Reviews - The Castle House


9 Castle Hill, Richmond, DL10 4QP

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (8)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • L McGlinchey

  • May 2015

Great place to stay.

Only stayed one night but thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

The room was excellent, large with rather nice furniture suitable for the room and a spacious bathroom, and very quiet. Good choice at breakfast, excellent food and beautifully presented. Castle House does not offer evening meal but recommended the Rustique Restaurant nearby which was brilliant. Mine Host Lucy is very welcoming, and the chocolates on the bedroom door is a nice touch.

  • D Draper

  • February 2015

Castle House Richmond

Wonderful stay at spotlessly clean and lovely relaxing boutique guest house where we were made to feel wonderfully welcome.

Loved every minute.

Already planning the next visit.

  • Selene Emrys-Jones

  • September 2014

Beautiful and friendly!

Really happy with our stay.

The owner was extremely welcoming and friendly and helpful. The accommodation was beautiful and clean. All mod-cons included but to a very high standard lots of extra little touches that just made it that bit more special. I can not say enough good things. Food was fantastic as well.

  • J Thomas

  • July 2014

Excellent stay

The room, service and environment were all outstanding !

  • Linda B

  • June 2014

The Wensley Suite in the castle hotel

A beautiful room with all the added extras you need for a night away.

The room was immaculately clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. Lucy and Ian even booked us into a local restaurant for the evening of our stay. The only issue we had was that check out at 10am is a bit too early for us on a Sunday and we would have liked a lie in!!

  • karen linley

  • May 2014

Clean comfortable and freindly, the room is well presented and extra touches are nice.

Breakfast of good quality. Only issue is parking but this is beyond control of the owners.

  • Charlotte C

  • April 2014

Great place to stay with friendly atmosphere

We had such a warm welcome & the rooms were lovely.

Great value for money & ideal for a getaway. The owners were really helpful & booked our taxis for the nights we were staying with them. 5 star service.

  • Angela B

  • December 2013


A lovely building, room, decor and location.

Great hospitality and hosts, very welcoming. Wine (my choice of complimentary drink) and nibbles on arrival, chocolates on the door handle at dusk and a variety of options of breakfast, again lovely.

For me an earlier check in or later check out would be nice, to be able to relax in the room (& the roll top bath) more.

I stayed with a friend, we were going to a 18th party in the village but it is an ideal little romantic getaway.

Knowing I was back in Richmond in June 2014, I rebooked as I left.