No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ye Olde Kings Head

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Ye Olde Kings Head, 48-50 Lower Bridge Street, , Chester, CH1 1RS
The Kings Head is a traditional Inn built in 1622 on the west side of Lower Bridge Street. The name refers to when King Charles stayed at the nearby Gamul House during the English Civil War. Originally it was the town house for Peter the Clerk, the administrator of Chester Castle. It initially contained a section of the Chester Rows, but these were enclosed during the alterations made between the 15th and early 17th centuries. It is designated by English Heritage as a Grade II* listed building. With its deep history comes many tales of ghosts and sprits. Paranormal teams have carried out studies within the Inn for a number of years and believe there is up to thirteen sprits trapped within our walls. Since buying the business in March 2012 thousands of pounds has been spent trying to bring the Ye Olde Kings Head back to its former glory. In November 2012, the property had an extensive refurbishment throughout the bar and restaurant areas, every en-suite bathroom was also replaced and redecorated to a high standard keeping to the traditionally character of the building. So, why not sit back unwind and soak up the friendly atmosphere whilst savouring your favourite drink in front of one of our open fires; indulge in our freshly prepared meals all cooked in house to order from award winning locally sourced supplies cooked to traditionally British pub classics with a modern twist.
Picture of Ye Olde Kings Head, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantatic stay
My partner and myself stayed for one night. Food was amazing and the staff very friendly one to ten I would give a ten.

Reviewed by
nicola davies

From Caerphilly, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed for two nights. we had a great time ,made special by Jack and his team, meals top notch.
A good stay .we'll be back soon .thanks to all at hotel.

Reviewed by
paul butler

From thameside, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A short break
We were upgraded to room with four poster bed but did not see ghost! Very close to the town centre and the walls. Delighted with our stay and the food excellent and well presented.

Reviewed by
Pamela Berry

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Olde Worlde Charmes
It's a four hundred year old inn. That means that you can expect wood beams, strangely shaped rooms, uneven floors, tricky plumbing and (some say) ghosts.
The Ye Olde Kings Head offers all of these so if you are looking for a homogenised hotel-franchise experience you wont find it here. Instead you get a well presented room, modern and well-appointed but not ultra-modern and likely to be a little quirky. Most of those quirks wont bother you, and most will probably delight you, except perhaps the water pressure in the shower - which is barely adequate. The bed was comfortable and the noise from outside the antique windows didn't keep me from comfortable sleep. There were plenty of electrical sockets, even if the WiFi coverage didn't quite reach my room (I would suggest the owners invest in one or two WiFi extenders to improve this.)
The food is good, and can be very good, although the quality does vary a little. My partner and I had steaks and one was fine (and cooked just the way it should be) while the other was gristly and although properly cooked wasn't edible. The staff offered apologies and drinks as compensation and would have replaced the steak had the chef not already retired for the night. The breakfast is excellent - as it should be.
The staff worked very hard to fulfil all my needs as a traveller, and I was very happy with the attention they gave me.
In summary, I got everything I expected from this trip, it was very good value, and although I encountered no wandering spirits my own were well rested and lifted by the stay.

Reviewed by
Giles Williams

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ye Olde Kings Head
Excellent for a short stay in Chester. Very friendly and welcoming staff. Lovely old building.

Reviewed by
ANDREW K

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous!!
We stayed in room 6, lovely spacious room with four poster bed. The decor was in keeping with the period and it was extremely clean and luxurious. The owner and members of staff were so hospitable and the breakfast waiter was a real professional, nothing too much trouble and your comfort was their highest priority. There was a function in the room below which added to the atmosphere of staying in an inn. We loved it and will return, no doubt!

Reviewed by
Roz K

From Warwickshire, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chester is our Christmas ritual
As usual a lovely warm welcome at Ye Oldemail Kings Head, surprised this year no fires burning in the fireplaces though. It always set the scene for our Christmas getaway. Room 5 we were allocated this time and it was a decent room. Breakfast was smashing and the staff were lovely. Nice to see the function room up and running. Good place to stay, central to everything, safe car parking and friendly competent staff. You are doing a grand job . See you all again soon x Linda and Dave

Reviewed by
Linda Szymichowski

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

21/11/14
very welcoming and helpful staff. Perfect location for visiting chester.

Reviewed by
G Makepeace

From Bedworth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Full of character and a friendly atmosphere.
Warm welcome and lovely room. Perfectly situated for city visit. Room was spotless , beds were soo comfy and the only thing to let it down was the lack of pressure in the shower.

Reviewed by
Melonie Dickinson

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the only fault I had was the shower head in room 1 wasn't working I did report it late in the afternoon and it still wasn't done the next morning wen I checked out I did mention it again to the manager. The staff were very chatty and helpful well reccmmended this hotel

Reviewed by
Alison H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next