No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Paragon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
145 ALCESTER STREET , BIRMINGHAM, B12 0PJ
Situated in the vibrant Irish Quarter the Paragon Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from Birmingham's centre, the Bullring shopping centre and a 5 minute drive from the ICC. This impressive Victorian hotel offers traditional home-cooked food in The Princess Helena Restaurant, and our cosy Naylor’s Bar offers a great range of beverages and light snacks to suit all. Free Wi-Fi and car parking is available for all guests and throughout Summer 2014 guests receive a 25% voucher off food and drink purchased during their stay (until 31st August), exclusions apply.

With close links to all major motorways and just a 20 minute drive to the NEC and Birmingham International Airport, the Paragon hotel is the ideal place to stay whether staying for business or leisure.
Picture of The Paragon Hotel, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 315 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
42% recommended this accommodation to a friend 45% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly staff, good offer, very basic tho
you get what ya pay for, not as bad as some people say it is, but still very old fashioned and basic,

Reviewed by
Mark M

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
This is the third time I have stayed at this hotel. It is very pleasant without being outstanding, but for the price and location it's very good value. The breakfast is very enjoyable too. The hotel needs some tlc but it is an old building but on the whole it's great value for money and I would stay here again. Ideal location for watching cricket at edgebaston

Reviewed by
Paul Limmer

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Glad it was only one night
I believe that the pictures used on late rooms was of a different hotel. The stairs and corridors are very dingy and in dire need of a good clean, the room was clean but needed painting, the bed was so old that you could only sleep in the middle and there was mould in the shower, plus the shower head was held together with some form of tape. I am glad I was only there for one night.

Reviewed by
Andrew W

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

traditional hotel
I thought the hotel had an old fashioned charm. The room had been refurbished and was very clean.
Nice bathroom but lacked little sensible touches. It had no hook or towel rail to hold a towel or dressing gown, so these were dropped on the floor. No shelf to even put a toothbrush on, so the toothbrush was balancing on the edge of the sink (not very hygienic!)
The room needed a chair or two (nowhere to sit!)
These amendments would not be expensive but they should be standard.

Reviewed by
gordon b

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff friendly and but unfortunately this hotel is in immediate need of refurbishment.
The bathroom was very dirty, the shower box cover was loose exposing the inner workings and the floor was filthy.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

Reviewed by
C Woods

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic
Considering the price we paid it was acceptable, after asking for the carpet to be hoovered as it was filthy. I would have been disgusted had I paid the full price.
Very basic twin room.
WARNING, the top of the hanging rail over the case shelf has a very sharp corner as my husband found out as he stood up after getting something out his case. the gash in his head was still bleeding several hours later.

Reviewed by
jean s

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I felt extremely intimidated as a single woman in this hotel. I feel this hotel is not suitable for people in Birmingham on buisness or people holdiaying in Birmingham. I got the impression this hotel is used for temporary accommodation!

Reviewed by
Sally D

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant surprise
Stayed here twice now and think its fab. Rooms are dated but gives the place a lovely character. If you're the type of person who spends £35 on a room and then sulks when its not the Ritz then you'll probably leave with a face like a chicken laying razors, but personally think this place is a little gem

Reviewed by
Andrew R

From Rhyl, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only book if they is nowhere else but even then sleep in the street
Absolutely appalled at state of the hotel I do know the hotel is getting renovated but the room that I was staying in was poor their was grease stains on the wall not enough socket to plug in to and the location of the hotel is in industrial state and when leaving the hotel I felt unsafe .PS In the corridors they were flys evewhere

Reviewed by
chris morton

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was given wrong room as wasn't very clean
Only got a last minute cheap deal for a night out. So paid £40 for 2 of us. We discovered next day given then wrong room, should of have twin beds. There was a wet towel left in the shower and bathroom looked a bit grim. Walls are paper thin could hear about "Kevin's wedding" for 45mins in through the wall in the morning. The lights were dim so couldnt apply make up very well as we arrived when dark. I want to say get what ou pay for but clean shower and decent lighting wouldn't go a miss. Would stay again but wouldn't be first day, like to think this was a "one off"

Reviewed by
D Scott

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next