No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cumbria Grand Hotel - Lake District

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Lindale Road , Grange Over Sands, LA11 6EN
This charming and comfortable hotel is located only 6 miles from Lake Windermere.

Set in 20 acres of private gardens and woodlands with views overlooking Morecambe Bay, you will be assured of a warm and friendly welcome.

There is an outdoor tennis court, putting green, children's play area and woodland walk while indoors there is a full sized snooker table, table tennis and dart-board.

Free Wi-fi in public areas

Picture of Cumbria Grand Hotel - Lake District, Grange Over Sands at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
58% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Facelift
The building itself is attractive but a little more effort with areas of the grounds that people see would make a difference. The whole hotel interior needs smartening up including carpets as well as decor. Staircases seem like they are going to collapse under feet and need attention. The lift doors judder terribly on every floor. The rooms are clean but very tired. The staff are brilliant though from reception to bar and restaurant.

Reviewed by
C Temple

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was okay for the money

Reviewed by
Robert P

From Fleetwood, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We only stayed at the hotel for 2 nights but I wished I had stayed there longer. Very nice large room, clean and tidy. It was a buffet breakfast so you could get just what you wanted and everything was set out nicely and a lovely large dining room and gorgeous waiters. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly. We were able to bring our dog which was a bonus to us. The hotel has lovely gardens and woodland walks. Look out for Eric the peacock roaming around.

Reviewed by
Christine Cowan

From Ossett, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stayed overnight returning home from trip further north in the Lakes.
double room was small and not big enough to fit our large dog comfortably but the single room we also had provided more room for the dog.
Parking was limited by the time we arrived (late evening)
furnishing was dated and the lift was probably the slowest I have ever used

Reviewed by
Mark Hull

From Pudsey, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great views
Imposing Victorian building. Lovely views from the bedroom overlooking Morecombe Bay. Big bathroom which looked like it had been recently refurbished. Good choice of food for breakfast in a grand and airy dining room.

Reviewed by
C Tabor

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation
the room was very basic its not what i expect for the price we paid, the towel was not change instead they've folded it whilst still wet so we had a very damp towel the next day. Breakfast was not appetising at all, its been in a very hot plate which made the food dried out. The staffs are polite and attentive. Overall the hotel needs upgrading (interior) or perhaps give the carpet a good clean to take the 'musty' smell out which was the first thing that great us.

Reviewed by
L Hargreaves

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outdated!!!
The hotel was a pleasant enough to stay in but seriously needs renovation. Flat shoes are recommended as I regularly swayed along the sunken floorboards in my heels. The rooms are clean and the breakfast in the restaurant was what you would expect. It was fine for what we required somewhere to wash, change and sleep in

Reviewed by
Michelle L

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired building, noisy room - Pay Before You Stay!
We stayed in a 'Standard' room which meant we got a view of the back of the building, and were treated to the sight and sound of a skip wagon passing to and fro beneath our window. The wallpaper was worn (1980's) and torn down the corner, although the room and bathroom were clean enough.
Being on the ground floor also meant that we coud hear every noise made by the occupants of the room above, even their early morning visits to the toilet were tracked along every creaky floorboard.
Reception staff were elusive and some were a little unfriendly. When we left, there was no-one around to ask if we had enjoyed our stay, etc. Probably a good idea for them - like having to pay at the beginning of your stay!
Breakfast was plentiful and ok - apart from no sausages on the third morning. The chef did apologise for this, though.

Reviewed by
P Gellez

From France
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good accommodation when reduced
I really enjoyed my stay and the building and location were great. The decor looked a little tired but they are in the process of dealing with this. The clientel were mainly older and there were a couple of coach parties. The rooms were fine but not outstanding and quite old fashioned. I would go back again but only if there was an offer. I would have felt hard done by had I paid full price.

Reviewed by
Andrew H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not so Grand Cumbrian Hotel
This hotel has obviously once been a very grand hotel. The room in which we ate our breakfast was particularly lovely with fantastic views over the bay, the food and the service was quite good. What spoilt the stay for us was the lack of hygiene in our room. We noticed as we were about to leave in the morning that the bed we had slept on was heavily stained both on the base and the mattress. It made us feel very uncomfortable and I couldn't leave quickly enough. Such a shame.

Reviewed by
K Conroy

From Morecambe, England
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next