No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Three Horseshoes Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Three Horseshoes, 5-7 Galgate, , Barnard Castle, DL12 8EQ
In the centre of the historic market town of Barnard Castle, set in the heart of beautiful Teesdale, the Three Horseshoes Hotel originally built in the 17th century is a perfect base for visiting this stunning area steeped in history and natural beauty. The hotel is also a stone's throw away from the majestic River Tees, the Historic Castle and a ten-minute walk from the Bowes Museum. We have excellent facilities for walkers and cyclists who will be delighted with the choice of paths and routes immediately accessible in this picturesque area. There is free car parking in our own car park. Barnard Castle is the gateway to the magnificent Teesdale valley and the North Pennines Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, offering some of the most beautiful and rugged scenery. We are only a short drive away from: Raby Castle, High Force England’s largest waterfall and also Low Force. The hotel has had £750,000 spent on a total refurbishment over a 2 year period completing April 2013. All rooms have the necessary modern comforts and the highest level of luxury. Our en-suites have top of the range fixtures and fittings. Standard features in your room include large comfortable beds, TV, free fiber-optic high speed wi-fi, hairdryers. Breakfast is served in a newly refurbished restaurant where you can also enjoy good quality food made from fresh ingredients. Our bar will always offer a warm welcome, good food and a friendly atmosphere.
Picture of The Three Horseshoes Hotel, Barnard Castle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small but very comfortable room. Convenient location.

Reviewed by
Julie R

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
Staff at this establishment are so friendly and helpful. Room was exceptionally clean , king size bed , choice of teas and coffee and hair dryer. Bathroom was really nice and had a lovely large shower everything you could want for a comftable stay. Breakfast was probably one of the nicest I have had in a long time. Can not fault this hotel and will definetly stay here again .

Reviewed by
sonia l

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
Very impressed with everything about the Three Horseshoes. From the emails before we arrived, right through our stay, everything they could do right they did in spades! In our opinion this is what hotels should be like. Good beer and excellent food. Wish we'd booked more nights!

Reviewed by
PETER C

From Montrose, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place
For a lone traveller this hotel made me feel very welcome - with clean well appointed, clean rooms and excellent food.
My only disappointment was they don't have Black Sheep beer on tap!

Reviewed by
sara a

From Diss, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

well worth a visit
Staff welcoming, accommodation spot on clean cool and comfortable, food delicious

Reviewed by
Dawn S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What an amazing hotel!

Reviewed by
S Douglas-Munn

From Glenrothes, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Find
To find such a place to stay in this delightful market town was, almost, a surprise
The reception was super, the room a delight, the bathroom amazing, the shower monumental
Very good food in the restaurant if a pit "pub food"
Nice quiet private car park down the road
No problems staying there again

Reviewed by
Peter S

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Boutique style with family friendly values.

Reviewed by
Dawne Squires

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay

Reviewed by
Cath C

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab hotel
Great hotel; friendly staff, lovely rooms and facilities. Not much to do of an evening in Barnard Castle itself but the hotel has a great bar which gets busy anyway. Really enjoyed our stay!!

Reviewed by
E McLaughlin

From Catterick Garrison, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next