No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ram's Lodge

2Self Classified Hostel Ratings explained
389-393 Wilmslow Rd , Manchester, M20 4WA
Set in popular Fallowfield/Withington area, close to the Universities and Christies Hospital. The Rams Lodge offers budget en suite accommodation with free Wi-Fi just 2 miles from Manchester City Centre.
Rooms at the property feature simple decor and all include Freeview TV and tea and coffee making facilities.
Our rooms are offset from the road and the bar which means that whilst you can enjoy all the area has to offer you can also enjoy a quiet nights sleep.

Our accommodation is ideal for all types of visitors whether it be a night out on the town or just working in the area.

Our own bar with its vibrant décor, has TV's showing all the major sports events, pool tables, a wide selection of drinks and snacks, and features live music and pub quizzes.
The Rams Lodge is close to the city’s universities and day and night-time bus services to the city centre pass just a minutes’ walk away. Mauldeth Road Train Station is 15 minutes’ walk away, there's a local tram stop which offers links to the football stadiums and Manchester International Airport is just 6 miles away. If your arriving by car we have a free car park available.

Room Payment information:
Payment for your booking is to be made ON ARRIVAL by either cash or credit/debit card. There will be a 2% charge for all payments made by credit cards.

However, in order to ensure the compliance of our cancellation policy, payment card information may be used to PRE-AUTHORISE payment of the 1st night once the free cancellation period has ended, If this fails we will contact you via telephone or email details you provided on booking, if this fails we may cancel the booking due to invalid card details being provided.
Picture of The Ram's Lodge, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 65 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
32% recommended this accommodation to a friend 38% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Switched Hotels the next day.
Hotel room was reasonably clean, but didn't look it. Hotel reception was not easily accessible and reaching the rooms involved trudging past smelly bins. Didn't feel secure leaving my Laptop in the room the next day, so took it with me. In the end I booked another hotel for my second night as I didn't want to stay there again.

Reviewed by
Eleanor S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

just dont go there
I have never stayed in such a dirty, rancid place in my life. Avoid at cost

Reviewed by
Steve P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bed was comftable. I won't stay there again but you get what you pay for £35 for a double room with en suite is cheap.

Reviewed by
angela t

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Big standard stay, unkept but okay for a cheap 1 night stay
Customer service was excellent and friendly. Good as it has secure car park. Rooms are standard/dull and are equipped for a simple 1 night stay. Bathroom is not nice - unkept and looks dirty (although it wasn't physically filthy). Beds are relatively comfy but just feels dirty by the look of the room (again no physical dirt just the atmosphere in the room makes it feel so). Suggest a lick of paint to modernise?? TV with free view was good and a lot of storage space (place to hang clothes and draws) views from window is tacky (graffiti). Overall I would recommend for a quick stay if you don't want luxury.

Reviewed by
M Crosby

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Generally unclean and unhygenic. Toilets need a scrub rooms smelt of urine lucky we only stayed one night.

Reviewed by
Abul K

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very dirty will not go again full of graffiti outside will not use again

Reviewed by
m conlon

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap but you get what you pay for
At £35 a night I was expecting basic accommodation but I wasn't expecting the "unique" look of the place. It's round the back of a late licence pub (past the bins) which seems to have taken "covered in graffiti" as a concious style decision.
The room itself was very basic with very little furniture and what was there was tatty and didn't match but was clean. The beds were mismatched and not very comfortable (mine looked like some sort of folding guest bed). Poor locks on the doors and no locks on the windows combined with proximity to the late bar and an easy to guess door code meant we were not comfortable leaving anything of value in the room. The bathroom facilities were clean but spartan. However getting the shower to do anything between ice cold and scalding hot was almost impossible (thankfully there was a warning sign about this).
For someone on a very tight budget I would recommend the place as it's very cheap and a short £1 bus ride from the City centre, but next time I will spend the extra and go more upmarket.

Reviewed by
G Lamb

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great budget hotel. very satisfied
Very cosy, friendly hotel. comfortable beds and great facilities.

Reviewed by
B Such

From Winsford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice staff
Room was basic but fairly clean. We stayed two nights and it didn't get cleaned after our first night, which I'd normally expect. There were people smoking in the room next to us and just outside...it didn't smell like cigarettes....! Didn't feel like an overly safe hotel,

Reviewed by
B Edwards

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reviewed by
j loveridge

From Walsingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next