No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Airport Hotel, Manchester

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Palatine Road , Manchester Airport, M22 4FH
The Britannia South Manchester hotel is a modern purposed built hotel is located just off the M56 and easy access to the Motorway Networks. Manchester city centre only 5 miles away and easily accessible , Manchester Airport is only 3 miles away and there is a shuttle bus operating on a regular timetable to and from the hotel this service is chargeable. All 212 bedrooms are en-suite and decorated in contemporary style with lots of natural light and facilities include TV & Radio, Trouser Press, Hairdryer, and Tea & Coffee making facilities

The superb restaurant, serves a hearty full breakfast or Continental , light lunch or snack and dinner with a choice of Grills, Sea Food, Burgers and traditional Family favourites. The Palatine bar is ideal for relaxing with fine wines and beverages. Featuring, six Conference rooms that can offer the best facilities perfect for any occasion and can hold up to 120 people. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Picture of Britannia Airport Hotel, Manchester, Manchester Airport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 193 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
56% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed in a different room from the last time but it was certainly not any better. The rooms are depressingly bleak and make you feel like you are in a hostel. Reception and rooms are shabby and I did not feel comfortable staying there.

Reviewed by
J Scott

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my experience
room was very clean although bit tied,broken lamp shade bulb not working old tv in room,a lot of traffic noise.

Reviewed by
JEAN D

From Menai Bridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
Dear Sir/Madam,
just a quick comment on my overnight stay, the room was very accecptable, ie clean, however the service in the morning was not good, the coffee was cold, when the waitress braught fresh"coffee" it was like dish water, i was not impressed.
I doubt if you will get my custom again.
regards,
James Unsworth.

Reviewed by
james unsworth

From Llandudno, England
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel reception had ripped and worn carpets and the room was not much better. I have stayed in hotels all over the world due to my job for the last five years and never stayed in a place like this. The room was badly in need of a refurb and was pretty awful to stay in.

Reviewed by
J Scott

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worn out
I have stopped at this hotel before, and so I was looking forward to a return visit. My first impression was of a litter strewn entrance and a worn out entrance mat. The staff were pleasant, informative and eager to help. The service was excellent, from the cleaners to the guys on the reception desk and the kitchen staff. The room decor itself was poor. It had worn carpets, and scuffed and torn wallpaper, although all facilities were there, and the bedding was clean. The en-suite had black mildew in the grout around the shower/bath (more than I consider acceptable), the plug grate was missing (I nearly lost the soap and inter-dental brushes down the waste pipe), the plug was not attached, and the vinyl covered chipboard bath panel was loose and had suffered water damage, and projected beyond the bath itself. The room also smelled of smoking, presumably from the previous occupant. Maybe 'LateRooms' customers are given second rate rooms? The two rooms we booked, 705 and 706, we could have got better quality rooms in a local guest house, and would also have been cheaper, and is what we will do next time. Which is a pity, because we are now regular visitors to the area.Disappointing.

Reviewed by
Mark KELLY

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired but Comfortable Accomodation
The hotel was very well organised and the staff were very attentive and polite during our stay. However the hotel is desperately in need of refurbishment as the fittings and decorative state is very much in need of attention as there appears to have been very little evidence of investment. The car parking for short stay guests is a nightmare as it is difficult after a day on the road to find parking spaces large enough for your vehicle. The access to the secure car park is also difficult to from the front apron. The good side is that access to the hotel from the motorway is its best point and the rooms higher up enjoy excellent views over open countryside towards the centre of Manchester.

Reviewed by
L Lewis

From Bognor Regis, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not like the pictures
I only needed the room for an early flight so I was not in the room for long but I would have been disappointed if I was staying longer.

Reviewed by
Lorna F

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for a short stay
I was returning from a conference in Sweden and came to Manchester via Brussels. I stayed one night at the Britannia Hotel Airport overnight before leaving to go back to Bristol the next morning. Hotel was very nice, warm and had a friendly feel. Was very comfortable.

Reviewed by
shahid muhammad

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was cheap and the staff were friendly. It had a decent reception area with a good bar. The rooms were small, which is to be expected for the price. The only problem was the size of the beds - was uncomfortable for two people to share a double bed (I think they were queen size).

Reviewed by
D S

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hmmmm...
I never ever leave a bad review but after spending the night there and then reading everyone's reviews this hotel has some major issues it needs addressing quick.
We stay in many hotels mainly 4* plus on late deals and have stayed in many YHA on lake trips and abroad whic were in better conditions than this hotel.
The room stank damp, dirty stains in all the carpets and drawing up the walls! We were in room 714.
To be fair it was only £39 as my boyfriend got off a late flight and needed a place to stay so check in was 1030pm and checked out latest 11am.
It does the job if you need a quick place to get your head down before or after a flight hence it being 'essentially an airport hotel', it is cheap and a big hotel with free parking for guests which is also a bonus.
Rooms to be honest are appalling. Staff fine.

Reviewed by
Helen M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next