No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Swan Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Keswick Road, Grasmere , Ambleside, LA22 9RF
Built in 1650 as a coaching inn, and referred to in Wordsworth's poem 'The Waggoner', the Swan Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in the Lake District. Nestled in the Cumbrian countryside, with views across the Fells and access to several challenging trails, this cosy and inviting hotel is ideal for walkers and cyclists. With open sunny vistas in summer and blazing log fires in winter, The Swan is the ideal base for exploring the wonders of the Lake District.

Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.

Picture of Macdonald Swan Hotel, Ambleside at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful hotel - not stayed here for 40 years - No cracks or wrinkles in all those years. Very nice nothing to fault - definitely on agenda again - no waiting another 40 years!!

Reviewed by
J Dutton

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Expensive Bar!
Everything about the MacDonald swan hotel Ambleside was excellent, except the bar Bill!
the Walkers Bar was closed due to refurbishment, we had to sit in the lounge and order drinks from the waiter. £16.20 for 2 drinks is outrageous. I have contacted Customer services and they have not bothered to return my email.

Reviewed by
M Atkinson

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very good choice of hotel
In the restaurant both breakfast & dinner were first class, compliments to a very good chef
the staff were very busy and provided a good service
The position of the hotel is excellent there are many walks which can be done without taking the car also a regular bus service stops opposite. The garden is beautifully kept. We would stay here again

Reviewed by
M Brook

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superbly located quiet retreat!
Location of The Swan is superb, giving easy access to Grasmere, Windermere, Ambleside & Bowness and on main route up to Keswick, so perfect spot to stay. MacDonalds give a good quality standard of hotels that you can rely on, and The Swan certainly provided comfortable accommodation for our overnight stay - parking facilities, clean bedroom with all the necessaries, lounge and bar areas. . Dined here in the evening, the restaurant being full ( what better recommendation than that ! ) we were in the bar area, but a lovely atmosphere and the food was first-class, as was breakfast the following morning. Good choice, well-cooked and delicious Cumbrian breakfast, which satisfied us for the rest of the day. Service was faultless, pleasant and friendly as were the reception staff. All round a success, would certainly stay here again.

Reviewed by
d ashley

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a wonderful stay
Most excellent stay

Reviewed by
Richard Rubie

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grasmere trip
The hot is tired and by not worth the room rate. Breakrast and dinner was poor and overpriced

Reviewed by
S Murray

From West Linton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff .....
The Swan at Grasmere is a lovely hotel with lots of character however our stay was slightly affected by one of the staff . On arriving we were told that our room wasn't available, but it was only 1.30 and that was expected. We went and had a look around and had a drink in the bar. We were served by a lovely young man who was freindly and professional, as we sat down this older, large man who I don't know whether he was just helping out, but he was very off hand with the bar man and was interrupting when he was trying to serve customers and shouting across the bar. Making for a very uncomfortable atmosphere. It was as if he thought the customers weren't even there.
The room we were allocated was lovely with a garden view and an extra large bed was very comfortable. The breakfast which was included was lovely.

Reviewed by
M Smith

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Let Down
LateRooms .com web site states that Swan Hotel is dog friendly.
Booked & prepaid for Executive room for Monday & Tuesday £278.
Arrived at reception. Told "No dogs in executive rooms!"
Accepted alternative classic room. £119 per day.
Dogs £15 per day extra.
Price adjustment made.
Classic room dark, dismal & musty.
Moved to another Classic room. Much better.
Enjoyed the lakes & Grasmere. Weather good.
Extended stay to Wednesday. £139 extra + £15 for dog.
What is special about Wednesday?
Thursday morning no hot water!!
At bill paying time, no apology for lack of hot water.
Bill greater than I had calculated.
Refused to pay, until bill corrected & good will gesture for lack of hot water given.
Paid and left hotel. Never to return.

Reviewed by
Ian Pike

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good size room, clean and tidy.

Reviewed by
Michael M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lakeland at its best
A really good location for exploring the Lakes either by car, bike, bus or on foot. Tranquil even though on main road. A great breakfast with quality ingredients. A meal in the restaurant proved to be excellent.

Reviewed by
Judith B

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next