No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Travelodge Newcastle Central

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
FORSTER STREET , NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE1 2NH
Located right in the heart of the city, the Newcastle Central Hotel is a great place to stay for those wanting to explore this vibrant centre and all of its attractions. This hotel is only half a mile from both Newcastle train station and the city centre. Newcastle Airport is also conveniently close, at 7 miles distance, but those who want to stay on the doorstep of this major transport hub may want to consider our Newcastle Airport Hotel.

The prime location of this hotel makes it perfect for city breaks, with the Metro Centre just 2.5 miles away, whilst football fans will be happy to know Newcastle United Football Club is based only a mile away.

Early/Late Check-In/Out Service – if you’re looking to make the most of your day we can offer an Early Check-In service from 12:00noon and a Late Check-Out Service until 2pm so you have more time to relax - cost is £10 per service, per room, subject to availability - bookable direct by telephoning the hotel.

For guests wishing to bring domestic pets please visit our website www.travelodge.co.uk for more detail on charges and terms and conditions. Please note that Guide dogs, Hearing dogs, and other animals to aid disability are exempt from charge.
Picture of Travelodge Newcastle Central, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 89 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Graet Value
Bit unfair to judge cleanliness as reception is being refurbished so obvious dust around. This hotel though is excellent value and recommended.

Reviewed by
David B

From Henlow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One word ... dreadful!
Totally chaotic. Just want to forget this awful experience.

Reviewed by
N Preston

From Frizington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The lady from reception Justine was very helpful and very welcoming. I was very pregnant at the time and my room was on the top floor, Justine helped me and my 2 children to the top and carried my very heavy luggage. The family room was very clean and well facilitated. Also was just a 15min walk to the town centre. Would highly recommend :)

Reviewed by
D Gardiner

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brief break
On arrival we had to wait a short while for room to be ready, which was probably due to the fact we arrived on a bank holiday, the room was a bit of a hike to get to due to the layout of the hotel, but the staff made up for that, the chamber maid in particular was helpfull and friendly.

Reviewed by
philip m

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average accommodation - terrible food
The room was okay and the bed was comfortable, but the rest of the experience was not what we expected. We decided to eat in the 'restaurant' on the evening we arrived - a party of 4 people. 3 received their meals and one came well after the others had finished. Moreover, the "chicken and bacon salad" was almost inedible with pieces of almost dried meat amongst some wilted leaves, in a very small (breakfast cereal sized) bowl. This was on the menu at £7.65.
Basically, if you want a comfortable bed (albeit in a hot room where you can't open the window) then this is fine and some of Travelodge's deals mean it represents a very good price nationally. But, try to eat elsewhere. Also, some of the staff can be a bit rude when dealing with your requests, so do your best to haggle a discount some way or another if you get this.

Reviewed by
A Brown

From Evesham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another quality stay. Great hotel and great staff as always :)
This is the second time I've used your hotel, second time because I enjoyed it so much the first time.
I stayed here previous when down with my girlfriend and we had a great stay and were moved room when booking in as when we were asked if we were down for a stag weekend, when we replied no we were moved to the quiet part of the hotel ( outstanding service ) so as to avoid any noise.
We had our night out and when we returned we decided to have a nightcap in the hotel bar. We were then entertained with some great card tricks by your barman Adrian and we stayed up for a few more hours such was the great time we were having.
The exact same thing happened on our trip last weekend when we had the same courtesy shown when booking in and also when we returned after we had been to see our show. Adrian is a real star and should be commended for his appetite to go that little but extra for customers.
A great hotel with great welcoming staff and will I stay here again ? Of course i will and look forward to seeing Babs, Gary and Adrian once more.
10 out of 10 in my book, keep up the fantastic work :)

Reviewed by
George E

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location - Referbishment in progress
The travellodge was in a great spot, just a couple of minutes walk from the quayside. The staff were really helpful, gave me very good directions. Room was large and spacious, bath wasn't clean which was a shame. And the view was awful but that's to be expected.
There was a major Referbishment in progress during our stay which would have been fine except we had to walk through a corridor where they were working which wasn't great. And there was the smell of paint which was very discomforting. It was a big disappointment that this was happening whilst we were there (reception didn't mention it)

Reviewed by
p yardley

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value for money
Clean, basic, comfortable, great service, everything you need for a mini break with the family

Reviewed by
angela hendrick

From beaminster, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

'24hr Food'
Bed had springs sticking out, sink dirty. I asked the barman at 2am if I could order pizza as we were sitting having a drink and he said 'no' - so much for food 24hrs a day!! The reception staff were lovely, very polite and helpful as were the breakfast staff.

Reviewed by
Jillian M

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but relatively cheap for a girls weekend away.

Reviewed by
L Bell

From Bathgate, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next