No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Queen Vic Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
HARBOUR VIEW , SUNDERLAND, SR6 0PQ
The Queen Vic Hotel is superbly located hotel. It has recently completed a refurbishment and houses very tasty carverys. Our guest rooms are ideally sighted giving guests breath taking views of the North Sea and golden sands. The City Centre of Sunderland is within easy reach and is easily accessibly by a public transportation system with links with Newcastle International Airport.

All of the guest rooms are tastefully decorated with a choice of single, twin, double and family rooms.
Picture of The Queen Vic Hotel, SUNDERLAND at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 60% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good base for short stay
Clean and tidy room, on the seafront. Bar below very well laid out and popular. No breakfast available but just a short walk across the road is a very good, popular cafe called 'The Bungalow' serving a variety of food. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
G Wallis

From Barnet, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simple and clean
Stayed over for one night. Really clean rooms, comfy beds and the staff were lovely.
I will definitely be staying over again!

Reviewed by
Georgina Pope

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the staff was very helpful the hotel was nicely located to the beach would go again.

Reviewed by
carol w

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not three star
Stayed in room 3. Stained floor, dirty windows, dirty walls, no milk. no shower gel, no hairdryer, no wardrobe, just a rail, broken bedside cabinet, filthy bath mat.
£60 per night for this with no breakfast? I feel totally ripped off

Reviewed by
Carol S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay!
Great staff, good, prices, rooms and overall a safe and pleasurable time.

Reviewed by
Deana A

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were friendly and generally helpful. The room was huge and simply furnished - only the basics but as we were in Sunderland for a weekend long event this wasn't an issue for us. Decor could do with updating, as it feels a little run down in the rooms but only cosmetic issues. Beds were comfy and clean, bathroom was clean and kettle worked.
Know nothing about the food as they'd stopped serving by the time we arrived.
There is noise from the bar downstairs, but nothing like we were expecting after reading the other reviews online and it stopped after midnight. Generally a friendly place and good value for money, but not somewhere to go if you're a light sleeper or go to bed early.

Reviewed by
Kay B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel
I had a wonderful experience at the hotel, the staff were extemly friendly and helpful and treated me with decency and respect. I will deffinatly be returning to this wonderful place. Very satisfied.

Reviewed by
John Waller

From Castleford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Get what you pay for.
The doormen were more than helpful and pleasant and the manageress was accommodating. The room itself was basic but clean. Perhaps slightly overpriced but it was a last minute booking and was lucky to get anywhere. The night porter was very good and di his job properly. Unfortunately, there was no breakfast included.

Reviewed by
J Darbyshire

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No breakfast available
Food finished in evening at 9pm
No toilet role holder
Toilet seat broken
No television remote
Terrible rackett from pub music in late hours
Self assessed 3 star misplaced in my view

Reviewed by
Colin A

From Dinas Powys, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good honest accommodation
The room was clean and comfortable, bathroom had been recently renovated and was nicely appointed. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The queen Vic is a pub with rooms above so do bear this in mind if you are travelling with children on a weekend, as there is night time entertainment in the pub. The pub itself has recently been renovated and is modern and relaxing. The only issue is night time access, if you are returning after the pub has closed then you have to bang on a fire escape and wait to be let in through the bar. I would suggest that the operators of the queen Vic devise a better solution. Overall I had an enjoyable weekend greatly facilitated by the queen Vic, I will definitely be coming back.

Reviewed by
Sam T

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next