No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cumbria Grand Hotel - Lake District

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Lindale Road , Grange Over Sands, LA11 6EN
This charming and comfortable hotel is located only 6 miles from Lake Windermere.

Set in 20 acres of private gardens and woodlands with views overlooking Morecambe Bay, you will be assured of a warm and friendly welcome.

There is an outdoor tennis court, putting green, children's play area and woodland walk while indoors there is a full sized snooker table, table tennis and dart-board.

Free Wi-fi in public areas

Picture of Cumbria Grand Hotel - Lake District, Grange Over Sands at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 53 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
58% recommended this accommodation to a friend 61% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my stay
Overall value for money

Reviewed by
Trevor W

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Massively Overpriced
A very, very old hotel that hasn't been decorated since the late late 1960's. The room was way too expensive for what it was. I'd love to know who decides on the pricing system here. Bathroom was old and characterless as was the room, stains on the walls, carpets and doors. The room was roasting and the corridor outside was neglected really badly. They claimed that refurbishment was ongoing but there wasn't the slightest evidence that this was the case.
The food in the restaurant was below average. We waited 35 minutes before anyone took our order or offered us a drink. The food we wanted was no longer available and after eating it we regretted having eaten in the restaurant at all. The waitress was terrible, had no idea about the menu and was really disinterested as was the general service in the restaurant. The bed was only big enough for one person really and my wife and I are both thin people but it was terribly small.
I wouldn't stay here again to be honest nor would I ever recommend it to anyone else. Better off taking a tent over this.

Reviewed by
B John

From Malvern, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Victorian Quality
Originally built for Victorian spa seekers the hotel retains a grand atmosphere justifying its name. Refurbishment has obviously taken place which has improved the overall appearance of interior and rooms. Ours was very comfortable with new bathroom fittings - and a chair for each of us which not every place provides - think Travelodge!
The restaurant is large and light and the service very good with a wide choice for breakfast - I particularly recommend the porridge! There are several lounge areas to relax in plus a snooker room. It was also fascinating to go down to the Victorian ballroom/theatre - a genuine relic of yesteryear where some classical musicians were rehearsing. Overall a very pleasant stay.
We are now planning a few days in Scotland and intend to book ourselves in at one or two of the hotels in the same Strathmore chain.

Reviewed by
Ian Smith

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for the price on a very busy bank holiday week-end
Very handy for Cartmel Races. But pre-book taxis to and from. Staff very helpful and nothing too much bother - Night Porter is ace! A little worn in parts, but you could see improvements were on going - new carpets etc. Breakfast very good - but the black pudding could be improved. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Louise Hall

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed £160.00 for superior room, can't imagine what the classic rooms are like! The Grand is nowhere near grand very tired and needs a complete makeover. Will not be recommending to anyone. A complete "rip off"

Reviewed by
S Armitage

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel

Reviewed by
N Roberts

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

old world charm
Old world charm with friendly staff. Bed and pillars a little on the hard side. but that aside would definitely visit again

Reviewed by
Murial Brookes

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Although not in the centre of Grange a pleasant 15 minute stroll along the promenade (connecting bridge right outside the long driveway) brings you into the village. Good location for touring the southern lakes. Accommodation was good; firm bed, large clean bathroom with bath and double shower cubicle. Dog friendly but we were not disturbed and had the quietest room ever. Refurb of corridors not a problem. Large lounge and dining areas. Good selection at the bar. Breakfast was a very good selection- self served. (Tablecloths add a touch of class). Excellent value. Will stay again when next visiting the area.

Reviewed by
John D

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two nights stay
The Hotel appears to cater mainly for coach trips however the dining area is massive so peace and quite is not difficult to find in this large hotel.
The room was large with a equally large bathroom, warm and clean although requiring updating it was good value for money with a excellent breakfast.
The staff were polite and well trained and could be relied on to provide the best service within the 3 star class. Be aware of the lift as it is slow .Beware turning right out of Hotel.
The hotel had a faded charm that appealed to us and our room had a good view over a golf course to the estuary. Grange over Sands is a very pleasant village with a few interesting shops and coffee shops with a municipal park that on a nice day can take up a couple of hours to peruse.

Reviewed by
Kenneth M

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

EXCELLENT VALUE

Reviewed by
Arthur Ainsworth

From York, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next