No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bower Cottage Bed and Breakfast

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
White Fold, New Mills, High Peak, New Mills, SK22 4EF
Bower Cottage Bed and Breakfast is a Grade 2 listed country cottage in a picturesque Hamlet; Whitle Fold is on the north edge of the Peak District near to New Mills, with views over Kinder Scout, Kinder Downfall, Ollerset Moor, the hills of the Goyt Valley and New Mills Golf course bordering on to our fields; but not far from shops, cafés, banks, pubs and restaurants.

We offer a variety of accommodation including a twin, double /family/ twin room. NOT Suitable for people on night shifts!

There is a comfortable guest lounge and dining room, where you can relax after your day out in front of the log fire and plan your next day’s route.
Free Wifi – Internet access

Bower Cottage Bed and Breakfast is a friendly, family run guest house . At Bower we offer an unusual and interesting, cosy farmhouse style accommodation with oak beams, galleried landing, private guest lounge / dining room with Log stove and a piano. Tea / coffee and Barbeque facilities. Free Wifi –Internet access.

This is an ideal location for walkers, runners, cyclists, mountain bikers, horses and riders with an abundance of country lanes, off road tracks, trails and Bridleways. Great for anyone wanting to enjoy outdoor activities in The Peak District, with access to the Pennine Bridleway a short distance away and The Sett Valley trail leading down to Hayfield and Kinder Scout.
Picture of Bower Cottage Bed and Breakfast, New Mills at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Break
We enjoyed our stay at Bower Cottage, lovely location and very friendly local pub which the Cottage owner walked with us across the first couple of tracks. Good facilities, very hot water and good nights sleep. Would definitely go back.

Reviewed by
John G

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bower cottage
A B&B of character. a warm welcome and super bfast. set on the hills above New Mills with splendid views.

Reviewed by
john m

From Sandhurst, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly place lovely quiet location

Reviewed by
Adrian Smallridge

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hill top views of stunning countryside
Warm hosts, scrumptious breakfast, stunning countryside, walks galore. Left relaxed and refreshed and looking forward to visiting again. Thank you for a fabulous stay.

Reviewed by
annabel h

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Windy weekend
We drove passed the lane leading to the cottage as we couldn't believe it was meant for cars. It is single track, fairly steep, and riddled with pot holes, It is not signposted.
The owner was very welcoming, and made us a cuppa.
The bedroom was a bit sparse; just a radio/alarm; no TV.
The lounge / dining room had tea/coffee making facilities, a log fire, a music centre, a piano, but no TV.
The shared bathroom was spacious; we had it to ourselves - a bonus.
The breakfast was good, and we had an excellent evening meal in the pub a short stroll away.
Once the wind dropped, it was amazingly quiet.
Nice cottage, lovely owner, just a shame about the 'road'.

Reviewed by
Ian McCabe

From Northallerton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Money well spent
I just can't thank the owners of the B&B enough. I've stayed at hotels and B&Bs all over the UK, Europe, North America, South America, the Middle East and Africa and this ranks with the best. The owners are friendly, welcoming and helpful with good knowledge of the local area. The accommodation is clean and comfortable and the breakfasts set me up for a good day's walking each day I stayed. Yes, you have to get your car up the track (see previous comment) so I took it very slowly and took a good look at where I was guiding the wheels of the car. Overall I left feeling as though I'd been treated as a customer and not someone in the building for a few days just to hand money to the owner at the end. Art lovers will appreciate the work of the owner's father; everyone will enjoy the scenery. Overall this was a very enjoyable stay. One thing to mention: you are staying on a farm so take some footwear like flip-flops or sandals for wearing inside the house.

Reviewed by
John S

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value for money
Pleasant situation in quiet countryside. House is a converted barn. Room was clean and comfortable. Guests have the use of a lounge with sofas and arm chairs. The proprieters are kindly and helpful. Breakfast was good, if average bed and breakfast fare. Overall: comfortable and rustic. The only citicism is that it is difficult to find: the approach road is a VERY potholled and rutted bridal path, which is unsign-posted, and not at all obviously for road vehicles, so we had to call the proprieters to help us find the entrance. Overall good value for money, but go slowly on the pot-holed bridal path.

Reviewed by
M Fairley

From Harrow, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice place to stay
would highly recommend this place, very friendly

Reviewed by
Phil T

From Street, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.