No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Castle House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
9 Castle Hill, Richmond, DL10 4QP
The Castle House, Richmond's unique boutique Bed & Breakfast is situated in the shadow of the infamous Richmond Castle, overlooking the historic town square positioned in one of the most stunning parts of Richmond. There is no better place that is located within a stone’s throw to the centre.
Picture of The Castle House, Richmond at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful
A lovely building, room, decor and location. Great hospitality and hosts, very welcoming.
Wine (my choice of complimentary drink) and nibbles on arrival, chocolates on the door handle at dusk and a variety of options of breakfast, again lovely.
For me an earlier check in or later check out would be nice, to be able to relax in the room (& the roll top bath) more.
I stayed with a friend, we were going to a 18th party in the village but it is an ideal little romantic getaway.
Knowing I was back in Richmond in June 2014, I rebooked as I left.

Reviewed by
Angela B

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Richmond revisit
Made to feel very welcome. A very clean and well presented B&B. Ideal town centre location for an overnight stop. parking close by but needs a bit of thought to avoid parking fees. (Parking is free from 6 in the evening until 8 in the morning. A 1 hour limit is enforced for the rest of the day.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for taking the time to make a review, it is very much appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed staying with us at The Castle House and hope that you will return in the near future. With regards to parking, as you say there is free parking within the town centre, for up to 2 hours. We feel very fortunate that Richmond offers free parking, not many town centres are this generous! Luckily for us and our guests there is parking immediately outside The Castle House, and we have plenty of discs to give to our guests so that they can park easily. If any of our guests are staying more than one night, then we also give them a map showing all the car parks in Richmond (the nearest is within a 5 minute walk from us and only costs £4.50 per day). In addition there is plenty of street parking again within a 5 minute walk, which is outside the disc zone area.

Reviewed by
Adrian R

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary - revisiting the Dales.
An excellent choice of accommodation for our Ruby Anniversary. Superb room, excellent food and outstanding service. Some wonderful touches and nothing too much trouble. Ian and Lucy work hard to give their guests the best of attention. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, would stay again ourselves and will certainly recommend to others.

Reviewed by
David Bennison

From Driffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay at The Castle House
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the owners Lucy and Ian could not have been more welcoming. A charming house in a great location. Lovely room and high quality breakfast. There was much attention to detail which really made you feel at home. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to family and friends.

Reviewed by
JULIE RIXON

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Choice!
Luxurious guesthouse right by Richmond Castle with lots of added touches to make your stay memorable. Peaceful, large and very comfortable room. Free and rapid WiFi. Delicious breakfast. Made to feel very welcome.

Reviewed by
P Ward

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very, very good
Friendly, clean, comfortable, central location, good breakfast. Nothing not to like.

Reviewed by
David Rhodes

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Host extremely friendly and helpful. Provide refreshment on arrival and helped with local knowledge of restaurants etc. Room comfortable, clean separate dressing room all recently redecorated and looking very smart.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your very kind review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we do hope that you will return again in the not too distant future. Best regards Lucy

Reviewed by
A Hawkins

From Rhyl, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top notch!!
My wife, daughter & I have just returned home after a short week-end treat at this B&B, & WHAT A TREAT!!
Firstly, what a welcome!! Lucy, I know you will be reading this, but as I said to you, you have it pitched brilliantly, it's the best welcome we have ever received, and we've had a few!! Lucy carried my bag, I'm embarrassed to say up to the incredibly tastefully furnished Wensley Suite! Spotlessly clean, a roll top bath that I couldn't resist and had to take a dip as soon as we were settled!
Getting settled took 30 mins because we had to take part in the kindly offered welcome drink....this could've been coffee, tea, soft drink or any colour wine........errr, afraid to admit we opted for the latter in the snug room!! These were not 2 small drinks of dubious quality either.......2 generous helpings of a quality wine and fresh orange for our daughter!! These were accompanied by fudge treats and a generous bowl of nuts....I have taken time to describe this as it deserves the credit for the thoughtfulness!!
Lucy had kindly booked us into a local restaurant where we enjoyed the meal but just wanted to get back to our Suite!! Upon return my daughter was delighted to find a velvet pouch full of choccies.....or so she told me, as I never got close to them! Another thoughtful touch!
And so to bed, which was extremely comfortable, large sleigh bed (which I don't like normally being 6ft 4!) but not a problem & very comfortable!
Next morning Lucy, again very thoughtfully , had pushed 2 tables together with a small, personalised reservation chalkboard to make sure no other guests took that table........now not a massive thing, but the type of thing that makes you feel special!,
Breakfast was FANTASTIC, again generous portions of locally sourced produce, excellently cooked, and served with an excellent pot of hot tea!!
The B&B is a quaint 300 year old townhouse just off Richmond town square, far enough away from any local revelry, but close enough to everything this lovely town has to offer!
As Lucy had mentioned, they had only been open as the new owners for 3 weeks, if they can keep to these extremely high standards then their business can only flourish and deservedly so!
WE'LL DEFINITELEY BE GOING BACK, THANKS LUCY FOR MAKING IT A LOVELY LITTLE BREAK!

Reviewed by
Peter C

From Stockton on Tees, England
Who stayed in April 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.