Reviews - The Ram's Lodge


389-393 Wilmslow Rd, Manchester, M20 4WA

Price From 79.35 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (85)

33% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Martin W

  • October 2015

OK for crash out

Pub is interesting, beer good and cheap, there was a notice in the bar saying that all other bar students were barred from the pub in the evening presumably because of trouble from the locals.

Accommodation was basic but i paid £30 dont think you would get extra special in another city for this price. Slept well until 8am when I woke up and looked out of the window to see Police crawling all over the place and two people were arrested, guests/landlord who knows?. Left my key in the box and took the £1 bus to town. I'd probably find somewhere else next time!

  • terry h

  • September 2015

Basic place to stay


12 check out.

Bad. Strings in bed dig in.

Bad. Phones not answering after 11-45pm. Ok. club on site, but not heard from rooms.

Good. Club security very helpful on late arrival which was very nice.

Bad. Shower in Bath poor.

  • M Gibbens

  • September 2015

Only managed to sleep for two hours

Basic twin room - one bed had broken springs, the other was OK.

Decor not been upgraded for many years, curtains hanging off rail as insufficient hooks etc. Thin walls so heard every word of other guests who were pre-loading prior to a night out on one side, and partying in their room on the other. Eventually, at 5.30am the owner threw them out, making more noise than they had. I had already been charged a 50% increase in rate per night when extending my original booking from one to two nights (paid for in advance) but the owner refused any compensation. On a brighter note, the reception staff were pleasant and polite, and there was plenty of hot water!

  • Kevv H

  • August 2015

Horrible place

This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed at.

Don't start with, you get what you pay for... I've stayed in cheaper places and had better accommodation. The place is tired and needs a revamp.

  • gordon e

  • July 2015

basic but value for money

basic but value for money we only stayed one night the heavy metal decor a shock but never interfered with our stay would recomend for abudget stay

  • Andrew C

  • April 2015

Can't complain for £30, however communication on this stay could've been better

I have stayed at The Ram's Lodge a number of times when I've been on night's out in Manchester however this stay left my disappointed.

When I arrived at the bar the attendant broke the news to me that they'd had a error on their database and a number of people had been confirmed bookings when in fact they were fully booked. Had I been contacted a day or two beforehand about the error I'd have had time to make other arrangements however I had no choice but to take whatever they had.

I was put in a sizeable room above the bar and by way of apology I was offered a free pint of beer. This would've sufficed however I was then later told that I wouldn't be able to stay out longer than midnight as the only access to the room was through the main doors that'd be locked. When I got back from my meeting I went to my room and chose to make a cup of tea, one of the cups had what looks like chewing gum welding to the bottom and the complimentary milk sachets were sour, it was obvious they had been there a long time.

I'm aware that it isn't a hotel and the amenities are basic but I would've at least expected a discount or failing that just a phone call a day before letting me know of the situation.


  • April 2015

Pretty Good Value For Money

Needing somewhere to stay after attending a concert at The Apollo, I chose to stay at The Ram's Lodge - a friend was also present.

The staff were very friendly, and despite us arriving somewhat later then planned due to road delays (and outside the official check-in times), they were more than accommodating and it was therefore not a problem. The room itself was pretty good, being very clean and it had a decent TV included; the bathroom area was also very clean. For what I paid (which was essentially at the budget hotel end), this was pretty good value for money (£35). Being situated relatively close to the city centre, it is also in an excellent location. In addition, I would definitely consider staying again when next in the area.

  • Jamie B

  • April 2015

A step back in time

Cheap and you get what you pay for...

Very rough around the edges, hallways stank of smoke, dodgy door locks, seems to be frequented by builders with phenomenal levels of phlegm on their chests and some of the most horrendous coughs I've ever heard. It was akin to some of the hostels I stayed in during a backpacking trip to Bolivia 10 years back... Saying that though, I only used it to sleep in and it was fine for that. Lovely, roasting hot water from the taps which was a bonus, really. Guy on reception in the pub was very helpful and cheerful, top marks for that.

  • t payne

  • April 2015

hotel room

Bathroom was not very nice nor was it very clean.

The beds not comfortable however they is a lovely bar downstairs. The staff were very friendly. its okay for the price

  • Jim O

  • April 2015

It is what it is...

Good value bed for the night.

Probably not ideal for business, but generally ok. friendly staff

No complaints under the circumstances