You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Macdonald Swan Hotel


Keswick Road, Grasmere, Ambleside, LA22 9RF

Price From 267.67 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (8)

88% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Dale S

  • March 2016

Superb selection

Smashing room with superb view and lovely comfortable bed.

Excellent breakfast, and customer sevice second to none,. Cant fault the experience, and would definitely recommend.

  • M Green

  • December 2015

Flooding in Cumbria

Hotel coped brilliantly with the mayhem created by the massive quantity of rain that fell in Grasmere

  • P Wilkinson

  • November 2015

Macdonald Swan Hotel

Lakes escape.


  • November 2015

Just spot on.

By just spot on I do not mean they have just managed perfection.

L mean there is no more they can achieve. Every time I stay here I rely on their high standards and am never disappointed. Well done, the hotel is comfy and modern , to suit the hotels age. Food is good quality , flavoursome , well presented. The staff are friendly, capable,professional and on !

  • Susan B

  • April 2015

Tired and Dated Accommodation

Stayed a this hotel previously, so decided to visit again.

Big change. Hotel needs a total revamp, room ok bathroom cramped. Noisy dogs barking during the night and unable to get a bar snack during the evening, told the staff were too busy. Service poor, staff in dinning room did not know what they were doing.

  • teresa s

  • March 2015

Beautiful view from our room

Friendly and helpful receptionist.

Enjoyed bar meal of fish and chips with 15% off for early bird.Lovely fireside lounges to relax in. The bedroom had 2 small armchairs and a coffee table so we could sit with our tea and take in the stunning view. A very large comfy bed and cosy room added to our very pleasant stay in this quaint old hotel.

  • J Dutton

  • December 2014

Wonderful hotel - not stayed here for 40 years - No cracks or wrinkles in all those years.

Very nice nothing to fault - definitely on agenda again - no waiting another 40 years!!

  • M Atkinson

  • November 2014

Expensive Bar!

Everything about the MacDonald swan hotel Ambleside was excellent, except the bar Bill.

the Walkers Bar was closed due to refurbishment, we had to sit in the lounge and order drinks from the waiter. £16.20 for 2 drinks is outrageous. I have contacted Customer services and they have not bothered to return my email.