Reviews - Ye Olde Kings Head


Ye Olde Kings Head, 48-50 Lower Bridge Street,, Chester, CH1 1RS

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (47)

94% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Dave N

  • October 2015

Tired, old fashioned boozer with rooms

Sorry owners, but you need to take a good look at the opposition.

Your building is beautiful and could be a premium destination, but at the moment it's a tired old English boozer with tatty carpets, bad decor, and a general feeling of neglect. The staff try but they are scruffy. Not even a 2 star experience.

  • I Wiseman

  • October 2015

comfy bed

Beautiful bedding in rooms, very comfortable bed.

Stayed early in the week, had to change rooms to the back of the hotel as my husband is a very light sleeper and the building in on a main road could be a problem for some people staying at the weekend as they have live music on. Due to the age of the building the windows are single glazed and yes ok other reviews mention the shower isn't powerful but it's not as bad as some are making out. Stayed 2nights breakfast on1st morning was overdone, beautifully cooked second!!!!. Very friendly staff. Would stay again lots of character

in the building very quirky after staying in lots of corporate hotels would choose character everytime..

  • L Yates

  • September 2015

Enjoyed Our Stay At Olde Kings Head

Lovely hotel, friendly staff and overall enjoyed our stay.

Room was nicely decorated, not over big but absolutely fine. the only thing it didn't have was a hairdryer which might be a nice addition to be considered. With regard to it being haunted we heard a few creeks and movements etc and felt like there was someone following my partner down the stairs on one occasion. Can't comment on breakfast as we slept in and missed it. Would stay again and absolutely perfect location to town centre


  • September 2015

Gluten free?? Yeh, but nah!!!

Great place, neat olde worlds, haunted ambience.

Wonderful historic setting, with expected level of accommodation & facilities. Shame about the promised gluten free bread at breakfast. May seem small, but it was a big let down for us. We emailed in advance checking GF availability & were assured it would be arranged 'no problem'. On check in, without prompting, it was confirmed GF was on our reservation. Yet when we arrived for brekkie "the bakery delivery hasn't arrived yet, it'll be here soon." After a 20min wait, "the delivery man forgot your GF bread". Fair enough - "we'll make sure you have some tomorrow." Wait for it... Next day...NO GF bread, and the new waiting & kitchen staff on duty knew nothing about it. Was it really the delivery man forgetting, or the hotel staff???. Small things have a big impact!!

  • C Mcguire

  • September 2015

Excellent service and has a amazing stay

Our stay was exclent excellent food and very pleasant staff nothing is a problem to them to help would defo stay again in fact we came home and booked again


  • August 2015

lovely old pub in Chester

excellent base for a short break in Chester, in the centre near the river, lovely old building,

we stayed in room 6 a large four poster double

  • N Hale

  • August 2015

Quirky stay

Lovely historical place with lovely staff.

Didn't realise the haunted tales before we stayed so was a little creeped out. Great location and value for money- lovely freshly cooked breakfast. Rooms appeared all different due to the nature of the building. We were in room 8 which was small but adequate. Unfortunately the shower was less powerful than the tap and could feel the springs in the bed but we didn't let it ruin our stay and was glad no goings on happened!!!!

  • Tony M

  • August 2015

Visit to Chester

Pleasant stopover right in in the centre of Chester city.

Very friendly and helpful staff, very old interesting Inn with bags of history. Useful carpark at rear (£10 extra). The room (Room 5) was OK, the en suite shower room is very modern and tasteful, but the Shower had zero water pressure and not really functional, which was a pity.

  • Michael M

  • August 2015

Four friends Heywood

We had a great stay staff were very helpful no fridge in room but they gave us a glass of ice for our room drink.Sunday lunch and breakfast was ok but we've had better.would definitely stay again.

  • Michelle H

  • July 2015

Inn with a difference

Excellent stay with very friendly staff.

Interesting place to stay with lots of history and spirits . Would definitely stay again . Thank you