No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grapes Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Scaling Dam, Easington, Scaling Dam, TS13 4TP
A comfortable and welcoming traditional country Inn set in the North Yorkshire Moors. With our location being just 10 miles from the historic fishing port of Whitby we are well positioned to explore the moors and 'Heartbeat' country as well as the Cleveland Way and coast.
Picture of The Grapes Inn, Scaling Dam at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The location of the hotel was good. Accomadation poor, service acceptable, service in dinning room, could do with some training for presentation

Reviewed by
david fox

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No Sour Grapes
We had three nights at the Grapes Inn. If you are travelling by car it is ideal for visiting the North Yorkshire Coast and Moors. The Inn itself is old and a lot of effort is being made to make it a pleasant stop, as it was originally in times gone by. The room we had was small but clean and pleasant and the bed comfortable. The Landlord and his wife were very welcoming and always willing to assist in any way. Bar and restaurant staff were also pleasant and helpful. You could have anything you wished from the breakfast and the evening meals were excellent and plentiful. This Inn is what it claims to be - a staging post. If that’s what you want it is ideal.

Reviewed by
Vince Mathieson

From Motherwell, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grapes Inn Experience
Thank you to the hosts of the Grapes Inn who made our stay a wonderfully relaxing experience. Beautiful landscape, very peaceful and tranquil. Lovely roaring fire to welcome us and the food was fabulous. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they went the extra mile to make sure are stay was comfortable.

Reviewed by
P Woode

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very small room, not very clean no hot water for the shower.

Reviewed by
David Roche

From Eyemouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reputed to be haunted, its not, its deserted!!
If you are planning a trip to this area then forget this place. I note the excuse from earlier in the year that the owners had only recently taken over, well not a lot has changed. It dirty, dark and coming apart at the seams. It has the feel of an unloved boot. The front area is full of weeds. The room leading to the corridor to rooms smells badly of damp. Whilst the bed was clean, and has to be said comfortable, the room itself was barely big enough to swing a cat in. The shower was quite simply awful. Like trying to wash in drizzle. Sleep was interrupted on numerous occasions during the nigh due to macerator toilets being used in other rooms, yes you can hear them every time regardless of room. Also a louder motor cranked up until at fever pitch a number of times.
Room also full of spiders and cobwebs so don't stay here if you are Arachnophobic. We left a homemade salad in a sealed container in the guest fridge in the corridor only to find it gone the next morning. When we quizzed the owner he claimed to have put it in his own fridge for safe keeping. He supposedly went off to retrieve it only to return 5 minutes later with an empty container saying it had been thrown out, downright bizarre!! He did reimburse 10 pounds but still very strange behavior.
At breakfast he apologised for the lack of real coffee explaining that his coffee roaster in DEVON had gone on holiday without telling him. Coffee instead was from a Nescafe mound on a plate and a pot of boiling water. Breakfast was mediocre, under-cooked bacon, and sausage that tasted like sandy breadcrumbs.
Given that we booked this place to some extent based on previous reviews on this site i am concerned by the authenticity of said reviews. I travel constantly and can honestly say this is the worst places i have stayed in a long number of years. They need to call in Gordon Ramsey!!!

Reviewed by
David K

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

was a lovley place to stay very clean and tidy food was excellent would stay again although the locals could have had a bit more consideration toward the owners places like this do not cater just for them as thats what they thought

Reviewed by
M Barker

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mark and Lynn made us very welcome, nice comfy room, pub its self very old and rustice , food great.
If ever we are up that way again will certainly call in .

Reviewed by
A Pearson

From Cleckheaton, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly welcome
Spent one night on way back from visiting universities. Great breakfast, willing chef who cooked me tasty gluten free supper. Great old building with lovely open fire, v cosy.
Some updating of building required and in progress.
Comfortable and quiet.

Reviewed by
Mary B

From Glossop, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.