No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Swan Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Keswick Road, Grasmere , Ambleside, LA22 9RF
Built in 1650 as a coaching inn, and referred to in Wordsworth's poem 'The Waggoner', the Swan Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in the Lake District. Nestled in the Cumbrian countryside, with views across the Fells and access to several challenging trails, this cosy and inviting hotel is ideal for walkers and cyclists. With open sunny vistas in summer and blazing log fires in winter, The Swan is the ideal base for exploring the wonders of the Lake District.

Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.

Picture of Macdonald Swan Hotel, Ambleside at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a wonderful stay
Most excellent stay

Reviewed by
Richard Rubie

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grasmere trip
The hot is tired and by not worth the room rate. Breakrast and dinner was poor and overpriced

Reviewed by
S Murray

From West Linton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff .....
The Swan at Grasmere is a lovely hotel with lots of character however our stay was slightly affected by one of the staff . On arriving we were told that our room wasn't available, but it was only 1.30 and that was expected. We went and had a look around and had a drink in the bar. We were served by a lovely young man who was freindly and professional, as we sat down this older, large man who I don't know whether he was just helping out, but he was very off hand with the bar man and was interrupting when he was trying to serve customers and shouting across the bar. Making for a very uncomfortable atmosphere. It was as if he thought the customers weren't even there.
The room we were allocated was lovely with a garden view and an extra large bed was very comfortable. The breakfast which was included was lovely.

Reviewed by
M Smith

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Let Down
LateRooms .com web site states that Swan Hotel is dog friendly.
Booked & prepaid for Executive room for Monday & Tuesday £278.
Arrived at reception. Told "No dogs in executive rooms!"
Accepted alternative classic room. £119 per day.
Dogs £15 per day extra.
Price adjustment made.
Classic room dark, dismal & musty.
Moved to another Classic room. Much better.
Enjoyed the lakes & Grasmere. Weather good.
Extended stay to Wednesday. £139 extra + £15 for dog.
What is special about Wednesday?
Thursday morning no hot water!!
At bill paying time, no apology for lack of hot water.
Bill greater than I had calculated.
Refused to pay, until bill corrected & good will gesture for lack of hot water given.
Paid and left hotel. Never to return.

Reviewed by
Ian Pike

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good size room, clean and tidy.

Reviewed by
Michael M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lakeland at its best
A really good location for exploring the Lakes either by car, bike, bus or on foot. Tranquil even though on main road. A great breakfast with quality ingredients. A meal in the restaurant proved to be excellent.

Reviewed by
Judith B

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Room was excellent, good sized bed, comfortable and good quality linen. All usual facilities, bottled water, tea and coffee making facilities, iron and board, hair dryer. Also drying rooms throughout the hotel.
Bathroom very clean and good quality again. Very kindly they gave us the room with disabled facilities as I had broken my arm.
Food was very tasty although staff in restaurant at breakfast seemed a bit under pressure.

Reviewed by
Anne W

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beware of hidden charges
A week prior to arrival we received a call offering us a two course dinner at a reduced price of £20 from £25. Not a binding commitment we were assured and we suggested we may take this up. On arrival we were told we were booked in for dinner for both nights on a binding agreement.. In the event we decided to take dinner in the restaurant. The menu price for two courses is £21.95 hardly a significant saving by prebookiing. Furthermore, many choices come with an additional charge so the reality is no saving at all! Final insult, the menu doesn't even change apart from the soup of the day!
This hotel advertises itself as pet friendly, not surprising when they charge £15 a night for a dog. We appreciate there should be a charge but this is excessive for the Lake District hotels and the room is pretty basic to say the least. Other hotels charge this as a one off payment . Insulting to careful dog owners who never leave their dog unattended.
So, we felt cheated and very unimpressed. The food is ok but don't expect to find vegetables or salad !

Reviewed by
Chris G

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grasmere
This is a very good hotel, and the level of service is first class. All the staff were friendly and professional making our stay most enjoyable.

Reviewed by
Alan W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is our second visit to The Swan Hotel and thought that it was in need of a little TLC. The window would not stay open, the bathroom sink was cracked there was a tile off the wall. It is about 5 years ago since our last visit and the rooms are still the same.
I would just like to add that the dining room staff were excellent they could not do enough for you and the food on Saturday evening was fantastic.

Reviewed by
Judith M

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next