No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Near Keswick, Bassenthwaite, CA12 4RG
Set in the calming shadow of England's highest fells, overlooking Bassenthwaite Lake, BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel is the ideal location to explore the northern region of the Lake District. From the mysterious trails through Dodd Wood to the glorious views of the surrounding countryside, we can safely say that all rooms come with a view! Add to that more local points of interest like a nesting site of the beautiful Osprey or the majestic Skiddaw Mountain, and you'll be hard pushed to find many better settings for a truly relaxing retreat... there really is something for everyone to enjoy! Our extensive leisure and conference facilities add another dimension to this excellent accommodation, while easy motorway access makes anything possible as far as getting out and about (and beyond) is concerned. The hotel has a bronze rating with Cumbria Business Environment Network Scheme, and the family run friendliness is never ending! A pre-authorization with the same credit or debit card will be required at check-in for advance purchase rates.
Picture of BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn hotel, Bassenthwaite at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night in Bassenthwaite
excellent hotel, at the northern end of the lake district. Good views from our room. Staff very friendly and helpful. We are both vegetarian, we found the food options a little limited so we had dinner in Keswick. Breakfast was very nice. There was also a gym and pool, which we didn't make use of.

Reviewed by
Derek W

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding hotel
We stayed at this hotel as our friends were getting married nearby. We were upgraded to a suite and I have to be honest I would have been rather annoyed paying the price we did for a normal room as the suite was nothing special. It was very clean but the decor was pretty dated. The staff were all very nice and helpful

Reviewed by
J Forsyth

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice clean tidy well run hotel. Room spacious and really nice furnishing.

Reviewed by
Angela Meldrum

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family Room
Largest, best family room we have ever stayed in. Fantastic!
Friendly, helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Susan H

From Woodbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

customer comment
This is the second best western hotel we have stopped at and this on was really very good

Reviewed by
B Connor

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay in the Lakes
Hotel was fantastic, location was where we wanted to be, staff were friendly and facilities were the best.

Reviewed by
G Degnan

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
We stayed for six nights at the Castle Inn. The staff were very welcoming, professional and friendly ( top marks to Ashleigh and Alison!). Nothing was too much trouble for them which helped to make our experience so enjoyable. The manager, Moses, was also excellent. Our room was well-furnished, though the four poster room does experience some noise from the swimming pool extraction system if you have the windows open. That said, the staff moved us to another room immediately. Breakfast was very good, with friendly staff. Leisure facilities were good, though the Jacuzzi was out of commission. We would certainly stay there again and would recommend it to others. For a relaxing stay at a quality hotel, the Castle Inn is worth trying out.

Reviewed by
John K

From AINTREE, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Overall - Very good experience - would not hesitate to stay their again.
Food quality good and service excellent in the restaurant.

Reviewed by
Peter S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel!!
Staff couldn't help us enough. Great customer service, facilities were endless, sing pool, gym, tennis court, 8mile to Keswick. In a lovley area.

Reviewed by
S Hill

From Poulton le Fylde, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The only thing that was wrong with the room was the top of the headboard was a little dusty but in no way detracted from our enjoyment. the pub attached to the hotel served excellent food although the wine was a little bit expensive. Service was excellent. The rooms were a little warm at night and would have benefited form having a bed sheet in the room as well as a duvet so that you could use that instead of the duvet but again - its always better to be too warm than too cold! these are minor details and the trip was enjoyable with a nice pool and gym and leisure facilities.

Reviewed by
L Smith

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next