Reviews - Holiday Inn Express NEWCASTLE - METRO CENTRE

3

Clasper Way,Swalwell, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE16 3BE

Price From 126.46 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (37)

84% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • lorna rollo

  • August 2014

A very pleasurable stay, spotlessly clean, staff very friendly.

This is the best holiday inn, we have stayed in, will be back, this is a must place to stay, highly recomended

  • stephen russell

  • July 2014

very happy

  • William Robson

  • July 2014

staff were excellent could not do enough for you

  • C Thorpe

  • July 2014

Although not in the centre of town there was plenty of places to dine.

There were 4 of us staying in 2twin rooms which I booked by phone, the operative was really friendly and helpful. Rooms were a good size and had tea/coffee making facilities. The breakfast was great with plenty to choose from, if we go back again we would all be happy to stay at this hotel again.

  • L Ash

  • June 2014

Basic but clean accommodation

I needed a room near Newcastle last minute and this was with budget.

Simple clean basic accommodation that served a purpose. My only gripes were noisy neighbours coming back to their rooms, however this wasn't overly late. I could also smell toast, cleaning products and other things quite strongly from 6 am in my room.

Response from hotel

Dear L Ash,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests; therefore we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We are sorry for the inconvenience you have experienced due to the noise levels and unusual odor in the room you received. We appreciate your feedback and allowing us the opportunity to address these issues with the appropriate department. If your travel brings you to the area in the future, we hope you give us another chance.

Kind Regards,

Zelyn,

IHG Care

  • K Whyte

  • June 2014

weekend stay June 2014

The hotel was only a short taxi journey away from Newcastle Metro Centre and Newcastle City centre.

It was great being so close to TGI Fridays (walking distance). Thte hotel room was basic but clean. The room was very hot at night which wasn't great but it had been a warm weekend. The hotel bar cost 2 pound odds for a pint of cider or lager which was good but when we asked for 2x bottles of Kopparberg we were charged just under 11pounds. Ridiculous. Apart from that our stay was fine and we had received a free drink on arrival and there is a basic breakfast included in the price. Enough to do you until you get to the shopping centre. I think the hotel is worth the money that they charge but I think the lounge area was noisy at times due to Stag parties. No major issues though.

  • Andrew G

  • June 2014

Not enough variety on hot food at breakfast

Response from hotel

Dear Andrew G,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am truly sorry to hear that the food served during your travel did not live up to your expectations. Your comments have been documented and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice

IHGCare

  • John R

  • June 2014

Its a maybe

The room was clean but not spotless.

The net curtain was stained and ripped, under the bed was filthy and the window ledge was covered in cigarette ash - obviously the previous occupants had been smoking out the window. I reported this to reception and the curtain was changed and under the bed was hoovered, but the window ledge wasn't cleaned.

No bacon served at breakfast, but what was available was ok but not a huge selection. Bed was comfortable, shower good. Would consider staying there again as it was fairly central for our needs

Response from hotel

Dear John R,

Thank you for sharing your experience online. We are glad to read that you found the beds comfortable and our location suitable for your travel needs. On the other hand, please accept our apologies for the shortcomings, particularly with the cleanliness of the room and breakfast selections.

Your feedback is very much appreciated as this is our best resource for improvement. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty. We would love to welcome you back and show you our improvements.

Kind Regards,

Tracy,

IHG Care

  • A Adams

  • May 2014

Last minute overnight stay

This is the second time we have stayed at the holiday inn express.

As norm rooms pristine clean, mattress and pillows in this room could be upgraded, but still comfortable for our short stay. Hotel was extremely busy so breakfast time was a bit hectic, with no choice when we arrived, but staff quickly replenished. Given its complimentary still worth the money. Would defo recommend for future.

  • Q Cassidy

  • May 2014

Good Stay

Everything in the hotel was adequate for what we were looking for.