You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Waterside Hotel - Newcastle

3

48, Sandhill, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 3JF

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (23)

83% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Adam R

  • March 2016

Good hotel in excellent location

The Waterside in Newcastle Quayside is a basic yet comfortable hotel by the Tyne Bridge.

The room was clean and comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful. Would recommend

  • C Thomson

  • February 2016

Waterside Hotel - Newcastle

We only stayed for one night on Valentine's as we were going for drinks in Newcastle city centre.

Waterside hotel was very clean and the staff were lovely. We were told on arrival the room we were staying in was 'the best room they have in the hotel' and I definitely think it was. I would definitely book here again.

  • stephen t

  • January 2016

Nightmare at the waterside

Stayed in this hotel 15 years ago and it was lovely.

Unfortunately is has not been maintained or updated since then. Holes in walls, damaged doors, cracks in sink. Small beds, damaged poor quality furniture, gaps and holes in carpets. I could go on. We asked to move room twice in the hope of getting a better quality room but all three were terrible. The staff were however very nice while dealing with our complaints and alternative room requests. We finally decided to travel home as we were that disappointed. All we got was a £25 refund from a £99 room. This is a £40 per room hotel at best, do not pay £99 as you will be very disappointed. Again, staff were lovely but the owners are not investing in what could be a lovely quayside hotel.

  • John N

  • January 2016

Super overnight down the Waterside

Friends had booked here so we booked a last minute room to visit them.

Both me and my wife know Newcastle well, having studied and worked there a number of years. We were pleasantly surprised by our room on arrival. There was only Nescafe and PG tips for our drinks selection but otherwise we were more than happy with the bedroom. The bathroom was clean and tidy but the extractor was faulty - for a one night stay that doesn't matter. Traffic noise was minimal given the location. In the morning we were greeted at the breakfast room and served a lovely selection of continental and cooked foods. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • John H

  • December 2015

Good breakfast

Nice to see a freshly cooked breakfast and served to the table rather than the buffet style, really enjoyed it

  • Siobhan Stephenson

  • December 2015

Dramatic and convenient location

Loved being down by the river in such a historic area, so near to central shopping area.

Actual hotel not so atmospheric and a bit run down, but clean and did the job fine for us. Good breakfast.

  • Sylvia D

  • November 2015

Warm and friendly with pleasant atmosphere, comfortable 3-night stay.

The staff, in reception and at breakfast, were really lovely, very friendly and helpful.

When another customer had limited time for breakfast the lady in the kitchen offered to cook him something to take away in a sandwich. Room was cosy and comfortable, though a bit too warm at night. Useful local information in folder. Bathroom was clean and water hot. Location is handy for city centre and station as long as you don't mind steep hills; felt safe enough walking there at night as lots of restaurants along the street. Not too much noise from outside, but I could hear more than I wanted of what was going on in the room next door - don't know if this is a problem for any other rooms or just because there were doors in the shared wall. Breakfast served early on weekdays, not until 8.30 at weekends- this was fine for me but check times if you need to be somewhere early at a weekend.

  • N Brown

  • March 2015

2 Night Stay

There was a friendly welcome on arrival.

They explained that the cooker was broken in the kitchen so only the "continental" breakfast was available, which was what I would have chosen anyway. Still, they discounted the charge for my two breakfasts. They arranged a taxi for me. The room was very clean and adequate in all respects, but skirting boards were badly knocked about and could do with a coat of paint, otherwise all good.

  • Michael S

  • March 2015

A querky basic hotel

Querky, but clean and friendly.

Well situated for the Sage and the quayside. Good value for money

  • Michele S

  • January 2015

Friendly Hotel

Really helpful staff, good parking facility and excellent location.