No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tyneview

3Self Classified Apartment Ratings explained
Cuthbert Street, Bensham, , Gateshead, NE8 1AF
Choose the Tyneview Rooms, conveniently located just off the A1 (1.3miles) and just a short taxi ride from Newcastle City Centre and the Central Train station (1.4miles). There is a lot to do in Newcastle and all located within a couple of miles of the hotel. Newcastle and Gateshead is well known for the world famous Quayside which is home to the Sage, the Baltic Centre for Contemporary art, the Millennium Bridge and many bustling restaurants and bars which are all within 2 miles. Newcastle is renowned for its dining and night life, aswell as its shopping which can be done at Eldon Square in the city center or at the Metro Centre, which is the largest shopping and leisure centre in the UK and only 2.5 miles away. The hotels well equipped economy rooms are ideal for those on a budget, and the complimentary wireless internet throughout makes it easy to access the internet at any time. Being based at the end of the Redheugh Bridge there is easy access to the city center, Newcastle’s local casinos and the Metro Radio Arena. The Metro Radio Arena is 1.2miles from Tyneview and hosts music concerts, theatre productions and sporting events - it is the largest concert and exhibition venue in the North East of England. We are also just a ten-minute stroll from the atmospheric terraces of St James Park, home of Newcastle United FC. Newcastle International Airport is an easy 10minute taxi ride away.
Picture of Tyneview, Gateshead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money.
The hotel was basic but clean and tidy. Shared toilets/shower rooms were also clean. £4 taxi ride to newcastle centre. Over all good value for money. Only downfall was the room was very warm and the windows didn't open fully.

Reviewed by
Chantelle A

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed whilst visiting a relative critically ill in hospital
The accommodation gave me just what I needed. It was away from the hospital and although it was a long walk - 30 minutes - it was just what I needed! Room was tidy and everything worked. I just wish they had replenished the teabags and coffee sachets during the three days I was there and a change of bed linen would have been handy. Value for money was good when you take into account that the parking is free also. (Try parking cheaply in Newcastle!) £30 per night is what I paid. The road noise was not too much of an issue either as the double glazing did its job.

Reviewed by
Anthony A

From Stratford upon Avon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will defiantly return
Have to say I was a bit sceptical after ready some of the reviews the night before we we're due to stay here. However my I was pleasantly surprised with our accommodation, we stayed in the dormitory as there was 5 of us and it was fab!! Also excellent location only 10 mins from town centre. We had no issues at all and we were able to check out at 12 with no extra charge. Don't know if they just forgot mind you ha. We will defiantly return here on our future visits back to newcastle.

Reviewed by
J Stevenson

From Johnstone, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic

Reviewed by
david h

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean room with very good view but overall not a good experience
I was given, and charged for, a twin room. This was a surprise as there was ever only me staying the two nights. I am unclear who made the mistake, me when booking, last minute rooms.com or the hotel itself. As I checked in I asked, "Does this include breakfast?"
"Yes" came the clear reply. It never happened and when this receptionist arrived at 9am I asked her about this. She said sorry but it starts tomorrow. When tomorrow came the breakfast did not so when I went to reception to inquire I was told, sorry it starts on Monday.
I spent £70 on a double room that I definitely did not want with no breakfasts having been specifically told that there were to be breakfasts. I also used the two sachets of milk on the first day and these were never replaced. Overall not a good experience but not a bad one either.

Reviewed by
D Healey

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean and staff very helpfull.

Reviewed by
S Straughan

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
Cheap but cheerful! Room basic but clean, you get what you pay for!

Reviewed by
C Ayres

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful, would stay again
After reading some of the reviews on here (after booking) I was quite worried that we were going to stay in the back of beyond or that something dreadful was going to happen during our stay. Honestly, it was great. There was a bit of noise but nothing that disturbed us. The room was big, the bed was comfy, facilities worked perfectly. It's not the ritz but it's not a dump either. If I was in the area again I'd stay there.

Reviewed by
Kerry D

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean budget accommodation in lovely location
Travelling alone i stopped off in route to Yorkshire. Lovely friendly reception. Clean room with TV and tea making facilities. Would recommend

Reviewed by
clare c

From East Linton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissatisfied
We were greeted with a toilet that would not flush - in fact, it never did flush from the night we arrived till the next morning when we left. We had to use the toilet on another floor. Staff was not easily accessible in the night. I don't think we did get value for our money.

Reviewed by
FRANK M

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next