No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Palace Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Oxford Street , Manchester, M60 7HA
Situated right in the heart of vibrant Manchester on Oxford St, sits the iconic four-star Palace Hotel with its distinctive clock tower soaring over the Manchester skyline. For business, you are at the very centre of the commercial and business district, opposite Oxford Rd train station and just a 10 minute walk from Piccadilly station both of which are served frequently from Manchester International Airport. The hotel has the North of England's largest event space our spectacular Grand Room which can comfortably cater for up to 1000 guests, we also have a fully equipped business centre and a further 18 Conference and Event rooms perfect for a meeting, private dinner or celebration. For short break guests, you’re in an extremely convenient location to uncover everything that Manchester has to offer. The Palace Theatre is across the road, Harvey Nichols and the main shopping district is close-by as is the Opera House, Manchester Central, the MEN Arena for world-famous concerts and Bridgewater Hall, home to the amazing Halle Orchestra. For football fanatics, Manchester is home to United and City and both stadiums can be reached easily from The Palace Hotel. When there is so much to see and do, after a day exploring the city, our Tempus Bar and Restaurant is a haven to relax and unwind with its wide range of cocktails, coffees and mouth watering menu with food to suit your every mood.
Picture of The Palace Hotel, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 454 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Christmas Stay
The hotel was full but had a nice atmosphere. The room was large and had all facilities. Bar service excellent.

Reviewed by
simon m

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

n/a

Reviewed by
stephen roberts

From Harrow, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Stayed at the palace for 1 night as myself and my friend had a concert to go to, both me and my friend wished we stayed longer the hotel is stunning the staff are friendly and the room was the best I've ever stayed in.
Would highly recommend this hotel I'm booking again for next year .

Reviewed by
j weaver

From York, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we had a really nice relaxing stay th this hotel,the staff were fantastic and couldnt do enough for us and accomedated our every need,nothing was a problem to the staff at the palace hotel

Reviewed by
P Coles

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed at the Palace for 1 night to visit the Markets. Perfect location for Oxford Road station. Impressive foyer/reception. Beautiful historical building. Staff very attentive and professional. Room was a little tired but huge. Massive window, two beds, lots of historical features - could just have done with a little tlc. Had drinks in the bar area which is a lovely room. Overall stay very enjoyable.

Reviewed by
Paul B

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disapppointing
Stayed here with my son on a trip to Manchester to see the Rugby League World Cup Final. Good location in the city centre, but very disappointed with the room. The building is old, and I realise they are trying to keep some 'period features', but the decor was more Soviet Union on a bad day, and there's simply no excuse for filthy windows, which were literally black with dirt, and looked as if they hadn't had so much as a damp cloth wiped over them in a long time. Additionally, the knob on the shower pulled off in your hand, and the electrical sockets, for some reason, were so loose and wobbly that both of us could only get a phone charger to work in one of the three available. Breakfast was very average too (no mushrooms available!). Just nowhere near good enough for a 4 star hotel.

Reviewed by
C Fallon

From Trowbridge, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hotel is Huge and facinating, I have never stayed in a place like it. My sister and I had rooms on different floors, this added to the enjoyment as we kept getting lost, but I can not praise the staff enough they where wonderfull. from reception to bar staff, our waitress at evening dinner, they could not do enough to make our stay splendid. If you want to feel special I would recommend The Palace Hotel, go enjoy this unique hotel.

Reviewed by
H BARBER

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Managing expectations
Having spent as much as I did and based on the pictures of Palace Hotel, I was so excited for my romantic weekend getaway. When I entered the hotel reception I thought I had chosen well, however it was only when I was directed to my room that I realised that this was not the reality.
Words used to describe the rooms were "luxurious", "elegant" and "cosy", but the room was nothing of he sort. It was old and quite dingy. Even the throw on the bed had holes in it. Moreover the heating wasn't working and the tv remote had no batteries. We were offered a heater for the room, which helped a little but it's not quite what you'd expect. Although the bathroom was well kept the room was not at all of the calibre that I was expecting. Given that the hotel is rated 4*, I believe that my expectations were justified. In all honesty, a Holiday Inn would have been better.
So, manage your expectations.

Reviewed by
G Baryah

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dirty windows, dated hotel
Nice enough room but stunk of damp, the windows were disgusting, covered in black mould, mould around bath tiles. It looks really dated beyond the beautiful entrance. Breakfast is in in a stunning room but the food was cold and very average.
I would definitely not stay there again. I would rather stay in a more modern hotel.

Reviewed by
k williams

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If you really must stay here, take some ear plugs
I wouldn't stay here again. Surface cleanliness acceptable, but don't look too hard. Staff young and inexperienced, definitely no genuine service with a smile. Only had breakfast there, first day was cooked breakfast was overdone, next morning cooked breakfast was cold. Staff definitely don't want to do more than they have to. The trains pass by very close to hotel, with rattling of windows all night. If you're staying for one night, and not planning on spending much time in the hotel - it'll be fine.

Reviewed by
N Anderson

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next