You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Queensberry Arms Hotel

47, High Street, Annan, DG126AD

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (35)

80% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Michael T

  • June 2016

Heading South

When looking for the car park at the back of the hotel, the entrance is off Bank Street, on your right as you come from the High Street.

Stopped off on the way home from Scotland. The staff on the reception were friendly & help full. The looked clean, with the double bed with one side against the wall. The door to the wardrobe had burns on it from the convector heater in the room. With the smoke detector missing from the ceiling(the holder was there but no detector), I informed reception when we went back down to collect the rest of our things from the car. The bathroom/toilet had a creaked sink & black mould around the bath below the shower, & the light above the sink was not working. Reception was informed again in the morning, to which I was told that my message from last night had not been passed on, so there new nothing about them. We were staying in room 22. We also had our evening meal in the bar which was good basically. Breakfast in the morning was good with enough to eat & cooked fresh. I have said we would stay again as we may just of been less lucky with our room, so would be willing to give it another go.

  • M Annan

  • February 2016

VeryNice Hotel

We had a pleasant stay at the Queensberry Arms.

The staff were nice and helpful. The food was very good. The bedroom was adequate though nothing special, it could have been cleaned better. The bathroom did not smell very fresh and not well cleaned. There were nutshells under the bed. We found the room was not very warm as radiator was not giving out much heat and it was a cold night. Our room was above the kitchen and there was some noise,The breakfast room was cold also. Apart from this we liked this Hotel and would stay again.

  • D MacLean

  • January 2016

2 Night stay with family

We walked in the front door and there was no one on reception.

There was a microwave on the floor and a hot food tray. There was not enough staff to do all the work and they seemed to do part of a job then had to leave it half done and go and do something else. The glasses in the bar were not washed properly nor in the rooms. The owner definitely liked pictures as there were so many throughout the hotel but they were all different we had 8 in our room. Breakfast was okay but was different on each of the mornings. The staff were friendly but we wouldn't rush back. Suitable for workers not really for couples a shame as it it a big hotel with a great deal of potential with a little tlc.

  • b baxter

  • November 2015

First time in Scotland

We enjoyed our stay, staff were lovely, food was very tasty and hot, bed was comfy.

Couple of negatives were our room was above the kitchen so extractor fan was like a helicopter taking off. The radio from kitchen could be heard in our room from 7am. Our kettle was dirty so I went and bought wipes and cloths to clean it, and table tops in bar are sticky. I didnt complain because the good things outweighed the bad.

  • James Lynn

  • October 2015

Clean and all staff very friendly and welcoming.

Interesting little town. Beautiful surrounding countryside. A pleasure to stay. Breakfast ........ Sooooper doop !!!

  • Belinda D

  • October 2015

Wknd away

Our stay here at the Queensberry Arms was what we expected, having seen other reviews we kept an open mind, it is an old building so you'd expect its quirks, the reception and other other staff where pleasant and helpful, we had to make our own way to rooms, but easily done, bedrooms where poorly decorated, but we never expected the ritz, the bed was comfy and that was the main thing as all need is that at the end of the day's excursion.

The food in restaurant, evening and then breakfast was 1st class,

  • rebekah w

  • September 2015

great little hotel that oozes character

Friendly, relaxed and helpful staff.

Hotel in general was a little untidy - maybe due to ongoing renovation works. It didn't seem a bad thing but rather somehow added to the welcoming feeling.

Excellent breakfast.

Would stay again if I'm ever in the area again.

  • G M

  • September 2015

Very good value for money, food was nice, staff were good, helpful and friendly, wee bit work to do.

Staff were very good, we had a meal in the bar which was good, breakfast was good and nicely cooked.

Staff at breakfast were helpful and friendly, if I have criticism, the breakfast staff could have made an effort to dress and not just look as they had got up and pulled on what was at the bottom of the bed in the dark, t-shirts and track suit bottoms are not your normal waiters uniform (however this is Annan). cant fault service. great value for money.

  • M Barrows

  • August 2015

You get what you pay for

Not a good start when you have to go and find a member of staff to check in.

The hotel is obviously going through a bit of renovation but they should try and maintain the cleanliness of the hotel in doing so. The staircase looks like it hasn't seen a Hoover in weeks, with spiders and cobwebs hanging from the ceiling. First impression of the room is that they had made an effort with the decoration but then there was cobwebs again from the light fittings. Holes in the wet walls in the bathroom just left and not repaired and although a new shower fitted why not remove the old fittings and ensure the sealant around the tray was redone and clean. A new bathroom window put in but why not make the effort to remove the manufacturers stickers. There was no remote control for the TV and was told they would bring one but had to chase them for it and still it couldn't be found. The staff to their credit did then try to resolve by bringing another TV but it wouldn't fit on the bracket next to the Ariel then a knock at the door at 9.40pm asking if we wanted to change rooms. We didn't eat an evening meal at the hotel as seeing an old ice cream box full of uncooked salmon sat in the corridor put us off. Breakfast was okay but there was only one waitress which meant she was so busy looking after the guests that she couldn't clear the plates away so was sat eating breakfast with tables full of dirty plates around you. The hotel has the potential to be good but unfortunately not at the moment.

  • M Pattison

  • August 2015

The Annan experience.

First time using "late rooms ".

The hotel was being refurbished & the decor & furniture were very old fashioned but the bed was comfortable & very clean. The staff were very helpful & changed my room to accommodate my disability. Food was good so all round value for money.