No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Halifax Hall

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
Halifax Hall, Endcliffe Vale Road , Sheffield, S10 3ER
A beautiful period mansion in Sheffield. Formerly a Victorian steel baron’s mansion and subsequently a University hall of residence, transformed into an outstanding and individual boutique hotel. Located in the middle of a conservation area on the edge of the University’s Endcliffe Village, boasting 38 en-suite bedrooms including three suites and deluxe conferencing facilities, ideal for conferences, events, weddings and leisure breaks.

We have partnered and worked closely with Sheffield based companies to deliver the highest standard of hotel comfort and guest satisfaction. From coffee selections, to bed linens we promise to exceed every expectation you have of our beautiful new hotel.

Picture of Halifax Hall, Sheffield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 63 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staying at Halifax Hall is a very pleasant experience. Excellent facilities, excellent customer service and 'different'. Particularly enjoyed staying there as I was a resident student there when it was a Hall of Residence in the late 1960's so it was partly a trip down memory lane .. and the staff seemed genuinely interested to hear about my time there. They even gave me a guided tour to show what they had changed and what was still more or less in its original condition. It does however still adjoin existing student halls so in term time it may be a little less peaceful!

Reviewed by
C Robertson

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellant accomadation for a late booking
I booked on the day of wanting to stay, the process was easy and fast.
i arrived to a warm welcome, the receptionist actually took me up to my room, even offered to carry my bag.
The room was fantastic nice and clean and very modern
The only downside is the very limited number of car parking spaces, but if you arrive early then there will be one.
Would stay here again in a heartbeat

Reviewed by
s berry

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service and fantastic value for money
Very good value for money, the staff were fantastic as was the food. Free coffee and biscuits on each floor in a good central location. Situated in the centre of endcliffe student village so it may be noisy at weekends. I would definitely stay here again!

Reviewed by
S Hughes

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

amazing experience
Halifax was a delight with amazing rooms and service

Reviewed by
abhishek b

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent deal made this hotel stand out from the crowd
Conveniently situated for the university quarter, rooms are comfortable, well-appointed, bathrooms spacious, breakfast excellent. Hotel has character and set in pleasant gardens but surrounded by other more modern residences. Found our room a little dark and had we been paying the standard rate would have picked up on the fact that shower gel had not been replenished, hot water took a long time to come through in the evening and no feminine hygiene bags; however, at the current offer price, could not quibble. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Louise T

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Despite leaving the window open the room was too hot to sleep in comfortably. Otherwise it was an excellent stay in fabulous accommodation.

Reviewed by
Gordon G

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Generous room size; spotlessly clean; quiet location; very relaxing.

Reviewed by
Anthony B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nearly there!!
Cleanliness marked down for one reason. The staff forgot to clean our room on the second morning so we returned to a scruffyish room with yesterdays teacups still around.
Other comments. The hallways were intolerably hot.
The breakfast room air con was fierce and a little cold.
Breakfasts were excellent and the whole experience is very nearly superb.

Reviewed by
B Robinson

From Kingston upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staying at halifax hall
Very comfortable and clean room with a lovely ensuite area.The meal in the reatuaurant was excellent. I would have preferred tea making facilities in the room rather than in the corridor outside.

Reviewed by
susan s

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Revisit to A Hall of Residence
It must have been 50 years ago that I visited a friend who was in residence so I was intrigued to find out what it was like as a hotel. I was very impressed! The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was large and my husband was delighted to have a walk in/sit down shower. We ate dinner there and enjoyed what we had. My husband was a bit disappointed not to have porridge for breakfast but the next day he was able to have it. Thank you to the young man who passed on our comments. The overspill car park allows a down hill walk to the hotel. The gardens are lovely.

Reviewed by
Gloria T

From Westerham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next