No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Palace Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Oxford Street , Manchester, M60 7HA
Situated right in the heart of vibrant Manchester on Oxford St, sits the iconic four-star Palace Hotel with its distinctive clock tower soaring over the Manchester skyline. For business, you are at the very centre of the commercial and business district, opposite Oxford Rd train station and just a 10 minute walk from Piccadilly station both of which are served frequently from Manchester International Airport. The hotel has the North of England's largest event space our spectacular Grand Room which can comfortably cater for up to 1000 guests, we also have a fully equipped business centre and a further 18 Conference and Event rooms perfect for a meeting, private dinner or celebration. For short break guests, you’re in an extremely convenient location to uncover everything that Manchester has to offer. The Palace Theatre is across the road, Harvey Nichols and the main shopping district is close-by as is the Opera House, Manchester Central, the MEN Arena for world-famous concerts and Bridgewater Hall, home to the amazing Halle Orchestra. For football fanatics, Manchester is home to United and City and both stadiums can be reached easily from The Palace Hotel. When there is so much to see and do, after a day exploring the city, our Tempus Bar and Restaurant is a haven to relax and unwind with its wide range of cocktails, coffees and mouth watering menu with food to suit your every mood.
Picture of The Palace Hotel, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 463 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

impresive city centre hotel
Very impresive on the outside very grand. But no way is it 4 star perfectly acceptable and did not detract from our weekend very centraly located clean and comfortable... but showing its age in the room dont be put off if your going to experience the city and not stay in the room.

Reviewed by
graham r

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible room 14
Booked in just for one night and thought we were getting a good deal as was only 90 pound a night, not even close to being worth that, terrible stay, in the basement with no view, room was dark and tatty,television only 2 channels working, only 1 towel between 2 of us, never again will I book through the site, thinking we were getting value for money and duped into paying over the odds for a room they wouldn't have been able to give away.

Reviewed by
Craig K

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grand hotel with a feeling of history
Very, very large room! Bathroom was adaquate but old fashioned. Staff were friendly but professional. Although we didn't eat at the hotel the bar was excellent as the dining area looked fantastic.

Reviewed by
J Wilson

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very comfortable stay
As a single female guest who wanted peace and quiet in a big city, this hotel gave me all I needed, The staff were welcoming and after a very quick booking in system I was pleasantly left alone without intrusion for the weekend. The room was clean and had all the conveniences I needed (including peppermint tea!). An extra bonus was the seated terrace area near to my room which gave me the chance to get outside fresh air without leaving the hotel - great!

Reviewed by
A Porter

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Nights stay at Palace Hotel
The hotel was very good and accommodation was just what we required.
Having a drink in the bar was an unpleasant experience even though there was plenty of staff none of them seemed to want to work or serve us.
The breakfast was excellent and the staff in the dining room were were very accommodating.

Reviewed by
S LEECH

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing!

Reviewed by
J Ryan

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Stayed one night as we were going to Palace Theatre which is just across the street. Good value for money and a very interesting and grand old building. Very helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Shirley S

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luck of the draw - Rooms are in need of some TLC.
I travelled with friends and we had three rooms booked, all varied in style, age and decor. The building has been converted to a hotel and attempts made to retain the character features of the original building, however this has been done better in some areas than in others.
Our room was extremely tired and in need of refurbishment. Maintenance has been neglected in the bathroom to the point that a leak has caused a hole in the floor.
This was not what I expect from a 4* hotel nor this chain of hotels, having stayed in another of their hotels previously. If I was managing the hotel I would not allow that room to be used by guests until it has been refurbished.
A call to reception and prompt intervention by Reception Manager prevented the experience of the room from ruining our trip to Manchester.
I would consider staying here again but would want to select which part of the hotel my room was in. It is a shame as it is clearly a building with great history and so much more could be made of the rooms and the remaining features.

Reviewed by
j lawrence

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Blast from the past.
fascinating building, rambles and easy to get lost in. Deluxe room was good value but lacked information and a review card. Very easy to get lost as poor signage in corridors. Good location for city and easy parking nearby.

Reviewed by
DAVID B

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Christmas Stay
The hotel was full but had a nice atmosphere. The room was large and had all facilities. Bar service excellent.

Reviewed by
simon m

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next