No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Queen Vic Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
HARBOUR VIEW , SUNDERLAND, SR6 0PQ
The Queen Vic Hotel is superbly located hotel. It has recently completed a refurbishment and houses very tasty carverys. Our guest rooms are ideally sighted giving guests breath taking views of the North Sea and golden sands. The City Centre of Sunderland is within easy reach and is easily accessibly by a public transportation system with links with Newcastle International Airport.

All of the guest rooms are tastefully decorated with a choice of single, twin, double and family rooms.
Picture of The Queen Vic Hotel, SUNDERLAND at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 58% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not too impressed
The room was clean but when we entered very cold, we were told we had to turn the heating on ourselves. Some of the lights were not working. While my wife was having a shower all the lights went out and the bathroom was pitch black leaving her very distressed.

Reviewed by
J Moth

From , England
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff Great but not a positive experience.
We thought we had good value for money, with hindsight perhaps not. Reception was the bar at the public house. Stood there for a while whilst staff took food/drink orders at the bar and took food to tables. When we did get our room (Room 2) the bed was amazing, the centre of the mattress was a good 6 inches below the rest of the bed. Tea Coffee facilities were limited (1 tea bag and no milk) and no hairdryer, which we could have lived with if the room had been good. Complained to bar staff who were excellent and put us into a triple room (Room 7). This room had 3 beds two of which were fine but the third you could feel every spring. No hairdryer so went out and bought one. When we returned after a meal out I got into bed to find one of the beds was damp. sheets were clan mattress was dry but sheets were damp. I can only assume the sheet had been put on before it was dry. No problem I slept on the third bed and had a thoroughly uncomfortable night, Couldn't be bothered to complain again. Staff were great, hotel was clean but I won't be staying there again, Think Mary and Joseph should stick with the barn too!

Reviewed by
richard h

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Vastly Overpriced
The beds had no mattress protectors and were not correctly made (Sheets should fit and be tucked in)
One of our LUXURY twin rooms had a double bed base with a single mattress on it!
There was no milk and the tea bags were not individually wrapped.
My room had a faulty radiator so it was freezing cold.
I regret not booking at the Travelodge, which I am sure would have been better quality for much less money - even though I,d have had to pay for parking.
I will NOT book this hotel again.

Reviewed by
Julie D

From Ripon, England
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed my stay
Really enjoyed my stay was only a one night stay but enjoyed it.loved the location over looking the harbour

Reviewed by
J Jenkins

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Did just the job!
Recently refurbished and reviews after the face lift were good, picked the Queen Vic as it was close to the Stadium of Light for attending the Sunderland vs Arsenal game. They run free taxis/mini bus to the stadium too!
Staff were very friendly and welcoming.
Room was a good size, clean though if I'm being pernickety there was no shower gel in bathroom nor milk for the tea! And the shower wasn't great - adequate so no complaints.
Cracking bar downstairs, well worth visit for a beer or 10, great atmosphere, had live music on the Saturday night but if this wasn't your cup I of tea it was over before midnight.
Overall a very pleasant stay and for similar purposes would recommend it.

Reviewed by
M Aranda

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation Review
Good size room but not value for money (Breakfast not included in the £70 cost) .
***10 am checkout***
No soap in the shower or milk with the free tea & coffee facilities.
Bar food available downstairs in the pub.

Reviewed by
Lee B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel. Friendly staff, lovely food and fantastic views
A really pleasant stay which far exceeded our expectations for the price. The location is central to Sunderland with the hotel offering great sea views. The staff were friendly and very helpful - even keeping the kitchen open out of normal hours. The menu was extensive and the food really good. The room itself was clean, spacious and - most importantly - very comfortable. We travel a lot and, for our budget, the Queen Vic has made it to the top of the list

Reviewed by
B Scott

From Addlestone, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tidy hotel great location
Easy walk to stadium of light, across the road from beach and marina.
Rooms adequate, staff lovely, bar very smart. Recommend

Reviewed by
Damien C

From Goole, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good base for short stay
Clean and tidy room, on the seafront. Bar below very well laid out and popular. No breakfast available but just a short walk across the road is a very good, popular cafe called 'The Bungalow' serving a variety of food. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
G Wallis

From Barnet, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simple and clean
Stayed over for one night. Really clean rooms, comfy beds and the staff were lovely.
I will definitely be staying over again!

Reviewed by
Georgina Pope

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next