No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Queen Vic Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
HARBOUR VIEW , SUNDERLAND, SR6 0PQ
The Queen Vic Hotel is superbly located hotel. It has recently completed a refurbishment and houses very tasty carverys. Our guest rooms are ideally sighted giving guests breath taking views of the North Sea and golden sands. The City Centre of Sunderland is within easy reach and is easily accessibly by a public transportation system with links with Newcastle International Airport.

All of the guest rooms are tastefully decorated with a choice of single, twin, double and family rooms.
Picture of The Queen Vic Hotel, SUNDERLAND at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Did just the job!
Recently refurbished and reviews after the face lift were good, picked the Queen Vic as it was close to the Stadium of Light for attending the Sunderland vs Arsenal game. They run free taxis/mini bus to the stadium too!
Staff were very friendly and welcoming.
Room was a good size, clean though if I'm being pernickety there was no shower gel in bathroom nor milk for the tea! And the shower wasn't great - adequate so no complaints.
Cracking bar downstairs, well worth visit for a beer or 10, great atmosphere, had live music on the Saturday night but if this wasn't your cup I of tea it was over before midnight.
Overall a very pleasant stay and for similar purposes would recommend it.

Reviewed by
M Aranda

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation Review
Good size room but not value for money (Breakfast not included in the £70 cost) .
***10 am checkout***
No soap in the shower or milk with the free tea & coffee facilities.
Bar food available downstairs in the pub.

Reviewed by
Lee B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel. Friendly staff, lovely food and fantastic views
A really pleasant stay which far exceeded our expectations for the price. The location is central to Sunderland with the hotel offering great sea views. The staff were friendly and very helpful - even keeping the kitchen open out of normal hours. The menu was extensive and the food really good. The room itself was clean, spacious and - most importantly - very comfortable. We travel a lot and, for our budget, the Queen Vic has made it to the top of the list

Reviewed by
B Scott

From Addlestone, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tidy hotel great location
Easy walk to stadium of light, across the road from beach and marina.
Rooms adequate, staff lovely, bar very smart. Recommend

Reviewed by
Damien C

From Goole, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good base for short stay
Clean and tidy room, on the seafront. Bar below very well laid out and popular. No breakfast available but just a short walk across the road is a very good, popular cafe called 'The Bungalow' serving a variety of food. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
G Wallis

From Barnet, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simple and clean
Stayed over for one night. Really clean rooms, comfy beds and the staff were lovely.
I will definitely be staying over again!

Reviewed by
Georgina Pope

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the staff was very helpful the hotel was nicely located to the beach would go again.

Reviewed by
carol w

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not three star
Stayed in room 3. Stained floor, dirty windows, dirty walls, no milk. no shower gel, no hairdryer, no wardrobe, just a rail, broken bedside cabinet, filthy bath mat.
£60 per night for this with no breakfast? I feel totally ripped off

Reviewed by
Carol S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay!
Great staff, good, prices, rooms and overall a safe and pleasurable time.

Reviewed by
Deana A

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were friendly and generally helpful. The room was huge and simply furnished - only the basics but as we were in Sunderland for a weekend long event this wasn't an issue for us. Decor could do with updating, as it feels a little run down in the rooms but only cosmetic issues. Beds were comfy and clean, bathroom was clean and kettle worked.
Know nothing about the food as they'd stopped serving by the time we arrived.
There is noise from the bar downstairs, but nothing like we were expecting after reading the other reviews online and it stopped after midnight. Generally a friendly place and good value for money, but not somewhere to go if you're a light sleeper or go to bed early.

Reviewed by
Kay B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next