Reviews - Cumbria Grand Hotel - Lake District

3

Lindale Road, Grange Over Sands, LA11 6EN

Price From 262.66 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (68)

78% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Ian M

  • July 2015

Fading grandeur

Just as I expected.

Hearty breakfast.

  • n ward

  • July 2015

Pity about the dogs

We looked carefully at this site before we booked there was no mention of it being dog friendly.

This was.important as my husband has asthma and I am allergic to animal hairs. On going to our room there was a dog barking in a room further down the corridor. I immediately went to reception and was told the hotel was dog friendly. I asked if a dog could have slept in our room she replied probably I asked for a dog free room she said all rooms were dog friendly. As it was too late to start looking for another hotel she said our room would be given an extra clean tomorrow which it was. We are not against dogs but our dogs were never allowed on beds or on furniture. We will not be returning.

  • john c

  • May 2015

Faded graandeur and corners cut

Once a posh country hotel that deserved it's name, the "Grand" is a shadow of it's past glory, ripe for renovation.Rooms are clean and comfy, but with no frillls, and well overpriced.Wifi is very mean too:you have to sit by the reception desk (really) to get it, and then it's mostly too slow to receive.

Food is pretty average at breakfast, and the bar snacks were terrible. Stained carpets and dodgy chairs you can put up with in a town that 's a few miles from the Lake District if it's a bargain price, but we left feeling we'd been well ripped off.

  • Edmond Freemantle

  • April 2015

Grand old Grand

Once inside the hotel I found every thing to be just perfect.

Well nearly all, the lift did remind one of days gone bye. The reception staff were superb, not just because they gave me an upgrade, but because they were so cheerful, helpful and just there to make your stay as good as possible. I found the bar meals to be good and plentiful but overpriced for what you had. Breakfast was not too bad but then I'm not a lover of self service so you get what is on offer i.e. cold eggs and bacon etc. All in all though I would say that I will definitely be coming back. Edmond V Freemantle

  • PAMELA SWALLOW

  • April 2015

Cumbria Grand

The hotel was clean and welcoming, although mine was only a short stay for a wedding.

I needed to book in early and with the help of the staff and my e-mails I was able to have the room earlier .

  • Lisa W

  • April 2015

Re awakened grandeur full of character & Edwardian charm. Lovely.

Sympathetic restoration of a great example of Edwardian splendour for a very atmospheric stay.

Full of character and friendly staff. Only complaint breakfast disappointing with large thick black hair in my mushrooms and truly awful coffee like dishwater. Very loud squeak on bedroom door. Thick dust observed on sanitory units in ground floor toilets. Aside of not being able to eat breakfast feeling slightly queezy I would not consider other minor issues as a reason not to return. The minute we arrived we were upgraded to a room with a view and to omit a mention of the view would be remiss. The view from our room and the dining room are food for the soul and the icing on the cake. Will definitely be back. Lovely lovely lovely.

  • Roger P

  • March 2015

Cumbria Grand Hotel - Lake District

Large hotel over 3 floors, lift to all floors.

Clean and comfortable. Single room has en suite shower. Meals very good.

  • Naomi P

  • March 2015

Being renovated!

Rooms were in the process of being renovated, so will be freshly painted, carpeted etc.

Room was spacious which (nearly!) made up for lack of beautiful view across the bay that the rooms on the other side of the building have.

  • V Watson

  • February 2015

Cumbria Grand Hotel - Lake District

Lovely hotel and full of character.

Rooms very basic and beds not the

Comfiest but you get what you pay for. Staff

Couldnt be more helpful. Went with friends and they stayed in one of the suites. Worth the bit extra money for a larger room. Staying at this hotel was worth it for the views alone!

  • Peter S

  • February 2015

Two nights in Feb 2015

Stayed in a single room for two nights mid-Feb as a base for exploring The Lakes.

Hotel is quite old and retains a lot of the original features which adds to the "feel" of the place, some my say run-down but I found it quite nice. Room was okay, bit dated, but they are going through a refurbishment and my room hadn't been done. Breakfast was great, choice of full cooked or cereals. Also had both my evening meals there, picked the carvery selection, choice wasn't the best and it was over-priced in my opinion. I would stay again but will wait till the rooms have been re-done. Got a deal on the rooms, two nights including breakfast for £68, so bit of a bargain.