Reviews - Claude Gibb


Northumbria University City Campus, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, NE1 8SU

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (15)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Peter L

  • July 2015

handy central location

The parking fee came a something of a surprise an negatively affected the value for money score.

  • S Haigh

  • June 2015

The magic weekend

It was very nice and not far from the football ground as we came for the rugby league magic weekend and we enjoyed it.

And I would stay again.

  • Mark B

  • September 2014

Good room

You get what it says on the tin a Student room with shared facilities.

Room very clean, warm and quiet. Breakfast excellent staff friendly. Convenient for shops and Newcastle City Centre. Could do with an area to meet other guests.

  • K Galvin

  • September 2014

Great value with everything I needed

Excellent location for Great North Run start point.

Didn't expect the fantastic breakfast with both hot and cold food. Ate a little too much. The room is basic and the bed not so comfy,but there were some nice touches like tea and coffee facilities, guides to Newcastle, free wifi or cabled internet, and a toiletries bag including a face cloth, shampoo, shower gel and soap. Check in was a bit confused and we got sent up the wrong flight of stairs when the lift was broken, but they were friendly enough. Shared bathroom (3 shower/toilet facilities per corridor of about 10 rooms). Never had to queue and good and clean. There is a sink in the room also. The campus is deserted at the times the accommodation is available, but it is a 5 minute walk to the main shopping area and loads of cafes and bars. Excellent value and would certainly stay again.

  • Neil W

  • September 2014

Excellent City Centre Room For The Single Traveller

Hi stayed here for the weekend of The Great North Run.

The room and facilities were spotlessly clean and for the single traveller on a budget, provided an excellent option. The breakfast was of good quality and plentiful portions. Would definitely stay again.

  • C gray

  • September 2014

Food was avaliable but I can't comment as I didn't use this service

Late check was given without extra fee and without asking I received an email to advise checkout was 5 pm this was excellent as I was in town to take part in great north run

Would defiantly book this agian also for its location as it is very central to travel links

  • Janet J

  • September 2014

Close to the run!!

I stayed at the Claude gibb as I was running the great nort run half marathon.

No frills accommodation but ideal location as it was only a ten minute walk to the course. Would definitely use the accommodation again:-)

  • Derek Ralphs

  • September 2014

a good stay



  • J Park

  • August 2014

What a nice place for the price

It was very calm and cozy place as not many people stay then.

Customer service satisfied me but the only I'd like to tell is the reception is closed at 9:30pm, although I didn't check in, which made me feel a little bit awkward. So, it would be great if this is corrected.

  • lesley g

  • July 2014

A good breakfast saved the day

I felt that the accommodation was fairly basic, and a little uninviting.

A coat of fresh paint may have brightened up the drabness of the room. The breakfast, however, was plentiful, and the staff friendly. The room cost seems excessive for what it is - saved only by the good breakfast provided.