Reviews - The Ram's Lodge

2

389-393 Wilmslow Rd, Manchester, M20 4WA

Price From 71.15 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (86)

31% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • J Sharples

  • January 2016

The Ram's Lodge

Had a Christies appointment so was convenient location.

Not at all what I expected. Definitely budget room not very clean, bathroom not inviting, TV new and worked well Bed clean and comfortable, tea and coffee provided in room. Unfortunately no food available and being on your own and not knowing the area was not wanting to wander around trying to find somewhere in the dark. The young lady on reception which is located in a very large pub was wonderful and very helpful ,booked my taxi for the morning and ordered Chinese delivery ,excellent customer service thank you. Just really needs a deep clean and refurbish. Would use again if have another appointment. Only paid £35 so can't expect too much.

  • Kayley D

  • January 2016

As snug as the bugs we shared our room with.

I booked a room for the night so me and my boyfriend had a place to stay after after a gig as we were going to be too late to get a train home.

As we'd be getting in late and leaving early, I didn't want to spend a huge amount on a room - it was December when we stayed so most hotels had bumped up their prices. As the price of the accommodation was so cheap, I knew I wasn't going to be staying in a luxurious room, but I wasn't expecting to stay in such a dirty room. When entering, I was disappointed to see that we'd been given a twin room rather than the double one we'd booked. I was welcomed by a large family of flies - both small fruit type flies and large bluebottle types. The room was very musty and gross smelling, dusty, the floors looked like they hadn't been hoovered, sticky surfaces, rusty, crumbling pipes, loud, buzzing electrics and a shower that probably would've got me dirtier if used. The sheets had a lot of mysterious stains on too.

I didn't have much time to drop my bags off and collect the keys before rushing off to get to the show, but quickly went and told the girl at the desk that I was very unhappy with our room as it was a twin, was really unclean and full of flies. Although she wasn't rude, she just said that all the rooms were booked up and there was nothing that could be done with the room and gave me some fly spray after I asked in desperation. By this time it was too late for me to make any other arrangements to stay anywhere else or try to get home, so we just had to stay the night there. We stayed out as late as we could so we didn't have to go back to the hovel and then tried to get some sleep fully clothed on top of the sheets and got out as soon as we could the next morning. I appreciate that it is a budget hotel, but it's not difficult to keep a room clean. All in all, I wouldn't ever recommend anyone staying here!

  • Anna K

  • December 2015

The Ram's Lodge

Cannot believe the state of this "hotel", the front itself was scruffy enough.

Had to check in calling a mobile number stuck on the front door on a post it note, and had to walk around to the pub to find the 'reception'. We had to find our own room... the room was dirty and stunk of cigarettes. The bathroom floor was horribly stained. I'm not easily shocked but this hotel was horrendous.

  • K Khan

  • December 2015

Room condition

Room was alright, but the mattress was squeaking every time any body turned side and very uncomfortable.

  • Katie W

  • December 2015

I stopped three nights

I had an early flight to Manchester so I stored my bag at the hotel before check in which was very helpful.

I wasn't in my room very much . Wifi didn't work. Hotel needs updating but you get what you pay for. I would stay again but very basic but cheap.

  • mark g

  • November 2015

Poor accommodation

This hotel was not particularly clean and smelt of smoke.

The shower didn't work properly. There was no parking space and it was initially noisy.

  • Devender P

  • October 2015

Rams Hotel. the last resort.

Room is out dated, seventies style.

Bath filthy with rust near the drainage hole. Would not even consider having a shower. The bed was well worn with spring just covered with fabric and can be felt when lying on the bed. Will not consider this hotel ever again.

  • l knight

  • October 2015

Cheaper and safer to get arrested and spend the night in a cell.

What can I say.

- The sort of place Hitler would look at and think ''Now this is going a bit too far!'' - Now for the money I didn't expect the Ritz, but this was taking it to a new level. Upon arrival, and ignoring the copious amounts of graffiti on the front of the place, we were handed our keys in a polite enough manner and directed to our room. Walked through what can only be described as one of those tunnels you go through to get to an aeroplane, which smelt so bad we had to cover our faces, got into the rooms (which could almost be opened without a key the locks were so poor) and was greeted by a basic enough room at first sight, that was until we saw the yellow, ripped curtains, mould on windows, nostril mucus/wee on the walls/floor of the bathroom, and more 'nostril mucus'' in the bed area...You get the idea. Dirty cups, wi-fi that makes dial up look revolutionary, lights on the wall which were hanging off and home to more than a few insects, expensive drinks, walls so thin ... Walking back through at night we were greeted by a woman in the bar who had decided she'd like to take on the full pub and I had to deflect a rather heavy chair, now this is the only thing I will give this place credit for, and that is the door staff, quickly sorted the issue, was more than polite, just a shame the hotel/hostel/camp was terrible. And to top it off, parking was, verbatim, ''First come first serve'' - However It's not a place you would want to park anything worth more than scrappage value.

  • Martin W

  • October 2015

OK for crash out

Pub is interesting, beer good and cheap, there was a notice in the bar saying that all other bar students were barred from the pub in the evening presumably because of trouble from the locals.

Accommodation was basic but i paid £30 dont think you would get extra special in another city for this price. Slept well until 8am when I woke up and looked out of the window to see Police crawling all over the place and two people were arrested, guests/landlord who knows?. Left my key in the box and took the £1 bus to town. I'd probably find somewhere else next time!

  • terry h

  • September 2015

Basic place to stay

Good.

12 check out.

Bad. Strings in bed dig in.

Bad. Phones not answering after 11-45pm. Ok. club on site, but not heard from rooms.

Good. Club security very helpful on late arrival which was very nice.

Bad. Shower in Bath poor.