No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Richmond

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
24 Hatton Garden , Liverpool, L3 2AN
Centrally Located, The Richmond Hotel & Spa offers an array of luxurious facilities, boasting a Romanesque Spa and Gymnasium, a designer Hair & Make Up Salon, the boutique R Bar & Brassiere, Car Parking (additional charge) and Free Wi-fi, with flexible rooms ranging from our Classic Double/Twin Rooms to our elegant Suites, extending to our full one, two or three bedroom Apartments.

The Bedrooms all have luxury bathroom's with upscale toiletries, plus flat-screen 50inch TV's, Mini Bar's, Air-conditioning, Hairdryers, Laptop Size In-Room Safes, direct dial Telephones and tea/coffee making facilities, including cafetieres with our own blend of coffee.

Our Health Spa features beauty treatment rooms, a gym, baths, sauna, steam room, bucket drench shower and relaxation area. The Richmond also has full conference & Events facilities, and our Salon offers an array of hair, Make Up and Beauty Treatments as well.

The UNESCO World Heritage Albert Dock site, Echo Arena, Mathew Street (The Cavern Club) and Liverpool One Shopping Centre are a short walk from the property, while Anfield & Goodison Stadiums are circa 2 miles away.
Picture of The Richmond, Liverpool at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 197 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Night out in Liverpool
If the Richmond wants to be a boutique hotel then breakfast has to improve. It was adequate and of decent quality but you would expect a choice of eggs freshly cooked as a minimum. We had cocktails in the hotel and they were excellent.

Reviewed by
Gordon C

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
I booked this hotel a few days before our visit. We found staff very welcoming & helpful and the room was extremely comfortable. A very well thought out conversion of the building.

Reviewed by
G Harniess

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just lacking

First of all I have to say that the overall experience was an enjoyable one, I booked the room very last minute via Laterooms as a surprise for my partners birthday. One of the selling points for the hotel was the use of the Olympus spa over the road. The decor appeared to be very unique on the website and the hotel descriptors and photography set expectations very high.
We arrived and were greeted by a very helpful and friendly receptionist who was more than happy to recommend places to visit in Liverpool; this was our first time in the city and we were slightly clueless! The only suggestion I have to make here is to explain to guests that they must enter their room through the "apartment" door first, we were wondering around for a while. Thankfully a very friendly member of staff pointed us the right direction.
We entered our classic double room and was impressed by the decor, my partner immediately switched on the TV and started to explore the many features that were on offer! I was slightly disappointed by the size of the room and the bed, considering that the descriptors state that all classic rooms "boast king size beds...spacious bedrooms." Having to walk sidewards between the bed and the cabinet under the tv does not warrant a "spacious" description in my opinion.
Anyway, enough exploration, we had to head out to park the car. The receptionist had highlighted the Qcarpark on Vernon street as the place we had to go. Disappointingly, there was no mention of the on-site valet parking that I had read about so I went to park a couple of streets away.
We decided to check out the spa, the guy on the reception desk asked us if we had been told about the boilers. We said no and his reply was that information about broken boilers was on all screens in The Richmond; we hadn't noticed anything or been told by the receptionist when we asked about use of the spa. Therefore, as there was no hot water we had limited access to facilities, we did visit the steam room and sauna however which were very nice. We just had to go back to our room to shower.
Back in the room, the bathroom facilities were excellent. We enjoyed the power of the shower and the toiletries were a very nice added extra. One bulb was out in the room though, the one just over the wardrobe mirrors which meant that my partner and I had to take turns using the bathroom mirror to get ready as it was the only one which had adequate lighting.
We attempted call reception to request the use of an iron, but the number provided on the telephone came up as "vacant number". I called the bar and after about 30 mins an iron arrived, this was broken however and we had to wait a further 10mins to obtain a replacement.
We took the stairs at the back down to the exit but were overcome by the powerful stench of cigarette smoke. We could not figure out if there was a window open above a smoking area, this was extremely unpleasant.
After trying to figure out the air-con to no avail we settled into bed, which I might add is the most comfortable bed I have experienced in a hotel. The air con kept coming on after we had attempted to switch it off and was quite noisy. I would suggest an instruction sheet here as we just pressed all the buttons until it stopped making noise.
We then noticed the constant knocking of pipes and the sound of running water which was very annoying so we turned the volume of the TV up slightly to drown out the noise.
At 2am we were awoken by a knock at the door, we thought that this was the pipes again so ignored it. After another knock my partner got up, it was the security guard shining a torch in the room, they quite abruptly asked him to turn the tv down. We checked the tv and it was on volume number 20, and a programme was on to drown out the noise of the pipes, it was not banging music or anything like that.
We turned the tv off, we then however suffered a restless nights sleep due to the constant banging of pipes and sound of water.
I informed the receptionist on the check out of the restless night and she said that the pipes had been an issue. She apologised and then processed the transaction on my card before bidding us adieu.

Reviewed by
A Harris

From West Bromwich, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late booking holiday weekend
It was a very last minute booking for this hotel a most hotels in Liverpool were full because of music events and an important football match. However we were not disappointed. If our room was the last available it was more than adequate! Quite a large room and ensuite with "Amazon" shower. Breakfast fine and staff friendly.

Reviewed by
Geoffrey C

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality
Great hotel
Clean and tidy
Staff very helpful
Would recommend

Reviewed by
J Hudson

From Skelmersdale, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Plush at a price you can afford
The Richmond is a nice hotel in the city centre. Very nice rooms (mine had a walk in shower) with a large flat screen tv. The bed was a good size and comfortable. Staff are helpful and friendly. Only down side is the gym is across the road and not very big, that said, it is the only one I know of where the steam room, sauna and plunge pool area is bigger than the gym - never a bad thing!

Reviewed by
paul w

From Berkhamsted, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value room for a night
Welcoming and helpful staff at reception and a modern room with all amenities required for a business trip. Comfortable bed, decent shower and a hearty english breakfast mean I'll look to book here again if in Liverpool.

Reviewed by
Adrian B

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Issues need to be addressed
positives: good position, use of the gym etc was an added bonus, easy access to town and restaurants.
negatives: television noise was not acceptable (from other rooms) and despite complaining 3 times to reception about the sound level and assurances that it had been "dealt with" I had to put up with it until 4 a.m next morning. There needs to be a cut off for this type of noise. It was quite inconsiderate.

Reviewed by
H Blair

From Douglas, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality Hotel with friendly staff

Reviewed by
Mark Nichols

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my stay at the richmond hotel
The Richmond Hotel has a very nice homely feel to it which we really liked, the staff we're extremely helpful and friendly too. Would 100% stay here again and will be recommending to friends :)

Reviewed by
perry b

From Bromley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next