No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Maiden Motel

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Low Heworth lane, Heworth, Gateshead, NE10 0YJ
This pub offers en suite accommodation in the Heworth area of Gateshead. It has free Wi-Fi, free parking on site, and is a 5-minute walk from Heworth Rail Station.

Rooms at The Maiden Motel are modern, with a flat-screen TV for guests to enjoy. Each also offers facilities for making tea and coffee.

A range of drinks are available in the bar, and the pub also shows all major sporting events. There is frequent entertainment to enjoy, including karaoke on Fridays and a DJ on Saturdays.

Central Gateshead is 3 miles from the building, and Newcastle city centre is 4 miles away. A discounted taxi service is also available to guests.
Picture of Maiden Motel, Gateshead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just right for what we required very friendly staff

Reviewed by
Andy Dennis

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Hmm.. Basic. Beds a bit lumpy, pillows anaemic. No coffee/milk on arrival but fair dos got a jug of milk and some coffee on request. Just a single towel, no bedside lights, no desk etc - It was ok for price I got it but many do much better. Place was quiet however (but for alarm going off at 10.30) emergency lighting not working! Did get fixed hopefully (take a torch)

Reviewed by
T Lanceley

From Whitchurch, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great little place and very friendly
A great place to stay would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
r watson

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

awful
There was a disco in the pub below us until gone twelve..the stairs were in darkness..and stank..the tv was large and working..thr mattresses were damp and uncomfortable..stains on the blinds ..bedding poor quality..but reasonably clean..carpet cleanish. Bathroom big and clean ..

Reviewed by
Simon B

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for Money
All basic elements are provided. It would have been better if the shower curtain was there. No other complain.

Reviewed by
Anura Wimalagunaratnalage

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For the price i suppose it wasn't too bad, but wouldn't stay again!!!

Reviewed by
D NIGHTINGALE

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic room for a one stop night.
No peroblems here, Would stay again.
Make sure you take tea, coffee, milk and a spoon with you as only kettle and cups are provided.

Reviewed by
David F

From Darwen, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really not as bad as people make out
I read a lot of reviews before staying here and it honestly wasn't that bad at all, especially for what you are paying. The rooms were clean, as were the bathrooms. The only annoying thing was that the shower head was attached to the taps so you have to hold it as you shower and there wasnt any hand wash in the toilets. Apart from that it was totally fine.
We went as a group of 8 and we had 3 of the 4 rooms, and we just had a little party floor basically. We were on a night out so never heard any noise from the pub and by the time we got home it was shut anyway. The entrance into the back is broken and has no light so we just got the taxi drivers to shine their lights on it for us so we didnt fall!

Reviewed by
A Reid

From South Queensferry, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok
Cheap. But no idea where to leave key in morning. Bed was bad. T.v no remote. Kettle and cups but no tea or coffee.

Reviewed by
a bain

From newcastle upon tyne, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap & Cheerful
Room was very basic 3 beds which is what we needed but the blind in the room was broken and there was a kettle and cups but no tea, coffee or milk to be able to make a warm drink. It was OK for what we needed which was somewhere to be able to sleep after a great night in Newcastle, there was no mirror in our room which for 3 girls who wanted to do hair and make up for a night out was not very good, my thoughts would be get rid of the big samsung flat screens and put extra things in the room like mirrors and tea and coffee would make more sense

Reviewed by
K Hill

From York, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next