No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Travelodge Newcastle Silverlink

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
SILVERLINK , WALLSEND, NE28 9ND
Perfect for those visiting the city of Newcastle or the surrounding areas, the Travelodge Newcastle Silverlink Hotel offers a quiet place to stay with easy access to central attractions. Only 6 miles from Newcastle train station, you’ll find travel easy from here. The city centre offers plenty to see and do, such as some daytime shopping at the Metro Centre, 7.5 miles away, or a trip to the Beamish Open Air Museum, 13.2 miles away, for a unique day out.

This hotel is also in a great position for football fans, with the grounds of Newcastle United Football Club located only 4.5 miles out.

Located right in the heart of the city, the Newcastle Central Hotel is a great place to stay for those wanting to explore this vibrant centre and all of its attractions. This hotel is only half a mile from both Newcastle train station and the city centre. Newcastle Airport is also conveniently close, at 7 miles distance, but those who want to stay on the doorstep of this major transport hub may want to consider our Newcastle Airport Hotel.

Our rooms have everything you need for a great nights sleep, including a king-size bed, showers in all rooms and baths in most, TV with 18 channels, tea and coffee making facilities, WiFi* and a large lit desk area. Hair dryers, irons and cots are available from reception on request

Early/Late Check-In/Out Service – if you’re looking to make the most of your day we can offer an Early Check-In service from 12:00noon and a Late Check-Out Service until 2pm so you have more time to relax - cost is £10 per service, per room, subject to availability - bookable direct by telephoning the hotel.

For guests wishing to bring domestic pets please visit our website www.travelodge.co.uk for more detail on charges and terms and conditions. Please note that Guide dogs, Hearing dogs, and other animals to aid disability are exempt from charge.
Picture of Travelodge Newcastle Silverlink, WALLSEND at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 58% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In need of investment
This is a tired hotel. My room was tatty, lack lustre shower, plug chain unconnected, tiny TV.

Reviewed by
stephen c

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic room
Only one towel and no phone to report to reception. Otherwise value for money.

Reviewed by
M Mann

From Forfar, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Basic but clean accommodation. Reception man pleasant.

Reviewed by
M Mann

From Forfar, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Meh.
Although we only stayed for the night, we were unimpressed by the quality of the room and thought £34 for a poor room such as the one we stayed in was a bit ridiculous. However the custom service was pretty good.
could improve my stocking toothbrushes and toothpaste (and other toiletries) rather than having customers pay £5 for a toiletries pack when only one thing is needed -waste of money and products.
Bed was comfortable however one light didn't work and the TV was placed awkwardly away from the bed.

Reviewed by
L Rhodes

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Scruffy Noisy Rowdy Hellhole
Scruffy room, noisy location, Indifferent staff, Rowdy drunken guests from early afternoon till 5 in the morning, bad pillows, tiny TV with few channels, very poor amenities, will never stay here again.

Reviewed by
Frank H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent as always
This is our third stay at the Travelodge Silverlink and only on our first stay were we disturbed by other guests in the early hours BUT it didn't put us off. This is one of the nicest Travelodge hotels, being less basic than their normal premises. It really is a lovely hotel.

Reviewed by
David I

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room basic but functional.

Reviewed by
J Barber

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed, expected a certain standard from TraveLodge.
My first impression of the hotel and room was drab and dreary. The room itself was barren and basic, with all furniture old and showing serious wear & tear. The only thing on the walls was a mirror that was very damaged around the frame...there was nothing to make the room inviting or hospitable. The sheets and towels looked clean on arrival, but the bed sheet had multiple holes in it. I also had to keep going into the cistern of the toilet to fix it throughout my stay. Although I kept my towels hung up, intending on using the same ones throughout my stay, they continued to change them every day and gave me a new bar of soap every day. I thought this was incredibly wasteful and actually frustrating. It seemed a run down and poorly managed site. While I checked in, three other guests came down with requests for towels, pillows and lightbulbs to be fixed...I'm sure there are better places to stay in the area.

Reviewed by
F Cook

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for.

Reviewed by
Lauren E

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hope this was being re-decorated
extremely basic, very poor décor, bare walls badly painted, threadbare bedding, stayed there before and quality was much better, glad we only needed an overnight stop this time. will look elsewhere when we next visit the NE.

Reviewed by
JOhn D

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next