No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ashfield hotel

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
95 NEW NORTH ROAD , HUDDERSFIELD, HD1 5ND
This beautiful period property is a family run Hotel furnished to a high standard, catering for the needs of all travellers.
There are 12 spacious and comfortable rooms, all of which are en suite. Each room has a TV, Microwave, telephone, fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. Ironing boards, irons and hair dryers are available upon request. Freshly cooked breakfast is available every morning and provides a great start to the day for our guests.

Offering free on-site car parking and free Wi-Fi the Ashfield Hotel is a 10-minute walk from Huddersfield town centre. It's 1 mile away from Huddersfield University, only 1.3 miles from Galpharm Stadium, 1.1 miles away from Huddersfield Royal Infirmary and a 5 minute walk away from Greenhead Park and Kirklees college. There's a bus stop right outside the Hotel with buses running regularly to various destinations. We are based on the A629 towards Halifax and 2.5 miles (4 km) from junction 24 of the M62.
The hotel holds a no smoking policy.
Picture of Ashfield hotel, HUDDERSFIELD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfy Budget Hotel
A little dated and the decoration is quirky but the bed was comfy and the room was warm (important for Huddersfield in January).

Reviewed by
Ian S

From Bransgore, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ashfield hotel
Really pleased with the room. Definitely recommend to others. A real good find, made the trip more enjoyable.

Reviewed by
warren h

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice welcome - standard for 'luxury' label room extremely poor
My husband and I stayed at the Ashfield Hotel after viewing a few suggestions for nearby places on TripAdvisor. We booked a Luxury Double Room. Unfortunately, the only thing 'luxury' was the price tag. The 'jacuzzi' was just a standard bath with air jets, the shower had surface mould, the carpets were not laid properly, the ceiling had water damage, the clock on the wall / microwave were out of sync and much of the decor was damaged / scratched. With a bit of care and attention this could be a gem but certainly not worth the £65 I paid to stay here. Disappointing.

Reviewed by
N Cooper

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant!
The guy was lovely, the room was amazing, breakfast was gorgeous, couldn't recommend more highly. 10 minute walk from the train station or £3 in a taxi. Loved every minute of it and look forward to staying again.

Reviewed by
M Pattinson

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what I expected.
I booked a luxury room with a jacuzzi for my wedding anniversary. When we arrived, we got a distinctly unluxurious, disabled suite with no sign of bath, never mind a jacuzzi.

Reviewed by
Michelle H

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place!
Stayed here for one night with my boyfriend. Had a fantastic time. Manager is really friendly and helpful. Room is spotless and well equipped. We had a family room as it was the only one left. It was huge with a lovely view of the garden. Walking distance to town but far enough away from the noise! I would recommend this place and would definitely stay here again!

Reviewed by
l johnson

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice little hotel close to town centre.
I have stayed here before so knew what to expect.Very friendly family-run hotel.Room was of a good standard though I feel that the bathroom could do with a makeover.If you need them, the room is equipped with a fridge and microwave.Good selection of food at breakfast.All in all,good value for money.

Reviewed by
Lindsay Devereux

From Neath, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent lovely time great everything
Recommended highly lovely nights sleep nice shower n jacuzzi everything was spot on will be booking again Mrs didn't want to leave !

Reviewed by
Carl Allen

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff poor quality
The B&B is a stunning Victorian property that needs a considerable sum spent on maintenance and upkeep. The decor is eclectic to say the least and looks to have been sourced from local car boot sales and auction houses.
The rooms are clean and the staff friendly and a BIG problem with room availability and our booking was resolved to everyones satisfaction.
The breakfast is overpriced for what is offered. I am not a toddler and I prefer not to have plastic covering the table cloth!

Reviewed by
O Reffell

From North Tawton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable room and attentive and helpful owners
Very comfortable room and attentive and helpful owners well situated for railway station and town centre - also bus stop right outside that can be used to avoid hill.

Reviewed by
LINDSEY B

From LONDON, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next