No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Paragon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
145 ALCESTER STREET , BIRMINGHAM, B12 0PJ
Situated in the vibrant Irish Quarter the Paragon Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from Birmingham's centre, the Bullring shopping centre and a 5 minute drive from the ICC. This impressive Victorian hotel offers traditional home-cooked food in The Princess Helena Restaurant, and our cosy Naylor’s Bar offers a great range of beverages and light snacks to suit all. Free Wi-Fi and car parking is available for all guests and throughout Summer 2014 guests receive a 25% voucher off food and drink purchased during their stay (until 31st August), exclusions apply.

With close links to all major motorways and just a 20 minute drive to the NEC and Birmingham International Airport, the Paragon hotel is the ideal place to stay whether staying for business or leisure.
Picture of The Paragon Hotel, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 360 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
41% recommended this accommodation to a friend 44% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shower was very hard to set, too hot or ice cold no in between settings. Television lost signal on BBC channels very often.

Reviewed by
K Jackson

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not to the picture standard. Checked in and checked out within hours. Room moulded

Reviewed by
Nolwazi N

From Tilbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very faded grandeur
this must have been a beautiful hotel some years ago, but it has been allowed to deteriorate. There is a feeling of neglect in it. The staff were helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
Sebastian L

From Kingsbridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value
Excellent choice for value hotel (free car parking). Rooms were clean with tea, coffee TV etc. The location means it was a 10 to 15 minute walk to get near to the city centre but, at these prices, you could afford a taxi if you wanted!

Reviewed by
Graham W

From Kidlington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Paragon
Would not recommend unless as a very last resort!
Chandelier in main lobby area outside reception was leaking. We had a faulty fire alarm where the hotel manager knocked on our door thinking that we were smoking in the room. Had 2 miss calls on the room landline in the middle of the night. Shoddy shower with very slow drainage system, my feet were drowned in the water. The TV was out of date, tiny and only had 5 channels.
Only positive, the reception staff were nice.

Reviewed by
Kamran U

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good

Reviewed by
S Kamath

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is currently being refurbished, the ground floor is quite nice however the rooms although reasonably clean had damp on the walls. Also they currently have a large number of refugees staying at the hotel.

Reviewed by
Paul B

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good hotel for the price
Hotel a little further from station than implied by site, but a good building, which on the side we were on looked out into the city and an attractive park.
All basics provided, save for a television remote control (not that we really needed it).
Decor pretty dated and limited lighting in the room but overall a very comfortable place to stay, and a good deal for the price.
No experience of the food as the provided no vegetarian options on the nights we stayed so opted to eat in town.

Reviewed by
Luke R

From Ilkeston, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone!
Stayed at the Paragon in Digbeth last Friday as my Husband and I were attending a surprise Birthday party in the area. I'll get to the point, the front of the hotel was full of about 6 guys on their mobile phones and from the roadside looking up to the top of the building were lit up windows with naked women in! I was in shock but dumped my bags and went to my friends surprise party. The reception was ok, bit rough round the edges but receptionist busy but pleasant. The hall way to the room was grotty, old and dirty. The room wasn't much better with plaster hanging off the wall, curtains half burnt and the carpets were filthy. Once upon a time it must have been renovated as the fixtures looked modern but were knackerd. Got back to the hotel at midnight and it was utter carnage! Drunken people running around the corridors, almost every room on our floor was having 'a party' the walls were very thin and I could hear every but of 'business activity' going on in this hotel. Ladies were knocking on our door all night, drunks also knocking on every door they walked past, it was quite intimidating and I couldn't wait to get out of there! We talked to the receptionist in the morning and he said we should have called him and he could have 'dealt' with the noisy customers but I told him I got the impression the whole hotel was like this! For a last minute £35 room only deal I wasn't expecting much but I certainly wasn't expecting is to be this bad. I don't normally bother to write reviews but this was just so awful that I felt compelled to share the experience with anyone even considering a night in this hell hole.

Reviewed by
Robyn Myers

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good value for the money
the room was small but adequate, very clean with teat coffee and a packet of biscuits for the morning. free parking is a bonus for Birmingham.
The bed was very comfortable.
The only draw back was that other people staying were loud throughout the night and the walls a little thin.

Reviewed by
Mark W

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next