No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Travelodge Sunderland High Street West

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
136 HIGH STREET WEST , SUNDERLAND, SR1 1UD
If you’re looking for hassle-free accommodation in Sunderland, Travelodge Sunderland High Street West Hotel is the perfect solution. Located 0.4 miles from Sunderland railway station and 1.1 miles from the magnificent home of Sunderland Association Football Club, the Stadium of Light, this puts you in close proximity to good transport links and an array of local attractions. Enjoy a trip to the fascinating Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens, just 0.4 miles away, or spend the evening trying your luck at the Gala Casino, only 0.1 miles away.

The hotel is also based near the University of Sunderland, making it ideal for those visiting friends or family and for prospective students. Alternatively, if you’re looking for hotels near the Sunderland Empire Theatre then this is a great option as it is only 0.4 miles away, making it a convenient place to stay if you are attending a show there.

Our rooms have everything you need for a great nights sleep, including a king-size bed, showers in all rooms and baths in most, TV with 18 channels, tea and coffee making facilities, WiFi* and a large lit desk area. Hair dryers, irons and cots are available from reception on request

Early/Late Check-In/Out Service – if you’re looking to make the most of your day we can offer an Early Check-In service from 12:00noon and a Late Check-Out Service until 2pm so you have more time to relax - cost is £10 per service, per room, subject to availability - bookable direct by telephoning the hotel.

For guests wishing to bring domestic pets please contact LateRooms.com for more detail on charges and terms and conditions. Please note that Guide dogs, Hearing dogs, and other animals to aid disability are exempt from charge.
Picture of Travelodge Sunderland High Street West, SUNDERLAND at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 66 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small room, small bed with only the basics
The bed wasn't king size as it said, no hair dryer in the room and just very basic

Reviewed by
Sarah C

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
Very friendly and informative reception staff.

Reviewed by
a stephenson

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Theatre stay
Room was immaculate, very good quality bed and linens, great value for central hotel, would definitely stay again.
Lady on reception was extremely helpful and welcoming.

Reviewed by
Norman c

From Choppington, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money.
Excellent value for money. For the room and customer service, best travelodge we have stayed in.

Reviewed by
Jackie L

From Saltburn by The Sea, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simple but good
Arrived at 11:00 pm having been on the road since 6:00 am. One night stay with an early check out the following morning. All I needed was a no fuss check in process, a clean, comfortable room, working WiFi and a good hot shower. And that is what I got. And more. The receptionist was welcoming and efficient and gave me very helpful advice on where to grab a late meal and park my van. The answer was pay for the first and get the second one free. Simple but good. Enough to raise my mood from weary to jolly. Well done Travelodge.

Reviewed by
T Mitchell

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
Excellent last minute booking. Very pleased and will definitely use again.

Reviewed by
Andrea M

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Travel Lodge Sunderland City
This hotel was in a good location, close to many eateries. Convenient for the purpose of our visit to relatives and easy to get out. Staff were very welcoming and helpful

Reviewed by
Diane B

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
The staff are so friendly and the rooms are excellent.

Reviewed by
John

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
I simply needed a basic / cheap room for an overnight stay in Sunderland, as I knew I wouldn't arrive until late evening, and be away again first thing in the morning. I knew I wouldn't be eating at the hotel, and so food considerations were not part of the equation.
I was very pleasantly surprised with what I found on arrival. Check-in was quick and easy. The room and bed (standard double room at £30), were huge in comparison to the price I paid, and everything I needed was clean and at hand.
Check-out in the morning, was again quick and easy. I would definitely stay again at that price!
Thanks guys.

Reviewed by
Andrew W

From Callington, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location
Ideal location for the football ground

Reviewed by
R Carr

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next