No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Palace Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Oxford Street , Manchester, M60 7HA
Situated right in the heart of vibrant Manchester on Oxford St, sits the iconic four-star Palace Hotel with its distinctive clock tower soaring over the Manchester skyline. For business, you are at the very centre of the commercial and business district, opposite Oxford Rd train station and just a 10 minute walk from Piccadilly station both of which are served frequently from Manchester International Airport. The hotel has the North of England's largest event space our spectacular Grand Room which can comfortably cater for up to 1000 guests, we also have a fully equipped business centre and a further 18 Conference and Event rooms perfect for a meeting, private dinner or celebration. For short break guests, you’re in an extremely convenient location to uncover everything that Manchester has to offer. The Palace Theatre is across the road, Harvey Nichols and the main shopping district is close-by as is the Opera House, Manchester Central, the MEN Arena for world-famous concerts and Bridgewater Hall, home to the amazing Halle Orchestra. For football fanatics, Manchester is home to United and City and both stadiums can be reached easily from The Palace Hotel. When there is so much to see and do, after a day exploring the city, our Tempus Bar and Restaurant is a haven to relax and unwind with its wide range of cocktails, coffees and mouth watering menu with food to suit your every mood.
Picture of The Palace Hotel, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 470 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friday Night Stay
Such a shame - I had stayed in this hotel a few times on business, but this time I stayed here with my husband ready for a weekend in the Manchester area. I was really disappointed, The room was a basement room, which was very tired and drab. There was no ability to open a window which meant the room became very stuff and damp smelling after using the shower...which was full of mould around the grouting and brown staining around the shower head which meant when you turned the shower on, brown water came out. The breakfast the next day was not up to scratch either with many of the hot buffet items were cold and cardboard like!

Reviewed by
Anna W

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff were really helpful and the building is stunning

Reviewed by
sheila D

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, value for money, slightly tired deco in room
The communal areas of this hotel are 'wow'!! Vast entrance lobby, grand bar/restaurant and a maze of corridors and stairways! For us the location opposite Oxford Rd train station and near to bars was perfect. Our room was spacious and clean and the shower was really powerful. The only slight disappointment was that the room (5016) was 'tired'. Very old fashioned decoration and in need of a spruce up. Hanging stayed here before on a couple of occasions I know some of the rooms have been modernised so maybe this one on the list??. This small point wouldn't stop me staying again. Love this hotel and would recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
Ruth M

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel
I stayed in the mezzanine, the room was comfortable and a great price for a last minute stay. The room was nice and clean but the view out of the window was terrible. Lots of rubbish and I think there was tyre. Not very nice and brings down the standard of a very nice hotel bang in the centre of Manchester.

Reviewed by
Daniel W

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The accommodation was fantastic value for money given the late booking as well as the late arrival on the day. The room was old fashioned but beautiful and I would not hesitate booking a room at The Palace Hotel again.

Reviewed by
H Drudge

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peace in the heart of Manchester
Very welcoming staff, good size, clean and comfortable room. Absolute quiet, no noise from the street at all. A great fresh breakfast and all so close to the city centre.

Reviewed by
Dan B

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcome to the 21st Century?
Dial-up internet connection and 5 TV channels - rather surprising in 2014 - particularly at a hotel that targets business travellers.

Reviewed by
A Ryan

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good space, pleasant staff
All of the hotel staff were polite and helpful. The only downside on the customer service side was that the room wasn't ready when we arrived. The room itself was very spacious and the building has a grand feel to it. There were a few small things that would have improved the room. The shower door didn't close properly so water leaked onto the bathroom floor & the mattress was a little soft for my taste. The décor was a little dated but otherwise the room was comfortable, clean and a you got a lot of space for the price.

Reviewed by
Gareth P

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprising extravegance
Hotel was surprisingly large with great character and extravegance. The rooms were contemporary and spacious enough. A few bathroom tiles were loose on the bathroom floor with caught my foot and came out and the view was the internal area of bins where the bin men woke us up very early. But overall the stay was nice enough to want to return again

Reviewed by
Selina Taylor

From Llanelli, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Period charm in the heart of Manchester
Not a fan of new-fangled modernist monstrosities, so the Palace was a perfect fit. Lovely deco/period furniture, high-ceilinged rooms, claw-foot bath; I was in vintage heaven. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Christopher Choy

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next