No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - St James Hotel, Nottingham City Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Rutland Street , Nottingham, NG1 6EB
Located in a quiet area of Nottingham City Centre adjacent to Nottingham Castle, the St James Hotel is just a 10 minute walk from Nottingham train station and within a short drive of the M1 making the hotel a perfect choice for business and leisure travellers.

The hotel has recently completed a full refurbishment program of both bedrooms and public areas and we now offer a design-led finish unique to the city.

Onsite parking is just £8 for 24 hours and additional parking is available next door to the hotel in the NCP car park priced at £9.50 for 24 hours (please present ticket to the hotel reception for discount).

Full buffet breakfast is served in Number Six and a discounted price is available at the booking stage. From 12pm to close a selection of hearty hot and cold dishes are available in Number Six or in the comfort of your room. Our 'Dine Around' scheme also enables our guests to eat in a choice of five local restaurants and charge back to their hotel room account.

All rooms are en-suite, FREE wifi is available to all guests and we operate a non-smoking policy throughout.
Picture of St James Hotel, Nottingham City Centre, Nottingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 92 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
The room was a good size with a huge bed. It was very clean with good facilities.
We got back late Sunday night although the kitchen was closed the staff went out of there way and made us a sandwich. Will highly recommend for a city break

Reviewed by
Darren M

From Dereham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great venue for city break
Hotel is in an ideal central location close to both rail and bus stations and easy to get to from the nearest M1 junction. Limited charged parking available, but more parking available in NCP car park next door. On the doorstep of Nottingham Castle and the Trip to Jerusalem inn and pubs, restaurants and shops just a short distance away.
Hotel has it's own distinct style and atmosphere is very relaxing, the complimentary drinks a nice touch.
We booked an Executive room which provided everything we needed and more - again nice touches like the bathrobes, coffee machine and sleep spray. If I had been staying for longer than a weekend I would have preferred to have maybe a couple of drawers, but that's just me being a bit picky and there is adequate storage in the wardrobe etc for a long weekend stay. Very comfy bed and we were pleasantly surprised by how quiet it was during the night for such a centrally located venue.
We had an early start on the Saturday as we were travelling to Twickenham, but breakfast was all ready and waiting at 7.30am, with freshly made tea and coffee and a full range of cooked items and continental breakfast.
We really enjoyed our stay and would certainly stay here again if visiting Nottingham, and would recommend this hotel to friends.

ManagementResponse

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the St James Hotel, your comments are very much appreciated. It was lovely to read your comments referring to the standard of your Executive accommodation and that you really enjoyed your stay with us. We have worked tirelessly to create a unique boutique hotel, so it is especially pleasing to receive such positive feedback. It was also great to hear that you appreciated the nice touches, such as the complimentary glasses of wine. I again was pleased that you were able to take advantage of our breakfast offering on the morning of your departure before your onward journey to Twickenham. Once again, thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the St James Hotel in the very near future. Kind Regards, Chris Harrison Deputy General Manager

Reviewed by
Jane W

From Peterlee, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

St James is a must . Perfect location. Central, yet quiet. Hotel is often full, always a good sign!
Very friendly and welcoming. Clean. Quiet. Professionally attentive and service at breakfast is so welcome in the morning before work; all contributes to being relaxed and focussed for my work. Thank you

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the St James Hotel, your comments are greatly appreciated. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially noting that the "St James Hotel is a must". Being very friendly and welcoming, clean and quiet. It was also great to learn of the professional and attentive service you received from my breakfast team, I will of course pass on your favourable comments to them. Once again thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the St James Hotel in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Chris Harrison, Deputy General Manager

Reviewed by
Linda S

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

modern with many snags!
The photos are correct, but the bedrooms let it down dramatically. The downstairs was amazing, the decor spot on. Unfortunately once you went upstairs it was a different matter. It seemed as though they ran out of money. Old stained furniture had been badly painted on the front but not on the inside, drafty windows, poor fitted doors, so much so that every time other doors opened ours rattled. Poor quality tiles in a freezing cold bathroom,old suite tarted up. A thermostatic fan heater in the bedroom which was noisy but you couldn't turn it off as room lost heat rapidly through windows. We stayed in a classic double,on the first floor. We had expected room to be small etc but not the amount of snags. This hotel could be fantastic and possibly achieve a 4* rating once all these issues are addressed.

Reviewed by
V Asquith

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hotel
So lovely to stay in a hotel where the staff appear to feel valued and give the impression they enjoy working there.

Reviewed by
C Beeney

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good central hotel
Not perfect, but a very good hotel in an excellent location: right near the centre of town, but very quiet.

Reviewed by
Denise V

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
Really impressed with the Hotel. The room was beautiful.

Reviewed by
J Lane

From Worksop, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late break
Had a awesome stay at at James in Nottingham,the hotel was up to expectations and the staff were also very polite and welcoming,would recommend this hotel to others!! Awesome!

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the St James Hotel, your comments are greatly appreciated. It was great to read that you had an "awesome" stay with us, and that it met with your expectations. It was also pleasing to hear that you found my team to be very polite and welcoming. I will of course pass on your comments to them. Once again thank you for your kind comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the St James Hotel in the very near future. Kind Regards, Chris Harrison, Deputy General Manager

Reviewed by
S Benjamin

From Essex , UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pre Christmas Night out
On the whole a nice stay, you can now have a meal at night, good service, and the bar is open, the Hotel has been refurbished recenlty too. ( Have stayed several times in the past )
Minus points. 6th floor room.
Room (door?) sound proofing, at 2,3, and 4 am the nightclub crowds return to have a (shouted) conversation right outsite your door. Funny how alcohol makes you deaf. A quiet floor would be a great idea for old miseries like me to grumble (quietly) on.
Toilet / bathroom door would not close (frightening for the good lady), needs a plane. (Door not her)
Toilet flush caused the integral tissue holder to jump out of its place when flushing, spooky.
Whilst the shower did not leak on the floor, regardless of where screens or shower curtains are placed, a common design fault for most hotels, the temperature was EXTREMELY variable,
Wifey complained at the time I took showering, due to spending most of it running backwards and forwards whilst shouting Yaroo hot, eeek cold. Needs fixing please.
Staff all very helpful and considerate, fixing these minor issues would be good, Hotel should check the rooms for snags more often.
Would stay again (if they don't invoice me for £100 this review)
McP

Reviewed by
Robert P

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel bu bar too dark but very good staff
Lovely place excellent staff but bar and lift and corridors too dark the place needs redecorating light and bright so you feel safe with bright light corridors and lifts

Reviewed by
Deborah C

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next