Reviews - Ashfield Hotel

4

95 New North Road Edgerton, ,, Huddersfield, HD1 5ND

Price From 91.36 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (47)

74% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Andy B

  • July 2015

Shabby but not Chic

The first room I went into - Room 109 had a towel holder hanging off the wall due to the wrong size rawlplugs being used, the TV lost its vision after 5 minutes of use, there was no coffee provided, the wallpaper was dated and appeared to have been bought as a job lot as it was the same in two bedrooms and the Dining Room.

The ironing board cover was damaged. There was paint on the wallpaper where the woodwork had been painted poorly.

After I complained I was offered a second room, Room106 with a double bed. In this one the sash cords were broken so I had to ask for a piece of wood to prop the window open for ventilation. There were empty shampoo sachets on the floor in the bathroom. The sealant under the shower panels was brown. There was white paint marks on the wallpaper. One length of wallpaper was loose with curled up edges. There was a scorch mark on the carpet where an iron had been placed. There was no plug in the plug hole of the wash hand basin, so I had to use a cup in the plug hole to have any hope of retaining washing water for a wet shave.

On the plus side the breakfast was edible and the bed in Room 106 was very comfortable and the TV worked.

  • Eric S

  • March 2015

Basic accommodation, a bit over-priced for what's offered.

Lower mark for cleanliness due to old food marks on placemat at breakfast.

Room was clean though. Otherwise good value breakfast.

  • s denniss

  • March 2015

Lovely room a little noisy with the main road outside

The room was lovely and clean, only comment would be I thought I'd booked a room with a bigger jacuzzi but was late when we arrived so I didn't challenge it.

Coffee machine or a stocked fridge would have been nice too as we noticed the list of refreshments when we were leaving. Had we known we would have asked for a decent cup of tea. All in all it was nice if a little noisy with the main road outside but we would book again.

  • n wood

  • February 2015

Excellent and affordable

Fantastic customer service, I accidentally booked in the wrong night and the owner was very kind and helped rearrange with no fuss or extra charge.

The room was very nice and cosy. Small bathroom but as I only stayed one night it was not much inconvienice especially as the price was so good. I would definately reccomend this hotel and hope to stay again in the future.

  • S Patterson

  • February 2015

Lovely Hotel

Room has everything you need.

Very Comfortable big Bed. Family Friendly hotel. Definitely will use again and would recommend.

  • kerrie ormondroyd

  • February 2015

happy

The hotel was absolutely lovely.

Very clean and tidy, the bed was very comfy. The hotel staff were very polite. And as for the breakfast, you couldn't have asked for anything else. All set out nice more than enough food for breakfast and a large variety to chose fro.

  • Steve Smith

  • February 2015

Ashfield hotel

I had dropped my partner off before going for a meeting.

We had both forgot to pack chargers and our phones were flat, if we had charge my partner would have called me and said get me out of here, the bed room was ok and well decorated but carpet needed a good vac, the bathroom had hair And dirt all over floor and the shower did not drain,

We also had leak in the bathroom from. What we guess was the room above.

  • a mcmurrough

  • February 2015

poor

The single room i had was 3/4 tthe size of my living room and felt cramped .

The bathroom walls look like they needed a very good clean, as did the corner shower tray, a mat had been placed over a missing tile at the entrance to the bathroom too.

Above the bed crammed in the corner, it looked like someone had thrown a toilet paper water bomb and it was hanging from the ceiling. how long has that been there . Also there was no wardrobe in the room though a very small rail was there

Overall it needs renovating.

  • Ian S

  • January 2015

Comfy Budget Hotel

A little dated and the decoration is quirky but the bed was comfy and the room was warm (important for Huddersfield in January).

  • N Cooper

  • January 2015

Nice welcome - standard for 'luxury' label room extremely poor

My husband and I stayed at the Ashfield Hotel after viewing a few suggestions for nearby places on TripAdvisor.

We booked a Luxury Double Room. Unfortunately, the only thing 'luxury' was the price tag. The 'jacuzzi' was just a standard bath with air jets, the shower had surface mould, the carpets were not laid properly, the ceiling had water damage, the clock on the wall / microwave were out of sync and much of the decor was damaged / scratched. With a bit of care and attention this could be a gem but certainly not worth the £65 I paid to stay here. Disappointing.