No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Travelodge Sunderland High Street West

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
136 HIGH STREET WEST , SUNDERLAND, SR1 1UD
If you’re looking for hassle-free accommodation in Sunderland, Travelodge Sunderland High Street West Hotel is the perfect solution. Located 0.4 miles from Sunderland railway station and 1.1 miles from the magnificent home of Sunderland Association Football Club, the Stadium of Light, this puts you in close proximity to good transport links and an array of local attractions. Enjoy a trip to the fascinating Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens, just 0.4 miles away, or spend the evening trying your luck at the Gala Casino, only 0.1 miles away.

The hotel is also based near the University of Sunderland, making it ideal for those visiting friends or family and for prospective students. Alternatively, if you’re looking for hotels near the Sunderland Empire Theatre then this is a great option as it is only 0.4 miles away, making it a convenient place to stay if you are attending a show there.

Our rooms have everything you need for a great nights sleep, including a king-size bed, showers in all rooms and baths in most, TV with 18 channels, tea and coffee making facilities, WiFi* and a large lit desk area. Hair dryers, irons and cots are available from reception on request

Early/Late Check-In/Out Service – if you’re looking to make the most of your day we can offer an Early Check-In service from 12:00noon and a Late Check-Out Service until 2pm so you have more time to relax - cost is £10 per service, per room, subject to availability - bookable direct by telephoning the hotel.

For guests wishing to bring domestic pets please contact LateRooms.com for more detail on charges and terms and conditions. Please note that Guide dogs, Hearing dogs, and other animals to aid disability are exempt from charge.
Picture of Travelodge Sunderland High Street West, SUNDERLAND at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent in all aspects no improvements could be made and will certainly be staying there again when visiting sunderland empire to see a show.

Reviewed by
S Appleyard

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First time I've stayed at this hotel and have already made provisions for next stay
Amazing and the staff are the best lovely friendly staff.

Reviewed by
H Okon

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel very clean and great location
No problems at all.

Reviewed by
D Herring

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Travelodge High St West, Sunderland
Good experience at this Hotel from the start to finish. Very helpful Receptionist (Ruth I think) gave us all the information we needed for our one night stay. We slept comfortably and soundly. The room was very clean and we had ample tea and coffee making facilities. This Hotel is in my opinion great value for money. Would definitely use again when visiting this area again. Thank you

Reviewed by
Jo Potts

From Sleaford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

super stay!!
My friend and I stayed two nights at this hotel. We would definitely stay here again. The staff on reception were welcoming, friendly and polite. It was no problem for us to have more coffee sachets etc. The room was lovely and clean, airy and spacious for two people. The bed was amazing!! So comfortable!! Definitely a "goldilocks" bed!! The only thing that could have improved the room, was to have TWO chairs!! One of us, had to set on the bed or on the floor. But then, if we had been staying longer, we would have asked for one. We were hardly in our room, except for getting ready, or sleeping, so it didn't really matter. A 10+++ rating all round! Thankyou.

Reviewed by
sandra h

From York, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect!
We stayed at this travel lodge as we were going to see the lion king at sunderland empire, location is great, just a short walk away from shops and the empire. On arrival, staff were very friendly and helpful with regards to the hotel itself and sunderland. The room and bathroom were very clean and tidy. Although there is no parking at the hotel itself there is a car park just around the corner which is 24 hours. Would definitely stay here again if coming back to sunderland.

Reviewed by
Sara C

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

sunderland v arsenal weekend
We were very happy with the cleanliness of the room but rather disappointed that the price of the room appeared to have been put up to reflect the football match and lack of rooms in the area.

Reviewed by
C Higgins

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Childrens beds (2 ft 6 in) if you book a twin room - totally unacceptable
Booked a twin room with a friend and also asked for a quiet room at the back. When shown into the room it was on the front and we were told the twins were all on the front. Looking at the twin beds I realised that they were only 2 ft 6 inc wide instead of the normal 3 ft beds. This was totally unacceptable for two adults so we had to take a double and pay for another. Thought I would try Travelodge as an alternative to travelling out to the Premier Inn in Sunderland but never again !

Reviewed by
Lesley H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I had a very positive stay. The hotel staff in reception was very friendly helpful. I thought the room was very good clean.
I would stay again.

Reviewed by
s wilby

From camberley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy stay
The staff were really good , infact on arriving we had a great welcome and had a great laugh with the lass who greeted us. During the rest of the stay the rest of the staff were exactly the same. Thanks for that.

Reviewed by
D West

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next