No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Punch Bowl Inn

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Ousterley Terrace, , , stanley, DH9 6EF
At The Punch Bowl we offer fantastic value for money in our newly refurbished rooms. We are based in Craghead, County Durham, about 8 miles from Durham city and its historical cathedral. The Punch Bowl is within easy access of major transport routes and with the A1 motorway just down the road, there are plenty of things to see in and out of the County Durham area, all within 1 hour commuting distance of The Punch Bowl. Famous attractions like one of Europe's largest open air museums, Beamish Museum, Causey Arch and Tanfield Railway are situated within 2 miles of The Punch Bowl Inn. The Punch Bowl is the perfect retreat for both business and pleasure. Breakfast is served from 7am until 10am with the choice of a traditional cooked breakfast, vegetarian option or cereal. Afternoon meals are from 5pm till 8.30pm with home cooked foods and a selection of delicious desserts.
Picture of The Punch Bowl Inn, stanley at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dreadful awful
charge twice for the most awful place we have ever stayed in

Reviewed by
E Holt

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dreadful worst place we have ever stayed in
paid £100 on the sunday morning for our two night stay and they have also taken the money AGAIN from our bank so paid £200 for the stay which is dreadful

Reviewed by
E Holt

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An internal door was locked when I arrived back late and I could not get to my room. Fortunately another guest arrived and his key fitted. Otherwise I would have had to try to find somewhere else at 1am.
Otherwise everything was very good.

Reviewed by
N Cann

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I booked this hotel as it look a good clean hotel and it was and being someone who's put on the road all the time a breakfast included is a bonus which it said on the description, how ever upon arrival I checked in and here was a very friendly member of staff who told mu self and my coleuge that they didn't serve food nor a full English In the morming (sad face)
So if they advertise food I think they should do it ? Apart from that the room was clean and basic

Reviewed by
n harris

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great
Nice friendly place

Reviewed by
Michelle M

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

inexperienced
Staff tried to be helpful and pleasant but "restaurant" only had things like taosties (toasted on 1 side and chip butties. Fine but don't call it restaurant. Cups in rooms washed and coffee replaced only once. One flat pillow each but another provided when reminded. Hair dryer no plug on it. Cooked breakfeast on same plate as toast (one side only), butter and marmalade. Sick stayed by back steps while we were there. But staff were kind - maybe just inexperienced.

Reviewed by
Linda Lingham

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just a few suggestions for the new owners.
Although the accommodation was clean, It would have been a nice if they had put extra milk and sugar in the room daily. Hoover the room and emptied the bins.
As someone who worked in the license trade for 40yrs it is always the little things that make the customers stay. The staff were very friendly and as the go on they will learn by their mistakes.
But thank you for a pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
L Sweeney

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Three-piece suite?
After a marathon ten-hour drive, I arrived to a friendly welcome and a glass of rose in the pub. I was shown to my room, which was fine. However, when I went into the en-suite to get ready for a much-needed night's sleep, I found a shower and basin, but no loo! A no-pee suite!!! However, in every other respect the accommodation was very clean and comfortable: the clean linen and comfy bed ensured a very sound night's sleep.

Reviewed by
Patricia S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff wonderful
Our stay was interesting. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and very small. Beds were awful, could not sleep. Very expensive for room in area. Had to pay extra for breakfast.

Reviewed by
christine r

From lake oswego, USA
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff
We really enjoyed our stay, the room was clean and suitable for its B&B rating.
The staff were really helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
D Slaughter

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next