No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - St James Hotel, Nottingham City Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Rutland Street , Nottingham, NG1 6EB
Located in a quiet area of Nottingham City Centre adjacent to Nottingham Castle, the St James Hotel is just a 10 minute walk from Nottingham train station and within a short drive of the M1 making the hotel a perfect choice for business and leisure travellers.

The hotel has recently completed a full refurbishment program of both bedrooms and public areas and we now offer a design-led finish unique to the city.

Onsite parking is just £8 for 24 hours and additional parking is available next door to the hotel in the NCP car park priced at £9.50 for 24 hours (please present ticket to the hotel reception for discount).

Full buffet breakfast is served in Number Six and a discounted price is available at the booking stage. From 12pm to close a selection of hearty hot and cold dishes are available in Number Six or in the comfort of your room. Our 'Dine Around' scheme also enables our guests to eat in a choice of five local restaurants and charge back to their hotel room account.

All rooms are en-suite, FREE wifi is available to all guests and we operate a non-smoking policy throughout.
Picture of St James Hotel, Nottingham City Centre, Nottingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 85 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late break
Had a awesome stay at at James in Nottingham,the hotel was up to expectations and the staff were also very polite and welcoming,would recommend this hotel to others!! Awesome!

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the St James Hotel, your comments are greatly appreciated. It was great to read that you had an "awesome" stay with us, and that it met with your expectations. It was also pleasing to hear that you found my team to be very polite and welcoming. I will of course pass on your comments to them. Once again thank you for your kind comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the St James Hotel in the very near future. Kind Regards, Chris Harrison, Deputy General Manager

Reviewed by
S Benjamin

From Essex , UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pre Christmas Night out
On the whole a nice stay, you can now have a meal at night, good service, and the bar is open, the Hotel has been refurbished recenlty too. ( Have stayed several times in the past )
Minus points. 6th floor room.
Room (door?) sound proofing, at 2,3, and 4 am the nightclub crowds return to have a (shouted) conversation right outsite your door. Funny how alcohol makes you deaf. A quiet floor would be a great idea for old miseries like me to grumble (quietly) on.
Toilet / bathroom door would not close (frightening for the good lady), needs a plane. (Door not her)
Toilet flush caused the integral tissue holder to jump out of its place when flushing, spooky.
Whilst the shower did not leak on the floor, regardless of where screens or shower curtains are placed, a common design fault for most hotels, the temperature was EXTREMELY variable,
Wifey complained at the time I took showering, due to spending most of it running backwards and forwards whilst shouting Yaroo hot, eeek cold. Needs fixing please.
Staff all very helpful and considerate, fixing these minor issues would be good, Hotel should check the rooms for snags more often.
Would stay again (if they don't invoice me for £100 this review)
McP

Reviewed by
Robert P

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel bu bar too dark but very good staff
Lovely place excellent staff but bar and lift and corridors too dark the place needs redecorating light and bright so you feel safe with bright light corridors and lifts

Reviewed by
Deborah C

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

four poster room
Excellent room. was a surprise for my wife's birthday, well located from centre. would recommend this room.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the St James Hotel, your comments are greatly appreciated. I was pleasing to read that your accommodation exceed your expectations and that your stay with us was a lovely surprise for your wife's birthday. Once again many thanks for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future. Merry Christmas, Chris Harrison, Deputy General Manager

Reviewed by
john a

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place.
Boutique hotel that has clearly been refurbished so still fresh. Bathroom clean. My only complaint was the bed, it was a single which I was expecting but I'm only 5ft 4" and I was hanging off the bed!!! The bed was so soft that it was uncomfortable. Anyway that was my only issue. I pointed out to the receptionist when I checked out as she asked me how my stay was, however, she asked for asking sake not because she was interested!! Good parking.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at the St James Hotel, your feedback is very much appreciated. I was pleasing to read your comments relating to the hotels refurbishment. Just to confirm the hotel has completed a full refurbishment programme and we are very proud of our hotel. I was however disappointed to read that the bed was not to your satisfaction. As part of our refurbishment, all of our beds were replaced with Hypnos beds. I can appreciate that firmness of beds are down to personal preference, but your comments have been taken on board. Once again many thanks for your feedback, and I hope to be welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future. Merry Christmas. Kind Regards, Chris Harrison, Deputy General Manager

Reviewed by
Linda S

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Night Stand
I visited Nottingham to see a concert at the Arena and stayed at this hotel just for the one night. I would stay again, I found the staff very helpful, the hotel looked classy and inviting, the décor was modern and trendy, it was clean, the room had everything I wanted and the breakfast was excellent. What more can I say..It would certainly be a venue for a romantic stay, it has that naughty but nice appeal.

Reviewed by
T Davies

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grand hotel
Lovely staff great breakfast. Could do with a little bigger Single beds as at 6`3" my feet sometimes hang off the edge of the bed. Otherwise great hotel and would stay again.

Reviewed by
r barron

From Enfield, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
We booked the St James for our honeymoon, it was perfect for us. My wife stayed the 1st alone and felt safe. The room was beautiful, comfortable, clean and warm. Even though it was local to us we felt as if we where a million miles away from home. Thank you for a fantastic few days

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your "Honeymoon" stay with us at the St James Hotel, your comments are greatly appreciated. It was pleasing to read that you found your accommodation to be beautiful, comfortable, clean and warm and that you refer to your stay as "Perfect". I will of course pass your comments on to the rest of my team. I would like to take this opportunity to offer my congratulations to you both, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future, perhaps to celebrate your first anniversary! Kind Regards, Chris Harrison, Deputy General Manager

Reviewed by
A Keeling

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

St James Hotel, Nottingham City Centre
Lovely little hotel, very well placed, near Castle and shops, and a short walk from Capitalfm Arena. Nice room and good service

Reviewed by
A Rutterford

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
A very nice hotel and good value for money, the only let down for me was the communication with the reception staff although they were very pleasant they weren't very helpful! Our room was VERY small in comparison to our 4 friends rooms which was a shame as we were the only girls in the group and it would have been nice if we'd have been given the bigger room for us to be able to get ready, (you know what it's like). As a whole we had a great time and loved the décor.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the St James Hotel, your feedback is very much appreciated. I was however disappointed to read your comments referring to my reception team not being very helpful. This has surprised me as I usually only receive positive comments about my team. I will obviously be taking this matter up with my front of house manager. On a positive it was good to hear that you had a great time with us and that you that loved the hotels décor. I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Kind Regards, Chris Harrison, Deputy General Manager

Reviewed by
Suzi L

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next