No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ettington Chase

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Banbury Road, Ettington, Stratford upon Avon, Warwickshire, CV37 7NZ
Ettington Chase is located only 6 miles from Stratford-upon-Avon, Shakespeare’s birthplace and is set in 11 acres of landscaped grounds. We are a 10 minute drive from all the attractions Stratford-upon-Avon offers including the Shakespeare experience, Anne Hathaway's cottage and the RSC. Ideal for business or leisure our guests enjoy complimentary use of our leisure club including an indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and air-conditioned gym. We also offer free car parking and complimentary WI FI access. The stylish bedrooms feature modern oak furniture, a flat-screen TV with freeview channels, and a work desk all with en suite bathrooms with both a bath and shower. Leisure facilities at Ettington Chase include outdoor tennis courts, and guests can enjoy jogging trails and scenic walks in the grounds. The Tempus Bar & Restaurant features seasonal menus made from local produce and room service is available. Please note our standard bedrooms are not located in the Manor house wing of the hotel.
Picture of Ettington Chase, Stratford upon Avon, Warwickshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 166 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We arrived at about 10pm, I found the receptionist quite abrupt and not welcoming. The room was nice but typically clinical like many large hotels. The really disappointing aspect was breakfast, when are large hotels going to realise that breakfast should be prepared freshly and not kept hot under lamps or domed covers. At this hotel the mushrooms were cold, the bacon cold and dried and the fried bread cold and rigid. We were directed to a table for two which had no cutlery or crockery we had to rob the nearby empty table, we had to ask for tea, at no time did anyone show any interest in us. left two thirds of my breakfast as it was inedible. The only reason for such poor service is that we didn't get to the breakfast room until about 9:30am but we were on holiday.

Reviewed by
jon Russell

From Holmfirth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel and grounds
What a lovely friendly hotel, shame the rooms were shabby not like in the brochure when
I mentioned this to the reception the young man wasn't interested!
The pool and steam room was lovely and dinner wasn't over priced.
Waiters couldn't do enough for you.
Would I go again yes but only if there was a good offer on
as room was shabby, tired and basic.

Reviewed by
S Pryce

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All round excellent stay, great location and perfect for the relaxing anniversary night stay that it was booked for

Reviewed by
m mccormick

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely pool and leisure facilities. Clean room. Nice bar and restaurant. Nice food. Great value for money. Better than we expected overall. Friendly staff. No negatives at all. Would use again.

Reviewed by
John B

From Brackley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
Excellent. Spa facilities. Food was of a very good standard

Reviewed by
Ken Fargher

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable weekend.
My daughter (adult) and I found the hotel to be ideal for our girly weekend away , it is close enough to be able to enjoy the sites of Stratford but still feel we had a country weekend getaway. We were amazed how friendly ALL the staff were, we really couldn't fault the food at either breakfast or dinner. Our room was clean and spacious , would have liked a hairdryer . We really enjoyed the leisure facilities too.

Reviewed by
Jane H

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The bathroom wasn't very clean and the shower was poor. There was only enough shampoo/ shower gel for one person despite the room being booked for two people. Comfortable beds though. Food at breakfast was very good however the bar was very overpriced. We did not use the swimming pool but it was nice to have this option available. This hotel was very expensive for what you get.

Reviewed by
Emma W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stayed for 3 nights
- wifi should be free, you get only one hour and you can reconnect again only after 3 hours. £10 for 24 hours of uninterrupted wifi.
- size of the bed could be increased. room had quite a tacky interior design.
- quite poor selection and quality of the breakfast.
place looks miles better from the outside rather than the inside

Reviewed by
Catalin F

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room & good facilities, let down by lack of Air-con and view.
I have to give credit where it's due, and the staff were great here. The hotel is also lovely and set in pleasant grounds...... It's a shame the view from our room was a line of shipping containers. The lack of air conditioning also meant that I barely slept a wink in two days. I went home after my midweek break needing rest and relaxation..... Which is why we went there in the first place.
The changing rooms for the gym facilities were also in need of a bit of TLC, with one locker having sharp screws sticking out inside, and many others not operational.
The pool, sauna and jacuzzi were all nice though.
Generally this was a nice hotel, and with a few upgrades could really be great. It was clean and tidy on the whole, and the service was good.
We also got a good price on the room so I can't complain too much.

Reviewed by
christopher c

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not worth the money
I expected a more luxurious hotel based on the description and costs. When we arrived we wanted to relax with a drink but the lounge area was very cold and in an awkward place. I was declined a cappuccino because the machine was off and then charged £8 for a pot of black coffee! The pool had a lot of chlorine in it.
Otherwise the room was clean but basic. The bathroom fittings were rusty which didn't look very nice but it had a nice shower. A B&B is less money and in a better location to Stratford.

Reviewed by
d loftus

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next