No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Midland -QHotels

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
16 Peter Street , Manchester, M60 2DS
The Midland have achieved Hotel of The Year 2014! The Midland were recognised in the prestigious annual Catey Awards, voted for by industry leading experts.

The Midland in Manchester is an iconic landmark in the heart of this cosmopolitan, vibrant city. Whether you are visiting the city on business or pleasure. The Midland has a reputation for outstanding, friendly service and an array of delightful stories stretching back over more than a century of history, not to mention a guest list that is the envy of the rest of the city. Your reservation includes free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel including in all guest bedrooms, Smart TVs in all rooms plus complimentary use of the health club which includes a gym, squash court, sauna, Jacuzzi and swimming pool in which to relax or work off the days events.

The Midland provides some of the finest dining experiences in Manchester. With a host of dining options, the team of chefs work constantly to ensure every dish, be it our traditional afternoon tea to the award winning cuisine in The French by Simon Rogan, is prepared with love and passion and full of amazing flavours and tastes. Where possible, we strive to use locally sourced produce to enhance the offerings on our bespoke menus.

Simon Rogan's second restaurant, award winning two AA Rosette, entitled Mr Cooper's House & Garden at The Midland Hotel in Manchester is now open.
Combining modern touches with the history and heritage of Mr Cooper himself, whose house and famous gardens sat on the site back in 1819, Mr Cooper's House & Garden is set to offer a multitude of different dining settings under one roof.

At Mr Cooper's we believe life is delicious and all food is cooked with flair and imagination served in unique surroundings. Our menus have been carefully constructed and change with the seasons meaning you will never get tired of visiting us and will discover something new every time!

Please note: The Midland Hotel serves continental breakfast and full plated breakfast subject to availability. Charges apply

We know how to treat our guests. That’s why they voted us the Which! UK Hotel Chain of the Year.
Picture of The Midland -QHotels, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 79 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable stay
nice and easy to get to and central

Reviewed by
louise r

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Service
I think this is one of the nicest hotels with the best service in Manchester. The staff could not do enough for us. A truly enjoyable stay and we will definitely be back.
Staff are well trained and came across as genuine. Thank you and keep up the great work.

Reviewed by
Natalie Surtees

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only one small issue that the wall paper had started to come away above the headboard (rm 525)

Reviewed by
Victoria Connor

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

luxurious break
Expensive but worth it for a special occasio!

Reviewed by
J Wheatley

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a shame
Having stayed at the Midland years ago we knew it was one of those 'classic' hotels and reviews of being a bit jaded were more than true. We had a junior suite - bathroom tiles filthy, falling off the walls, the room was grubby, bar prices that of a 5* with 1* quality wine and service... Awful and ruined my weekend

Reviewed by
sarah t

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

40th wedding anniversary
A memorable Ruby Wedding Anniversary weekend in the hotel we stayed in at the very start of our married life 40 years ago. The Midland is therefore a special place for us. We were upgraded to a suite and it was very impressive accommodation-the biggest bed we have ever seen.
Close family joined us for an evening meal in Mr Coopers and both service and the quality of food were excellent. We do not plan to wait another 40 years before returning!!

Reviewed by
K Mort

From Towcester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If I had not got a cheap rate I would have been very disappointed
Service ok but on asking for a taxi I was advised to walk to the Raddison and get one there. Yes there are roadworks at the front so cars can't stop but there is a rear entrance with a place for stoping and drop off. Really quite angry at the attitude of the receptionist.
Breakfast was average and choice poor. Asked for skimmed milk and still waiting. No way would I have dinner as the cost is excessive and particularly as there are so many good places to eat within a few minutes walk

Reviewed by
Ken Paterson

From Gourock, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

you can't go wrong with this lovely hotel
We booked this the night before for about 1/2 the rack rate and were so glad we did. A stately hotel 100 years old, recently fully renovated. You enter to live piano music from the wine bar to an elegant lobby. Staff was friendly and welcoming. Clean hallways with touches of hotel history on the walls.
Room was lovely, very clean, a real kingsize bed, fresh linen (of course), ample natural light. Wifi very good. Nice en suite bathroom. Tea/coffee making supplies. No complaints! But if I had to think of a complaint, the mini bar is one of those computerized gizmos that cannot be used as a fridge, which we like to do.
We did not eat nor swim at the hotel as we were only there one night and busy site seeing. I did read a review that said afternoon tea isn't worth the cost, but I don't know first hand. We thought about just sitting with a drink and listening to the piano play in a relaxed low-key luxury, but went out instead. The hotel is favorably located across from the magnificent new library (take my advice, go into this library - you'll be gobsmacked). and within walking distance of many shops, restaurants, pubs and the MOSI & the modest Air and Space Museum, as well as a nice plaza in front of a kind of shopping mall great for people watching There are also free buses that do loops around town so if you want to sit back and watch the scenery on the cheap, just jump on one - there are stops close to the hotel on either side.

Reviewed by
Alex E

From USA
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel full of character
This is a great hotel full of character and charm.
It takes a lot of work to maintain a big Victorian hotel like this and the staff have done a great job.
Customer Service was helpful and friendly.
Very little to nitpick about. A lovely hotel in a great location!

Reviewed by
M Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location could not have been better for my visit, with convenient car park close by. Good pool and gym facility. Particularly enjoyed the dinner in Mr Coopers restaurant.

Reviewed by
john w

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next