No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ram's Lodge

2Self Classified Hostel Ratings explained
389-393 Wilmslow Rd , Manchester, M20 4WA
Set in popular Fallowfield/Withington area, close to the Universities and Christies Hospital. The Rams Lodge offers budget en suite accommodation with free Wi-Fi just 2 miles from Manchester City Centre.
Rooms at the property feature simple decor and all include Freeview TV and tea and coffee making facilities.
Our rooms are offset from the road and the bar which means that whilst you can enjoy all the area has to offer you can also enjoy a quiet nights sleep.

Our accommodation is ideal for all types of visitors whether it be a night out on the town or just working in the area.

Our own bar with its vibrant décor, has TV's showing all the major sports events, pool tables, a wide selection of drinks and snacks, and features live music and pub quizzes.
The Rams Lodge is close to the city’s universities and day and night-time bus services to the city centre pass just a minutes’ walk away. Mauldeth Road Train Station is 15 minutes’ walk away, there's a local tram stop which offers links to the football stadiums and Manchester International Airport is just 6 miles away. If your arriving by car we have a free car park available.

Room Payment information:
Payment for your booking is to be made ON ARRIVAL by either cash or credit/debit card. There will be a 2% charge for all payments made by credit cards.

However, in order to ensure the compliance of our cancellation policy, payment card information may be used to PRE-AUTHORISE payment of the 1st night once the free cancellation period has ended, If this fails we will contact you via telephone or email details you provided on booking, if this fails we may cancel the booking due to invalid card details being provided.
Picture of The Ram's Lodge, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 70 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
31% recommended this accommodation to a friend 38% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Inoculation required prior to visits
It's my fault - I should of read more reviews and paid a little extra to go somewhere else.
The room was filthy, the bathroom was filthy. One sheet between you and the mattress. Wifi that didn't work. Staff that couldnt care less.
Horrible place. Of you're in desperate need of a hotel try somewhere else, like a tent, or a car. It would be cleaner. Otherwise, ensure you're inoculated against the various diseases the room would undoubtedly give you.

Reviewed by
Simon E

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

well worth the money :)
As we drove behind the pub towards the hotel it doesn't look very nice, I wasnt sure of what to expect as we got in but the rooms were very clean and nice! But that does go to show don't judge a book by its cover .. staff were very nice and its close drive to the centre! Well worth the money, thankyou :)

Reviewed by
samantha s

From England
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lacking cleanliness and basics - stay anywhere but here
Exterior is very jaded. That didn't bother me. However the room did, not enough for me to leave but I'm not really that fussy. Entered room and turned on lights, only one worked just inside room, the other main fitment had no bulb and a broken fitting - only "reflected" lighting off walls illuminated the beds. One chair in room, shoved up against wall so that the broken joint between right front leg and front cross piece wasn't immediately visible but would of certainly caused an accident if I'd tried to sit in it - good job I had no use for it. Room hadn't been cleaned recently as I found a plastic tag from an item of clothes and a two week old bus ticket on floor between the two beds. One set of bedding had black marks on, I slept in other bed which was also had a mattress that didn't sag completely. Two of the three towels had dried stains - could be tomato sauce or blood, either way was a good job I had my own towel. Toilet couldn't flush a No.2 away. Bath was cracked, shower curtain suspended from a piece of string, wallpaper in toilet area peeling throughout. I would of complained but I did need somewhere to sleep so if you have a choice find somewhere else before trying this place

Reviewed by
Tim S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Strange but quite appealing
I like this place. It is a bit shabby to say the least, but it's cheap and has something a bit quirky about it. As a lone female I felt safe and it was very quiet. The bar food is cooked in a street food manner outside the hotel. There is live music. Deliberate graffiti on the beer garden walls (quite a nice beer garden actually). I ate freshly cooked spring rolls. Cheap and really, really good. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Caroline B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay clear
We arrived to thie hotel and drove into a car park which was full of junk, including a sofa with graffiti all over. The hotel section is located in a separate part to the pub. We checked in at a hole in the wall situated within the pub. We entered into room 9 and was faced with a filthy and very standard room. Cobs were all over the room, curtains were not hung properly, net curtains were yellow instead of white. We had no mirror except one in the bathroom which I could only reach by standing on a chair. (which was broken so had to use the toilet mirror in pub). The toilet was horrendous it was brown on the pedestal and I had to call the receptionist to bring over cleaning products. She brought a spray and blue roll. The divan bed was heavily soiled and broken. Within the drawers was mouldy food. Absolutely disgusted. On checkout no one was available we just had to leave keys or we would of been asking for our money back. This should not even be advertised on Late rooms, well not if you want to keep your good name.

Reviewed by
Alanna Turner

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Switched Hotels the next day.
Hotel room was reasonably clean, but didn't look it. Hotel reception was not easily accessible and reaching the rooms involved trudging past smelly bins. Didn't feel secure leaving my Laptop in the room the next day, so took it with me. In the end I booked another hotel for my second night as I didn't want to stay there again.

Reviewed by
Eleanor S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

just dont go there
I have never stayed in such a dirty, rancid place in my life. Avoid at cost

Reviewed by
Steve P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bed was comftable. I won't stay there again but you get what you pay for £35 for a double room with en suite is cheap.

Reviewed by
angela t

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Big standard stay, unkept but okay for a cheap 1 night stay
Customer service was excellent and friendly. Good as it has secure car park. Rooms are standard/dull and are equipped for a simple 1 night stay. Bathroom is not nice - unkept and looks dirty (although it wasn't physically filthy). Beds are relatively comfy but just feels dirty by the look of the room (again no physical dirt just the atmosphere in the room makes it feel so). Suggest a lick of paint to modernise?? TV with free view was good and a lot of storage space (place to hang clothes and draws) views from window is tacky (graffiti). Overall I would recommend for a quick stay if you don't want luxury.

Reviewed by
M Crosby

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Generally unclean and unhygenic. Toilets need a scrub rooms smelt of urine lucky we only stayed one night.

Reviewed by
Abul K

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next