No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - High View Guest House

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
4 Rushey Gill, , , Brandon, DH7 8BL
High View Guest House is a small family run establishment, only 3 miles from the beautiful city of Durham, offering you the finest bed & breakfast. Our rooms are decorated to a high, luxurious standard to ensure you have an extra special stay. Our breakfast is one we are proud of, and not to be missed. We use locally sourced produce, cooked to perfection. Our guest house is surrounded by countryside walks whilst just being a short stroll away from the village pub. We aim to offer our guests a relaxed, homely atmosphere, with a comfortable lounge, beautiful rooms, excellent food, free WI-FI, and free on-site parking. With all of this, and the many famous attractions within easy reach, you"ll be sure to enjoy your stay. Why not come and visit a historic part of the north where you will find a rare combination of traditional surroundings & modern luxury. A warm welcome awaits you at the High View Guest House.
Picture of High View Guest House, Brandon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Immaculate house on a housing estate a few miles from Durham
Tucked away on a housing estate, taxi didn't know where it was. Very friendly, immaculate service. Shared bathroom (3 rooms sharing).too far out from Durham, reliant on taxi

ManagementResponse

We are sorry to learn that the guest thinks we are too far from Durham, but the fact is, we are only 3.2 miles away, and there is certainly no need to be reliant on taxi's, as we enjoy a very regular bus service, with pick up and drop off points just a few yards away, at the end of the road. We would also like to say that the shared bathroom is exactly as stated on our web site, luxurious, with a second guest toilet on the ground floor. Finally, we feel the guest should look up the definition of a guest house before booking their next overnight stay. They will find it to be exactly what High View Guest House is, a house, offering accommodation and breakfast to paying guests. To sum up, it seems the guest did not want to use a taxi, or a bus, and did not want to stay in a guest house, so what they should have done, was book a hotel in town at double or more times the price, and the very least they should have done was read the information before booking, the details are all there.

Reviewed by
C Jack

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of the best B&B I have stayed in
The general quality, cleanliness and hospitality of the couple is exceptional. The only slight downside is that the bathroom is shared with other guests but not a major issue. I would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
p ganatra

From Bushey, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

high view
very welcoming , good food , very clean ,
only draw back was the bathroom was not ensuite , but it wasn,t a problem .
we would use this guest house again if in that area .

Reviewed by
D Chamberlain

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutley outstanding.beautiful accomodation,gorgeous rooms and bathroom.excellent breakfast+hosts
10out of10.would definitley go back and i reccomend it to anyone

Reviewed by
B Cawthorne

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

High View Guest House, Brandon, Durham
Our friendly hosts Maureen and Geoff couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Excellent breakfasts too. This Guest House is fairly small, and has a very homely feel.
A delightful place to stay, in a quiet and convenient location. Thoroughly recommended, and very good value.
There is a shared bathroom, but this did not matter as we were the only guests at the time, and everything is immaculately clean and well equipped.

Reviewed by
James Kendon

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room and great breakfast in easy reach of Durham city and dales
We were looking for a reasonably-priced B&B in or near to Durham for a long weekend away, and what a find this place was. Our hosts couldn't have been more welcoming but at the same time just let us relax and do our own thing. They told us they only converted their house to a B&B last year but they seemed very well-practiced already. Our room was absolutely sumptuous with huge built-in wardrobes, wall-mounted TV, soft carpet, very comfortable double bed and big window looking out across the hills. And the breakfast was the best we have ever had - juice, cereal, fruit, toast, egg, bacon, sausage, beans, mushrooms, tomatoes, black pudding, fried bread. We hardly ate lunch while we were there as it wasn't needed following that! The only downside was the bathroom wasn't en suite (which we knew before booking), but it was worth it as the bathroom was as brilliant as everything else - big bath, separate power shower with spacious cubicle, constant supply of hot water. As for the location, it was about a 15 minute drive to Durham city centre (and it looked like there were regular buses), but going the other way you were immediately in the countryside. And it was all very good value - highly recommended!

Reviewed by
Marcus Evans

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Fantastic
All I can say is we have a marvellous experience and would not hesitate to stay again, if in the area, or to recommend it to friends and family. Excellent all rund.

Reviewed by
F Smith

From Elland, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Durham B&B
Both myself and my colleague were very impressed by the standard of this B&B. The owners have worked extremely hard to make their home an excellent venue for B&B and they are to be congratulated for their efforts. We will stay there again when we are in the area.

Reviewed by
Simon Rowley

From Ringwood, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellant Guest House
The guest house is wonderful, it is run by a lovely retired couple who couldn't be more welcoming and helpful. The interior is extremely well decorated and the rooms are comfy, Breakfast each morning was fantastic. Ample place to park and only a 10-15 minute drive to Durhman centre. Would stay again, highly recommeneded.

Reviewed by
D Mahmood

From Rossendale, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


excellent B&B. clean and comfortable

Reviewed by
Robert G

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next