Reviews - 1885 the Restaurant, Pub and Guest Rooms


1885 the Restaurant, Pub and Guest Rooms, 400 Stainland Road, Halifax, HX4 9HF

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (11)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • M Grindrod

  • May 2015


Clean, warm well appointed room, the bed was very comfortable and the room quiet.

Evening meal in the bar was first class with good range of choices, breakfast was delivered to the room in a picnic hamper and was more than I could eat. Staff were friendly and efficient. Would definitely stay again

  • T Knowles

  • April 2015

Room was lovely, spotlessly clean and good facilities with some lovely touches.

The breakfast however was a huge disappointment. Cornflakes!. ( does anyone actually eat cornflakes any more?) a Granny Smith Apple (hardly breakfast food) and a tiny black banana. There was barely enough milk for 2 and a croissant filled with ham and cheese, yes I know this is continental but not everyone eats cheese. It would have been better to have a separate packet with the ham and cheese and a pot of jam to give people a choice. The dinner we had in the pub however was absolutely delicious, would definitely eat there again.

  • I Chatfield

  • April 2015

What a great place

  • P Brown

  • January 2015

1885 the Restaurant, Pub and Guest Rooms

Great stay.

  • Gary H

  • December 2014

Very Customer Freindly

Staff were very helpful could not do enough for you food was well cooked and nicely presented.

Will look at a return visit.

  • W Henderson

  • November 2014

Hidden Gem

We arrived to check in to our room at 5.30.

We entered the pub and checked in with the bar manager, who was very friendly. After being shown to our room and unpacking we returned to the pub for tea. The food was so good we ended up having at least one meal there every day of our visit. The room itself was excellent. Immaculately clean and very peaceful. The bed was so comfy it was hard to get myself out of in the morning. As part of the price was included a continental breakfast, full of tasty goodies. There was so much in it we ended up taking some of it with us to nibble onduring the day. We were offered a full English option but after seeing how much was included in the continental it's a good job we didn't go for it. The room had a massive double shower, hd tv, wifi and the view was second to none. For the price we paid I consider it to be excellent value for money. The hotel/pub is located in a rural village with some of the best views I've seen in a long time as well as loads of trails ideal for going on long strolls around the area. Having said that the nearest town is only a 10 minute drive away with lots more things to do. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel and say to anyone who's looking to get away from it all for a few days to get yourself a room at the 1885 booked. Cheers for the excellent visit, we will definitely be returning.

  • M Cowey

  • September 2014

Superb stay in lively setting.

Everything about the 1885 rooms and pub were excellent.

The food in the pub was spot on.

And the room was excellent with a nice touch for the breakfast hamper in the morning.

  • s brennan

  • September 2014


  • September 2014

Very nice and clean.

Really quiet. Although rather small with wardrobe space being over coffee making facilities. Bit hot because couldn't turn radiator in bathroom off and toilet made a very loud noise which wouldn't go off as it was stuck.

  • Elaine A

  • February 2014

Excellent stay

The staff there were very helpful an courteous, the room was of an exceptional standard.

Overall, a pleasant experience.