No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Newcastle Arms Hotel

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
50, High Street , Coldstream, TD124AS
A family run hotel situated in the town of Coldstream, within the borders district of Scotland. It lies on the north bank of the river Tweed in the county of Berwickshire a former burgh, Coldstream is the home of the Coldstream Guards and the location where Edwards I of England Invaded Scotland in 1296. The Newcastle Arms is a perfect base for exploring the Scottish borders and Northumberland.

The hotel offers en suite facilities, with parking on site. Dining in the Guards restaurant and Pete's Pantry within the hotel. Large enclosed beer garden.
Picture of The Newcastle Arms Hotel, Coldstream at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
50% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we stayed one night
when we arrived we got a very friendly welcome by a young lady behind the bar ,who showed us to our room and can honestly say we could not find a fault ,breakfast was brilliant and filled us up for the day would we stay again yes

Reviewed by
richard blenkhorn

From ilkley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best breakfast ever

Reviewed by
Bobby Barnsley

From Kilmarnock, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hotel in the borders
Had a great stay at this hotel. Friendly staff, lovely breakfast, bar with good choicw of food all made it worth the stay. The room was lovely with good size space in bedroom and bathroom and big shower.
nicely decorated, clean and quiet. I will definately be back.

Reviewed by
J Bell

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good as a b&b , naf pub
The room was basic, but kept nicely clean,breakfast was lovely, very good.wonderful service
Morning road noise a little noticible, but very quiet in the evening and at night,
Unfortunately the pub was the locals football bar, so we never ate in the evening there,
we spent the evenings in another one.
Would be ok for shorter breaks

Reviewed by
a manning

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Karaoke -aaaaaaaaarrrrggghhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!
Staff friendly and helpful, but absolutely deafening karaoke in the bar later
Had to go elsewhere for a quiet relaxing drink

Reviewed by
David Paton

From Newport on Tay, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In need of a lot of work...
Town centre pub, so a bit noisy, but no worse than expected on a summer Saturday night. Room was in need of serious attention - lots of minor repairs and cleaning needed. Price, and availability at short notice, correspondingly favourable! Staff extremely friendly and helpful, which makes up for a lot.

Reviewed by
Paul Todd

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate accommodation when that was all that was required. Very noisy on the Saturday night I stayed - not clear whether from pub or from street, but either way a barrier to good sleep for this light sleeper.

Reviewed by
Mark O'Reilly

From Tayport, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok for two days
staff very pleasant but had to keep asking for milk for coffe etc en suite very small with loose floorboads around toilet bar was very noisey with young people loud music etc beer garden very untidy.

Reviewed by
colin m

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Stay in Coldstream
You could have not asked for a more pleasant Hotel Manager, she was very helpful not just to us but to other guests staying there as well. The room was clean, bags of space to more around.
We would have loved bigger TV but the size was normal judging by the other hotels we have stayed in. We have promised to go back to the Newcastle Arms Hotel next year when it's Civic Week in Coldstream. Its a good base to explore the area from.

Reviewed by
Wilma T

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel stay

Reviewed by
C John

From Winkleigh, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next