No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Castle House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
9 Castle Hill, Richmond, DL10 4QP
The Castle House, Richmond's unique boutique Bed & Breakfast is situated in the shadow of the infamous Richmond Castle, overlooking the historic town square positioned in one of the most stunning parts of Richmond. There is no better place that is located within a stone’s throw to the centre.
Picture of The Castle House, Richmond at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful and friendly!
Really happy with our stay. The owner was extremely welcoming and friendly and helpful. The accommodation was beautiful and clean. All mod-cons included but to a very high standard lots of extra little touches that just made it that bit more special. I can not say enough good things! Food was fantastic as well.

Reviewed by
Selene Emrys-Jones

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
The room, service and environment were all outstanding !

Reviewed by
J Thomas

From York, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Wensley Suite in the castle hotel
A beautiful room with all the added extras you need for a night away! The room was immaculately clean and comfortable! The breakfast was delicious! Lucy and Ian even booked us into a local restaurant for the evening of our stay! The only issue we had was that check out at 10am is a bit too early for us on a Sunday and we would have liked a lie in!!

Reviewed by
Linda B

From Stanley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean comfortable and freindly, the room is well presented and extra touches are nice. Breakfast of good quality. Only issue is parking but this is beyond control of the owners.

Reviewed by
karen linley

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay with friendly atmosphere
We had such a warm welcome & the rooms were lovely. Great value for money & ideal for a getaway. The owners were really helpful & booked our taxis for the nights we were staying with them. 5 star service!

Reviewed by
Charlotte C

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful
A lovely building, room, decor and location. Great hospitality and hosts, very welcoming.
Wine (my choice of complimentary drink) and nibbles on arrival, chocolates on the door handle at dusk and a variety of options of breakfast, again lovely.
For me an earlier check in or later check out would be nice, to be able to relax in the room (& the roll top bath) more.
I stayed with a friend, we were going to a 18th party in the village but it is an ideal little romantic getaway.
Knowing I was back in Richmond in June 2014, I rebooked as I left.

Reviewed by
Angela B

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Richmond revisit
Made to feel very welcome. A very clean and well presented B&B. Ideal town centre location for an overnight stop. parking close by but needs a bit of thought to avoid parking fees. (Parking is free from 6 in the evening until 8 in the morning. A 1 hour limit is enforced for the rest of the day.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for taking the time to make a review, it is very much appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed staying with us at The Castle House and hope that you will return in the near future. With regards to parking, as you say there is free parking within the town centre, for up to 2 hours. We feel very fortunate that Richmond offers free parking, not many town centres are this generous! Luckily for us and our guests there is parking immediately outside The Castle House, and we have plenty of discs to give to our guests so that they can park easily. If any of our guests are staying more than one night, then we also give them a map showing all the car parks in Richmond (the nearest is within a 5 minute walk from us and only costs £4.50 per day). In addition there is plenty of street parking again within a 5 minute walk, which is outside the disc zone area.

Reviewed by
Adrian R

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary - revisiting the Dales.
An excellent choice of accommodation for our Ruby Anniversary. Superb room, excellent food and outstanding service. Some wonderful touches and nothing too much trouble. Ian and Lucy work hard to give their guests the best of attention. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, would stay again ourselves and will certainly recommend to others.

Reviewed by
David Bennison

From Driffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay at The Castle House
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the owners Lucy and Ian could not have been more welcoming. A charming house in a great location. Lovely room and high quality breakfast. There was much attention to detail which really made you feel at home. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to family and friends.

Reviewed by
JULIE RIXON

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Choice!
Luxurious guesthouse right by Richmond Castle with lots of added touches to make your stay memorable. Peaceful, large and very comfortable room. Free and rapid WiFi. Delicious breakfast. Made to feel very welcome.

Reviewed by
P Ward

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next