No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Grey Street Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
2 10, Grey Street , Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 6AE
Right in the heart of the city centre, this boutique hotel is understated chic and minimalist, situated in a grade 2 listed building and oozing period charm fused with a contemporary style. Included as standard in all rooms are triple glazed windows, hypnos beds, crisp white cotton bed linen, thick fluffy towels, drench showers, soothing toiletries, laptop safe, plasma or LCD TV, DVD player with library, CD player, cafetiere coffee and herbal teas. Theatre Royal 2 min walk, Eldon Square Shopping Centre 2 min walk, Metro Radio Arena 10 min walk, Centre for Life 5 min walk, Central Railway Station 5 minute walk, Monument Metro 2 minute walk, Newcastle Quayside / Millennium Bridge / The Sage Gateshead / Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art 5 minute walk.
Picture of Grey Street Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel, the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable and I thought the room was quite stylish.
The hotel is in an excellent location, I don't think you can get closer to the city centre for the value.

Reviewed by
C Airey

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what I expected!
stayed here for 1 night and although the hotel is in an ideal location for food, shopping etc. I felt the room was very small and there was no way of controlling the heat which made a very uncomfortable night. The bathroom was in need of refurbishment due to the cracked sink, rotting wood on bath panel and the shower was a dribble!! The complimentary bathroom accessories although very nice, the body lotion was already opened, so it had been used by the previous occupants. I wouldn't stay here again as I thought it was over priced for what you were actually getting compared to what your expectations were..

Reviewed by
Ian D

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, great location, perfect for my business needs. Upgraded to an exec room free of charge which was a nice touch and made my stay even better! Would definitely bok again as was also competitively priced.

Reviewed by
R lane

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value, central location.
Stayed Monday night, £53. Good value, great central location. Rooms and bathroom modern and clean. Hotel interior stairway has beautiful old tiles. Noisy outside til early hours but it is busy Newcastle city centre. Theatre Royal just up the road and fab Marco Polo restaurant down the road.
Just the job!!

Reviewed by
s Hall

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable room though lighting not good and heating control not working so too hot.

Reviewed by
C Williams

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would not stay there again
The hair dryer wires were exposed. The bathroom door handle broke whilst I was inside the bathroom, making it impossible for me to open the door, so effectively I was trapped inside. Luckily my son had been visiting and was able to open the door from the outside. The shower tap came off in my hand and I had to fix it back on to turn the shower off. I stayed in room 33, which has an industrial extractor fan on the outside wall, which means the room has a very loud droning noise all day and most of the night. The desk lamp had no light bulb in it, making it impossible to use the desk or mirror, because of lack of light. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean.

Reviewed by
Jacqueline L

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Atmosphere and Service
Very comfy bed. I found this to be one of the best hotel night's sleeps I have experienced. The hotel has friendly and approachable staff and well located. It has bags of character and the only downside would be that it doesn't have it's own parking although for my stay I could use overnight street parking.

Reviewed by
Emily A

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfy but certainly not perfect
I booked this hotel for myself and a colleague because the one we had planned to stay in was full.
On arrival it was not immediately apparent where the hotel entrance was. But once inside the receptionist was pleasant and helpful.
The room was comfortably furnished but unfortunately I could not get the TV to work - I think the batteries in the remote control might have been flat. I couldn't be bothered to try to get it fixed as it was already late in the evening.
The bed was very comfy and I would have slept well had it not been for the intermittent noise of machinery outside. I was at the back on the 5th floor, so it may have been air conditioning equipment.
My morning alarm call was 10 minutes late; my colleague's was 15 minutes late.
The range and quality of breakfast was disappointing for a 4* hotel and was grossly overpriced at £20.

Reviewed by
Edward J

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shopping trip with a friend. October 2013
I would stay at this hotel again and would definitely recommend it to friends. We only stayed 2 nights for a midweek shopping trip but could easily have stayed longer. It is very central for shopping, close to the railway station and the Theatre Royal and also has excellent places to eat and drink on the same street. The room was very clean and had everything needed for a comfortable stay. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. We did not sample the food but on a future stay we would definitely try it. The only criticism I have is that the lift was a bit slow but that is just a minor thing. All in all an excellent hotel and good value for money.

Reviewed by
SUSAN F

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No complaints
I've stayed in better hotels for the money but also much worse. No major complaints. Bed not the most comfortable but acceptable. Nice location. Plenty of bars close at hand.

Reviewed by
D Lewis

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next