No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ye Olde Kings Head

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Ye Olde Kings Head, 48-50 Lower Bridge Street, , Chester, CH1 1RS
The Kings Head is a traditional Inn built in 1622 on the west side of Lower Bridge Street. The name refers to when King Charles stayed at the nearby Gamul House during the English Civil War. Originally it was the town house for Peter the Clerk, the administrator of Chester Castle. It initially contained a section of the Chester Rows, but these were enclosed during the alterations made between the 15th and early 17th centuries. It is designated by English Heritage as a Grade II* listed building. With its deep history comes many tales of ghosts and sprits. Paranormal teams have carried out studies within the Inn for a number of years and believe there is up to thirteen sprits trapped within our walls. Since buying the business in March 2012 thousands of pounds has been spent trying to bring the Ye Olde Kings Head back to its former glory. In November 2012, the property had an extensive refurbishment throughout the bar and restaurant areas, every en-suite bathroom was also replaced and redecorated to a high standard keeping to the traditionally character of the building. So, why not sit back unwind and soak up the friendly atmosphere whilst savouring your favourite drink in front of one of our open fires; indulge in our freshly prepared meals all cooked in house to order from award winning locally sourced supplies cooked to traditionally British pub classics with a modern twist.
Picture of Ye Olde Kings Head, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ye olde perfect
On arrival the accommodation was very charming, the staff were charming and the room were perfect. We had a roast dinner of pork there on the sunday which was fantastically presented and really fit well with the character of the place. We pre-ordered the roast to ensure they had some left which initially the staff weren't sure about but after checking with the chef were fine about. The only one minor downside was the shower which we had trouble with but apart from that everything else was perfect.
I must however stress that as it is a pub they have loud music on Fridays/Saturdays which sounded very good but just to be aware if you want a completely peaceful environment

Reviewed by
Carl Wainwright

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay loved the room & staff. only failt was shower - trickle of water. everything else was awi

Reviewed by
c hardy

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is exactly what you would expect it to be.
There are beautiful features and olde world charm with the beams and low ceilings etc. The bar is 'no frills' but it was open and the staff were friendly. The restaurant was fine, but finishes serving at 9pm, so just be careful. Menu was fine and the food was lovely.
All the staff we came accross we very pleasant and helpful.
The room itself was on the small side with very little space around the bed; as was the en-suite, but in this type of property you have to expect things like that. The room was also stiflingly hot and even with the window open there was no relief from it!
There is parking avalable at the rear, buut to take advantage of it you have to book in advance - we weren't aware of that so went on a parking space hunt at 8pm on a Saturday night!! They will also do a deal on the breakfast if you book the parking so worth giving them a call about it first.
Overall was value for money and although we would consider staying there again, but would look for somewhere with bigger bedrooms first.

Reviewed by
A Cooper

From High Peak, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

unfortunatly not able to stay in hotel as informed the day before arrival that they couldnt let the rooms out and we had to be relocated. It was a total nightmare although they did find us accomadation across the road we had to pay the extra cost and the accomadation was terrible.Would have loved to have stayed at the ye old oak as the pub downstairs was very good.

Reviewed by
christine t

From Hebburn, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay other than the fact that the radiator couldn't be turned off and the room was right on a busy main road so it was a fairly noisy nights sleep.. luck of the drawer though, we choose the hotel for its character so can't be too fussy with original single glazed windows and temperamental heating! Lovely room, apparently haunted but we didn't meet anybody ;-)

Reviewed by
Rebecca R

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful - but uncomfortable!
We stayed in the beautiful and atmospheric four poster room. The bottom line really is that despite its wonderful Tudor design and decor, the bed and pillows were like sleeping on rocks. It's such a shame because that small detail really spoiled what would otherwise be a lovely stay. Such an easy thing to fix, as well. We are not particularly fussy (we weren't students that long ago!) but we found it hard to get a comfortable night's sleep.
The room was very spacious however, though if you are tall beware - as you may expect from a place of this heritage there are lots of beams and low doorways! The bathroom was clean and serviceable, though the shower was a bit of a drizzle. There was a nice bath though. I think if I were to sum up the whole room I would say it needed refreshing, as it feels a tad tired.
Parking is a bit of a strange one; there are four or so places in a garage round the back of the building. We were out of peak season so just turned up, though I would recommend anyone to call ahead and try to arrange something, as there are 8 rooms. The other thing was that as these spaces are back to back you are required to leave your keys behind the bar in case someone needs to get out. Bar staff then move the cars as need be. Our car was unscathed despite a move but I would imagine that if your car was valuable you might consider an alternative. It was excellent value, though.
The staff were extremely polite and accommodating, and the room was clean.

Reviewed by
C Allen

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Atmospheric.
We really enjoyed our stay, the food was excellent and the staff were great. It was a lovely old pub and we would stay again.

Reviewed by
Mark F

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor Hotel
Don't bother with it!

Reviewed by
Paul OBrien

From Deeside, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ye olde kings head
Stayed here for one night. Staff were nice and friendly, room was nice and clean, didnt eat here but the food smelled and looked amazing. Had a great night out round chester and would defo stay here again:)

Reviewed by
c banks

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Characterful pub accomodation
Fantastic location - high st in view from bedroom
Stones throw from grovesnor shopping centre and river
Upgraded to superior 4 poster room and only charged £40 cos water pressure down in shower due to ongoing street works .
The owner was very accommodating , even let us park for free
I'd recommend this as a good central hotel but try and get a room not facing the front

However 2 downsides - no tv in room and noisy loitering groups outside after closing time

Reviewed by
C Lok

From Huddersfield , England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next