No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Paragon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
145 ALCESTER STREET , BIRMINGHAM, B12 0PJ
Situated in the vibrant Irish Quarter the Paragon Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from Birmingham's centre, the Bullring shopping centre and a 5 minute drive from the ICC. This impressive Victorian hotel offers traditional home-cooked food in The Princess Helena Restaurant, and our cosy Naylor’s Bar offers a great range of beverages and light snacks to suit all. Free Wi-Fi and car parking is available for all guests.

With close links to all major motorways and just a 20 minute drive to the NEC and Birmingham International Airport, the Paragon hotel is the ideal place to stay whether staying for business or leisure.

Please note that though a multimillion pound refurbishment is underway,due care has been taken to ensure that there will be no disturbance to guests whatsoever nor any disruption to our normal services.
Picture of The Paragon Hotel, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 428 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
39% recommended this accommodation to a friend 43% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

awful hotel
Well what can I say, I wasn't expecting the hilton but oh my.
Firstly walking down the hallway all you can smell is smoke from the other rooms. Corridor dirty looks like it hadn't seen bleach in a while. Now onto the room itself TV doesn't work doesn't even switch on. Kettle filled with calcium diposites that make it impossible to make a cup of tea. Mould on the ceiling pillows stained with some sort of red something... yuck. not worth showering as you feel dirtier after leaving. avoid this place at all costs

Reviewed by
Sarah A

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the best place to stay at
I had the room for 2 days but was so dirty, beds was not clean, shower dirty that I had to leave the room the next day. Paid for 2 days stayed for 1. So got a hotel elsewhere. Dont recommend this hotel. Shame really as paid for 2 days and only stayed the 1.

Reviewed by
Aadil Naseem

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent hotel, free parking, free wifi
What an excellent hotel. It's huge, lovely restaurant and a beautiful foyer. It's only a few minutes drive to the city centre.

Reviewed by
t hussain

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hotel has great potential but has not quite achieved what it could. It feels souless.
The Hotel has great potential, unfortunately it felt quite cold and soulless. Whilst taking into account the low price gained the rooms were in a poor shape with ash in the soap dish, not very pleasant. The general reception, foyer, bar areas all felt very sterile and quite uninviting.
The finishes have not been attended to properly so areas (particularly the ceilings) look cheap, stained and inappropriate for the type of building (they look like a job lot from an old office block)
In general my stay was ok, but with some effort this grand old building could be turned into a good hotel.

Reviewed by
Shane Pearson-Giddings

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Paragon Hotel
Ended up staying for 2 night didn't mind paying £28 but the second night paid £55 thought the hotel looked nothing like the pictures it looked like a run down hotel but you get what you pay for I guess.

Reviewed by
Natasha V

From Malpas, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

False advertising
The pictures of the rooms on the website are not the same as the room they actually give you?? The room was advertised as original price of £120.00 If I had paid that, I would have been devastated!!
Luckily we did get it cheaper through laterooms.com The only way to sum up this room is think 'Youth Hostel'. Will never stay there again!!

Reviewed by
K D

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Paragon Hotel
Nothing special but for what I paid for it was clean and everything you could want for that amount in that part of the city. Very pleased and plesantly surprised.

Reviewed by
Jude S

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Leak
Me and my friends had a lovely stay at this hotel. The staff on the front desk were very welcoming and seem happy to work. However when we got up to the rooms my friends room had this wired smell and the shower didn't really look appealing to get a wash in. In the room me and my partner was staying in seemed to be a okay room just was a bit dark there was no large light just dim bedside lights. We didn't spend much time in the rooms so was a good value for money. In the morning my partner went to get a shower and found there was a leak in the celling above the shower and the front door. The staff was very helpful with this situation they gave me a half refund and was very apologetic.
Overall I think it was a good stay. If ever in Birmingham will probably stay there.

Reviewed by
Christy Tubi

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap so dont expect the hilton
so stayed had nice room, however had to be changed from first as electrics didnt work, did get free upgrade to a double. car park gets locked at 12 and they will open for you if you need before 5.30. not the best of areas but the building looks stunning as is down stairs. clean towels, bed and shower. worth 19 but then im used to hostles and am cheap.

Reviewed by
j john

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, clean room. only critiscm would be we had an adjoining room with people we didn't know and they were very loud but it didn't ruin our stay

Reviewed by
Jamie Vranjkovic

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next