor management and I wonder what else is going on that I don't see

Reviewed by
P Bramah

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Booked through Laterooms.com. Excellent value in an amazing hotel.
The reception area is stunning and our room was huge!

Reviewed by
J Baker

From Frome, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent staff, good breakfast, unattractive basement room
My wife and I booked in for one night to see a show at the Palace Theatre across the road. Whilst the hotel served its purpose, we were disappointed with the room. It was the first time I have stayed in a hotel room that was below ground level! Not a pleasant experience and I'm glad it was only for one night.
The staff were excellent as was the breakfast the next morning.

Reviewed by
Patrick D

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In need of rennovation
The room itself seemed very nice at first. However I later found out there is no Wi-Fi in the room, only a dial up connection via a cable and this was in one corner of the room, and the only electricity socket was all the way on the other side of the room meaning that I could not plug my laptop in.
I found a used drinking straw on the coffee/tea tray.
The bath tub was not exactly the cleanest and the shower curtain had the beginnings of mold along the edges. The toilet did not flush properly and the bath tub had poor drainage. The icing on the cake was when the fire alarm randomly went off at 5:45 a.m. and there was no answer from reception when I was trying to ring them to find out what's going on and if they can switch the alarm off. I do realize it could have been genuine but in this case it was not, as I later found out.

Reviewed by
S Lewis

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Distinctly average
For the price I would have expected something a little better. The public areas of the hotel feature some amazing architecture but the room itself certainly wasn't what one would expect from a 4* hotel and the bathroom clearly hadn't been updated since the '90s (mould on sealant around bath, cracked floor tiles & leaky shower head that sprayed the rest of the room). Relativley clean but a bit dusty. Beds were comfortable, no noise from other guests. Breakfast average but edible.

Reviewed by
Drew T

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

run down, dreary hotel, unhelpful staff. poor tv.

Reviewed by
neil a

From BRISTOL, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room smelt of dampness. Not a 4 star hotel. We had to buy wipes and air freshner to stay there. Really old fashion. Never again will we stay in the palace or recommend it. Room 5217 avoid.

Reviewed by
J T

From England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

far to exspecive for the quality

Reviewed by
P Platt

From St helens, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb service and accommodation in the heart of Manchester
I visited the Palace Hotel recently with my partner for a four night stay. All aspects of our stay were excellent, in particular the customer service from Yasmin at Reception. Nothing was too much trouble and for a very modest fee we received an upgraded room, chilled prossecco, decorated fruit plate with chocolate dipped strawberries which were a fitting welcome to the hotel and to celebrate my partners birthday.
I have no hesitation in recommending this excellent hotel and look forward to returning in the near future.

Reviewed by
Gary S

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little disappointing but very cheap...
I was surprised to find a stay at the Palace for such a cheap price having heard excellent things about the hotel and the quality of its service. When we arrived the receptionist was disinterested, unsmiling and cold - I recognise we probably don't fit the 'usual' style of clientele at the Palace - given its focus on international tourists and business travellers - but nonetheless I'm still a paying guest and I would have liked to have been greeted in a warmer fashion. I rang down later to ask for a taxi and, though I can't be sure I spoke to the same individual, was treated in exactly the same way - disappointingly.
Our room was very large and split level - there was ample space and a small seating area had been included as well as the usual furnishings. For some reason, although I had booked for a double room, we were put in a twin room - that is there were two beds which, although large, neither of which seemed to be a full double bed. My last comment about our room is that there was a lot of small jobs which needed to be done within it to bring it to perfect condition. For example, there were broken or missing handles on furniture, there were marks on the wall, the bath had not been cleaned properly... all of which detracted from the quality of our staff and our view of the hotel.
I can't say much about the food as we only ate here for breakfast which was of good quality but not as good as other hotels I have stayed at.
I would stay here again for business or if the price remained the same (£80 inc breakfast) as its a good deal for such a central location in Manchester. That being said, however, we had stayed here for a special occasion and I will not be doing so again as the hotel just did not live up to standard to make our celebration a completely memorable day.

Reviewed by
Rachael B

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next