No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Clasper Way,Swalwell, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE16 3BE
Enjoy easy access from the nearby A1 motorway at the well-linked Holiday Inn Express Newcastle-Metro Centre hotel. Holiday Inn Express Newcastle-Metro Centre is 10 minutes' walk from the MetroCentre station with regular trains and buses into Newcastle city centre, 3.5 miles away. We're a 7-mile drive from Newcastle Airport and have ample complimentary parking . Surf the web with our free wireless Internet in the lounge area and Great Room. Invite 30 people to seminars in one of our 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms . Holiday Inn Express Newcastle-Metro Centre is located within 2 miles of The Watermark business park and Newburn Riverside Park . Companies such as BAE Systems and Tyne Tees Television are just a short drive away. A Breakfastis included and is available each morning in our welcoming Great Room . Under-18s stay for free on the extra sofabed in our Family rooms when sharing with parents.
Picture of Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 63 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Its a maybe
The room was clean but not spotless. The net curtain was stained and ripped, under the bed was filthy and the window ledge was covered in cigarette ash - obviously the previous occupants had been smoking out the window. I reported this to reception and the curtain was changed and under the bed was hoovered, but the window ledge wasn't cleaned.
No bacon served at breakfast, but what was available was ok but not a huge selection.
Bed was comfortable, shower good. Would consider staying there again as it was fairly central for our needs

ManagementResponse

Dear John R, Thank you for sharing your experience online. We are glad to read that you found the beds comfortable and our location suitable for your travel needs. On the other hand, please accept our apologies for the shortcomings, particularly with the cleanliness of the room and breakfast selections. Your feedback is very much appreciated as this is our best resource for improvement. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty. We would love to welcome you back and show you our improvements. Kind Regards, Tracy, IHG Care

Reviewed by
John R

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Stay
Everything in the hotel was adequate for what we were looking for.

Reviewed by
Q Cassidy

From Wishaw, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Really clean and tidy with friendly and helpful staff. I would definitely stay again and recommend to friends. Lovely!

Reviewed by
carol s

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What it says on the tin
Stayed at the hotel on way between two work venues (Redcar and Kelso). It was an ideal stopping off point close to A1. Room was comfortable and functional. Reception service was particularly efficient and good. Didn't get the guy's name but he deserves a plaudit.
Didn't eat in hotel restaurant but crossed a courtyard to another chain restaurant as the TV was hammering football which I am not interested in.
However, all in all a pleasant experience.

Reviewed by
Kenneth T

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok, simple and dasic
All was clean and today, bar was next to reception but not very inviting. Bed needed replacing and was a small double.

ManagementResponse

Dear David Anderson, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am pleased to note that you found our hotel to be clean. On the other hand, I am disappointed to read that your stay with us was not what you expected. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had with the room condition particularly with the bed and we are truly regret that this has negatively affected your impression of our hotel. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the Manager on Duty. Sincerely, Dhan M IHGCare

Reviewed by
David Anderson

From Great Yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location , if like us you are shopping at metro centre !
Clean , fit for purpose hotel. Metro centre very close and a couple of eating places virtually in the car park ! Would stay and recommend on alone.

ManagementResponse

Dear J Thomson, I appreciate that you took the time to leave a review about our property. It is nice to know that our location was suitable for your needs. It is always nice to receive great feedback from our valued guests like you. Please see us soon if your travels bring you back to the area! Regards, Pam, IHG Care

Reviewed by
J Thomson

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Did the job
We had a twin room which we had booked for a shopping weekend. The room was clean and we didn't hear any noise other than the trains as our room backed onto the tracks. Though at breakfast we seen larger groups of both men and women (who had clearly had a few the night before) we didn't hear any noise or trouble once we arrived back in the evening. Breakfast was OK and certainly better than I've seen on offer in some places.

Reviewed by
J Todd

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Room
Some confusion at reception but the room was large, clean and comfortable and breakfast was great.

ManagementResponse

Dear John Hamer, Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is wonderful to know you appreciate your room accommodation and the breakfast. We are sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations with the service you received. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. Thank you again for your review and have a wonderful day! Sincerely, Karen IHGCare

Reviewed by
John Hamer

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holiday Inn Express, Metro Centre
Generally excellent & good value for money - really nice room and very helpful staff.
Breakfast choices very limited.

Reviewed by
R Bright

From Workington, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

truly excellent
Brilliant location, staff very pleasant and breakfast great too and plenty of choice. Superb value

Reviewed by
David Carey

From Clydebank, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next