No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Maiden Motel

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Low Heworth lane, Heworth, Gateshead, NE10 0YJ
This pub offers en suite accommodation in the Heworth area of Gateshead. It has free Wi-Fi, free parking on site, and is a 5-minute walk from Heworth Rail Station.

Rooms at The Maiden Motel are modern, with a flat-screen TV for guests to enjoy. Each also offers facilities for making tea and coffee.

A range of drinks are available in the bar, and the pub also shows all major sporting events. There is frequent entertainment to enjoy, including karaoke on Fridays and a DJ on Saturdays.

Central Gateshead is 3 miles from the building, and Newcastle city centre is 4 miles away. A discounted taxi service is also available to guests.
Picture of Maiden Motel, Gateshead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

you get what you pay for!
The room was very basic but clean enough. The shower head leaked which flooded the floor when switched on as there was no shower curtain. There are no hooks in the bathroom. The room accommodated myself and two daughters but we were only provided with two towels. There were two short flights up to the rooms. The first flight had no lighting and there was loose carpet on the stairs, an accident waiting to happen. Business is conducted from the busy bar. Music from the bar area pounded for most of the evening and could be heard very clearly from the bedrooms. It continued until midnight. Whilst this may be fine for some, we had travelled 300 miles from Kent arriving around 20:30 hours, We really didn't expect to be sleeping above a disco! I think potential customers should be warned about this.

Reviewed by
J Williams

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
The lady working behind the bar was really helpful, welcoming and friendly. Would definitely come again as it was really good value!

Reviewed by
Joel C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was a pleasant little place. Cosy rooms. Value for money, although there was no toilet roll in any bathroom

Reviewed by
A Bell

From Compton Martin, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shocking!!
We could put up with the banging music noise until midnight as we were prepared for that and the music was actually quite good. What we weren't prepared for were the stains on the bed sheets, the lack of refreshments and toiletries in the room considering the price and the sick all over the exit when we left on our final morning. The proprietors couldn't be blamed for the door banging, rowdy, noisy visitors all through the Saturday night. They can be blamed for the lumpy poor quality mattress and the cheap bed coverings. We realised why there was a huge TV in the room when we couldn't sleep during the night, there was nothing else to do (despite the obvious but we couldn't keep that going all night!!!).

Reviewed by
Scott W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better than the streets.
When we booked our room (which according to Laterooms was a saving of £23)
We didn't expect too much seeing as it was so cheap.
We took our own tea, coffee, milk and sugar because we read other reviews that said there wasn't any. Unfortunately there wasn't any mugs either, and when I went to go ask for some, the lady wasn't able to find any so she gave me their personal ones which were well used, chipped and stained.
We specially made sure that it was a non smoking room because my wife is pregnant. But when we walked in it smelt worse than an ashtray, "This is actually a non smoking room." Is what the lady said. Sure wish it was because everything including the towels my next days work clothes stank of smoke by the end of it.
The bed duvet and sheet had stains on if of some sort.
We had to put the towels down and sleep on them, although we didn't have much sleep due to the bad quality of the mattress or rather the lack of strength in the springs.
The walls had scuff marks and was chipped.
There was a tv and a remote which was sticky and couldn't find a channel that worked.
The nice thing though was that the bathroom was clean and there was plenty of toilet paper.
No soap though and the shower head sprays water from all directions.
To sum it up, we wished we spent more money and booked a better hotel.
If you are strapped for cash and don't want to sleep in your car or the streets, book a back packers, if they full then book here.

Reviewed by
J Heeley

From Campbeltown, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simple and cheap
The room was clean but had no bin or towels. Mattress was a bit springy but I was comfortable overall and can't complain for the price.

Reviewed by
Mark H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room had beds and a TV...no tea/coffee facilities unfortunately.
On arrival our room had been double booked so we ended up in the triple room with a full refund. The manager couldn't have been more apologetic. Customer service wise was excellent. The guy didn't have to refund our money but he did as a good will gesture but also allowed us to stay the night as we had nowhere else to go.

Reviewed by
l drummond

From Cupar, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sound job would use this motel again no problem cheers

Reviewed by
g hallam

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic Budget Accomodation
This was a basic, budget accommodation and as such fits the bill. Room was clean. Bathroom had really nice décor, loads of hot water and great water pressure so no time at all to fill a bath. Mattress on double bed was a bit lumpy but as I was in it myself I just folded the quilt to cushion it a bit more. The single bed had a better mattress. There was no tea/coffee facilities in room but just asked at the bar and the lovely lady there organised it (took a bit of time but we got it) along with milk cups and tea bags. Could have done with information on check out time and where to leave key. There was no one around so we left it in room. Friday night pub noise was as expected - very loud, could feel it vibrating through the bath water. Having said that I couldn't say what time it ended because I was sound asleep and slept very well.

Reviewed by
L D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just right for what we required very friendly staff

Reviewed by
Andy Dennis

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next