No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Punch Bowl Inn

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Ousterley Terrace, , , stanley, DH9 6EF
At The Punch Bowl we offer fantastic value for money in our newly refurbished rooms. We are based in Craghead, County Durham, about 8 miles from Durham city and its historical cathedral. The Punch Bowl is within easy access of major transport routes and with the A1 motorway just down the road, there are plenty of things to see in and out of the County Durham area, all within 1 hour commuting distance of The Punch Bowl. Famous attractions like one of Europe's largest open air museums, Beamish Museum, Causey Arch and Tanfield Railway are situated within 2 miles of The Punch Bowl Inn. The Punch Bowl is the perfect retreat for both business and pleasure. Breakfast is served from 7am until 10am with the choice of a traditional cooked breakfast, vegetarian option or cereal. Afternoon meals are from 5pm till 8.30pm with home cooked foods and a selection of delicious desserts.
Picture of The Punch Bowl Inn, stanley at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little place
Stayed there for the night as had a family christening. The room was big enough for myself my sister and my daughter. We had the family room and it was extremely comfortable.
The breakfast was yummy although could not eat it all, think they like to feed up people. My sister we out for a cigarette before getting changed to eat breakfast and was told by the very friendly staff that she could have breakfast in her PJ's it was like a home from home, very relaxing and enjoyable.

Reviewed by
p Nash

From Grays, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff. Room very clean and food very nice and good portions. The punch boqk is value for money

Reviewed by
neil stephenson

From pocklington, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really friendly B&B
Really friendly B&B which is a local country public house, the sleeping accommodation has recently been refurbished to a very good standard . Staff are really friendly, excellent food, we had an evening meal and the full breakfast. which can be taken in the bar area or the separate dining area. Ideally suited for a base from which to visit the attractions in the area. Car park to rear. Our room was on the front with good views across the countryside. Certainly going to stay again on our next visit to the area.

Reviewed by
Derek Bennett

From Willenhall, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as advertised
We were expecting a typical country pub (e.g. quiet, good beer, nice dining room) but the music was so loud when we arrived on Saturday evening that we had to go out and buy ear plugs. There was no evening meal available despite my having phoned to check. Breakfast was poor with instant coffee and no bread left for toast on Sunday. The room was advertised as en suite and whilst it had a shower and very small basin we had to share a toilet down the corridor. The soaps in the shower room had clearly been used by previous guests.

Reviewed by
Ann W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

DISCO DISCO DISCO!!! Do not go if there is a disco booked
There was a 70/80s disco on that night I was given rooms as far away from the disco as was possible and told that there should be no problem.
There was a problem as the Noise was extremely loud and went onto 1.30 am in the morning.
Someone set off the Fire alarm at around 12.40 to which we quickly dressed only for the alarm to be reset. no one came up to the accommodation to tell us there was a false alarm and the music continued which indicated that this was in fact a false alarm. There was no wardrobes in either of the rooms I booked and the shared bathroom had a shower that was not fixed to the adjustable bracket. There are many signs that considerable amount of time and money spent to get this up to a comfortable standard. however if the Punch Bowl wants to be taken Seriously as a B&B the Disco has to Stop. Once the DIsco Stopped we slept and had a wonderful Breakfast in the Morning which was the highlight of the Visit. I went to school in the area and so I knew the Punch Bowl I commend the efforts the owners & staff have put in but there is a lot of competition in the area. I hope that these problems can be resolved and wish the Punch Bowl every success in the Future.

Reviewed by
scott Ian

From Montrose, Scotland
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Real nice country pub , with very friendly customers .

Reviewed by
Brian H

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was excellent. I booked a single room, but was upgraded to a double. It was spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and dealt with requests promptly. Breakfast was excellent and the evening meals were cheap and well cooked. The pub is within 2 miles of Beamish and a 20 minute drive from Durham, so ideal for visiting these places. The only slight problem is that the rooms are above the bar, so you do get a bit of noise in the evening, but this stops by 11. Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
A Henderson

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good
very good

Reviewed by
Philip T

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderfully food and staff

Reviewed by
M Callaghan

From Helensburgh, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, clean pub within 10 minutes of Beamish Open Air Museum
The Punch Bowl is the friendliest pub we have ever stayed at. It's been recently refurbished and serves honest pub food at sensible prices. Nice touches like just a hint of fresh coriander in the salad. Our room was on the small side, but completely modernised to a good standard. The bed was very comfotable. The outstanding thing is the friendly welcome from both staff and locals. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
J Goss

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next