No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Paragon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
145 ALCESTER STREET , BIRMINGHAM, B12 0PJ
Situated in the vibrant Irish Quarter the Paragon Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from Birmingham's centre, the Bullring shopping centre and a 5 minute drive from the ICC. This impressive Victorian hotel offers traditional home-cooked food in The Princess Helena Restaurant, and our cosy Naylor’s Bar offers a great range of beverages and light snacks to suit all. Free Wi-Fi and car parking is available for all guests.

With close links to all major motorways and just a 20 minute drive to the NEC and Birmingham International Airport, the Paragon hotel is the ideal place to stay whether staying for business or leisure.

Please note that though a multimillion pound refurbishment is underway,due care has been taken to ensure that there will be no disturbance to guests whatsoever nor any disruption to our normal services.
Picture of The Paragon Hotel, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 446 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
39% recommended this accommodation to a friend 42% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Paragon Hotel
Cheap and uncheerful. Bed was clean, shower was hot and TV worked - for £32 I didn't expect a lot and that was exactly what we got, not a lot. The car park was the worst I've ever seen in my life and walls are covered in damp. Don't stay here alone.

Reviewed by
Jessica H

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was fine - bathroom was a good size and new - however the standrd of the bathroom was disappointing - there was a tile missing grout which made it very sharp - the shower drain backed up and nearly flooded the room - the overall rooom was not very clean - very dusty the walls had marks from drinks - the bed was very uncomfortable as I think the mattress was old.

Reviewed by
A Jones

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Paragon Hotel
Bed was comfy, room was too dark, curtains were burnt from the electric heater under them. Bathroom floor was not particularly clean and the shower curtain had to be in an exact position to stop water going all over the floor. I understand that the hotel is undergoing renovation but the room did not feel as though it had been finished before it was put in to use.

Reviewed by
T James

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheep and cheerful
Staff were very friendly and helpful on check in. Room was very basic and needed updating, especially the bathroom. The double bed was positioned so you could only get out of it on one side (you couldnt walk along the bottom of the bed because it was too close to the wall). This resulted in my boyfriend having to get out of bed every time I needed the toilet! However, it was cheap and cheerful and suited our needs (we only needed to get out head down for the night). The hotel in general needed updating tbh and the grounds and carpark could do with the rubbish being picked up.

Reviewed by
r bentley

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Upgrade
The hotel is in serious need of upgrade. The room was cold when we entered but managed to get the heater working. Only one plug socket in the room to which the tv was plugged in, couldn't have the tv and kettle on at the same time. The rooms need more lighting too as we're very dimly lit at night.

Reviewed by
Darren C

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Paragon Hotel
staff very friendly & helpful, clean & tidy. food though served in the bar was very good and quick. I have no complates.

Reviewed by
Margaret H

From Crediton, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissapointed
There was no customer service at all during our stay. Upon arrival we were handed the key with very little interaction from the receptionist. Our TV could not maintain a decent picture due to lack of signal. When we approached reception and reported the fault. Response was we can't do anything about it...its a technical issue! The room was small but it was clean and the bathroom was too.
At breakfast we were greeted by a lady who appeared not to enjoy her job. Handed us a photocopied menu and told us we could order cooked breakfast. The problem was they did not have everything available on the list. The continental selection also had little choice.
Parking was inadequate. The car parks itself was opposite the hotel. It was dilapidated and unsecured. However my car remained in one piece.
No WiFi available in the building accept in the freezing cold lobby. But you had to ask for the password...reception probably would not be able to help you as it was a technical issue!
The only positive comment was the building itself was amazing. Full of features and had a very Gothic atmosphere. The lobby was massive, the halls were long and could have been from a film set.

Reviewed by
Clayton S

From , UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not for me
I needed to book a room at short notice. The foyer/reception was beautiful, unfortunately the room I was in was very shabby, but clean. The walls was very thin, and other occupants very noisy. I did not get a restful sleep. Although the picture of the hotel was very nice, I did not feel very comfortable in the surrounding area. The reception staff were very helpful, and booked me a cab to leave in the morning.

Reviewed by
May P

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No thrills is one thing!!!
For £32 I wasn't expecting much. The receptionists were nice enough although did not give out much voluntary information (wifi code, breakfast times/costs) on arrival. To be fair, another chap was compaining about the std of his room seeking an upgrade on arrival. When I came back to collect my suitcase he was also complaining about his upgrade room! The room was basic but had not been dusted of vacuumed for a while, dated furniture, old sash windows that didn't keep the cold out, damage to the bath tub, pubic hair on the bed clothes and a towel, the shower rail was broken with some white tape to secure it... Not even the toilet roll holder was screwed on properly! No thrills is one thing but this hotel took that description to another level. The car park was the first warning sign to be honest with absent sentry hut filled with rubbish and broken glass over the floors. Don't expect much if you're staying here!

Reviewed by
Stephen C

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Paragon Hotel
Wasn't like the pictures

Reviewed by
Ryan M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next