No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Winelodge 107 Bar & Canteen

4Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
105-107 BRIDGE ROAD , LOWESTOFT, NR32 3LN
Winelodge 107 Bar & Canteen is modern stylish accommodation situated 100mtrs away from the main Winelodge Hotel building. Its location is just a few yards from the Norfolk Broads and Yacht Marina and boasts it's own stylish Restaurant & Bar with great food & real ale offerings. Our wine list is full and varied with wines from around the globe plus a selection of fantastic champagne and sparkling wines. Wi-Fi Internet is available throughout our accommodation for those who need to keep in touch.
Parking for 50 cars is located at the Main Hotel 100mtrs away.
Picture of Winelodge 107 Bar & Canteen, LOWESTOFT at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 80 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
56% recommended this accommodation to a friend 57% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was good value for money and easy train service into lowestoft

Reviewed by
M Smith

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for! Cheap but our room was up some fire exit stairs above the bins!!! We also were told there was parking, however it was full so had to leave it 20mins away. We wouldn't stay there again but good for young people on the night out.

Reviewed by
L Enright

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good clean accommodation in excellent location @ the right price
Would recommend to anyone !!

Reviewed by
richard h

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
On first appearances this hotel looks amazing, was really looking forward to my stay. This soon changed on arrival. I was told I was staying in a sub section of the hotel 5 minute walk down the road. That was fine, on arrival after a 5 minute walk I entered the bar/canteen and asked to be directed to my room. I was told "its around the back", this where my information stopped. After climbing the metal spiral stairs and luckily picking the correct door I found my room.
On entering my room I was pleasantly surprised. It was clean and very well presented. After a 4 hour drive I fancied a shower unfortunately the light in the bathroom did not work. However after tracking someone down this was fixed after an hour or so. After my shower I thought id have a lay down !! Bed broken, base had collapsed. It wasn't until it got dark did i realised just how important curtains would have been to block out the bright orange glow from the street lights, the slatted blinds just were not up for the job. But at this stage I didn't want to bother anyone else as I felt it would appear I was being to fussy. Be warned there is no plumbing in the sub section hotel !!! saniflow system that sounds like a old fashioned car horn with a cold, goes off every time someone uses the toilet, taps or shower !!! so basically every 5-10 mins. I will say this though when I reported the broken bed it was fixed on my arrival back from work that evening, so total result.
Needless to say wont be staying there again.

Reviewed by
TONY D

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The most disgusting service I have ever experienced
On arrival at the Winelodge Bar and Restaurant on Tuesday 24th September 2014 I checked in with a very nice lady who worked behind the bar. She informed me that I would have to walk over to the 107 Canteen, which I already knew I would have to do, after reading this online. What I was not prepared for was to use a very dark rear staircase entrance to the building because according to the website 'LateRooms.com', this was no longer going to be used after August 2014. I found this experience rather intimidating and scary because there was hardly any light available and I was horrified to see that the entrance door to the hallway where the rooms are, was not locked or had any sort of safety system in place. As far as I can see, anybody could walk up to the rear entrance staircase and stand in the hallway. I find this unacceptable, and as a female travelling alone, this was a very unnerving experience. I looked on your website and it states that "all room and main doors are security protected", this is not true as the main door was not security protected in the slightest.
On arriving at my room, I found that there was a keypad system to open the door and I was given this code by the nice lady over at the restaurant. I had to assume that once inside the room, the door could not be opened from the outside, although I could not have been 100% sure. It would have been nice to have some information in the room to confirm that my thinking was correct, i.e. that once in the room, the door could not be opened from the outside. It also would be nice to see a manual lock or chain on the door, for piece of mind at night whilst in the room because the back door is open for anybody to walk in and this made me feel unsafe. I also found it unnerving that the room had no information regarding who to call in an emergency or to ask questions, however there was a leaflet showing local shop alcohol deals...this was of no help to me! I was not given any information regarding the wifi code either, so without internet signal, how was I supposed to find a number to contact somebody if there was a problem?
Inside my room I found that the bathroom light did not work and that the toilet cistern made a loud whooshing noise once every half an hour which made me jump. I noticed that when the toilet was flushed or if the tap was used, it made this horrible noise also.
The bed in the room was a divan style bed, which was nice and comfortable, however, there appeared to be a large patch of black mould or a stain of some description on the divan part, on the right hand side. It looked very unsightly and if it was indeed black mould, it could be potentially dangerous to people's health.
I have to say that overall I was disappointed and my stay and it certainly wasn't a "pleasurable experience" as your website states. I hope you will take my comments on board and act on these. Sadly whilst I was staying at the Canteen I didn't feel I could raise my concerns with anybody over at the Winelodge Restaurant because I was too frightened to leave my room and as the reception at the hotel was shut, and no contact telephone number, I felt there was nothing I could do to rectify the situation myself.
I would very much like to hear back from somebody soon so I can be sure that my comments have been taken seriously and that steps will be taken to rectify these problems.

Reviewed by
E Bevan

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wine Lodge Lowestoft
Clean and tidy as it is on a main road did suffer from traffic noise,very close to oulton broad and local shops.Had a pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
T Goodhead

From Bexhill on Sea, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I have put a complaint into the Winelodge.

Reviewed by
m tickner

From leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Town or Country Break at Lowestoft
Excellent position for access to both town or countryside.
Everything was spotless, and the service could not be faulted.
The room I had was on the small side, but lacked nothing.
I would recommend it to my friends.

Reviewed by
B Graham

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The 107 bar was not open on arrival so you had to go to the wine lodge for advice that was 150 meters along the road Their was no receptionist at the desk so you had to go to the bar were a bar man gave you a code for the door but did not explain how to gain access so you had to return to the wine lodge and be told you had to go to the rear of the building and go up a external metal fire escape to get to your room I complained and asked for a refund I was told they could not do that I left my details for the manger to call me but they did not bother this was not a hotel it was a room

Reviewed by
j mcmullan

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wish i'd read reviews before i booked.
My first concern was the steep iron steps leading to the accommodation, secondly the security seemed lax as the outside door was unlocked and we were not given a key. We were given a code to enter our room,on entering the door handle was loose. We then checked reviews on Trip Advisor and were disgusted with many of the reviews concerning security, drunks in hallway, rooms double booked and people being disturbed by others entering the rooms as the codes had not been changed. My wife was frightened by this and immediately booked a room elsewhere. I went straight back to reception and told them our concerns and told them we would not be staying. I had hoped that a manager would have been in contact with me by now but other reviews inform me that they do not respond to complaints. Shocking!

Reviewed by
Nick B

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next