No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ram's Lodge

2Self Classified Hostel Ratings explained
389-393 Wilmslow Rd , Manchester, M20 4WA
A Budget hotel Set in popular Fallowfield/Withington area, close to the Universities and Christies Hospital. The Rams Lodge offers budget en suite accommodation with free Wi-Fi just 2 miles from Manchester City Centre.
Rooms at the property feature simple decor and all include Freeview TV and tea and coffee making facilities.
Our rooms are offset from the road and the bar which means that whilst you can enjoy all the area has to offer you can also enjoy a quiet nights sleep.

Our accommodation is ideal for all types of visitors whether it be a night out on the town or just working in the area.

Our own bar with its vibrant décor, has TV's showing all the major sports events, pool tables, a wide selection of drinks and snacks, and features live music and pub quizzes.
The Rams Lodge is close to the city’s universities and day and night-time bus services to the city centre pass just a minutes’ walk away. Mauldeth Road Train Station is 15 minutes’ walk away, there's a local tram stop which offers links to the football stadiums and Manchester International Airport is just 6 miles away. If your arriving by car we have a free car park available.

Room Payment information:
Payment for your booking is to be made ON ARRIVAL by either cash or credit/debit card. There will be a 2% charge for all payments made by credit cards.

However, in order to ensure the compliance of our cancellation policy, payment card information may be used to PRE-AUTHORISE payment of the 1st night once the free cancellation period has ended, If this fails we will contact you via telephone or email details you provided on booking, if this fails we may cancel the booking due to invalid card details being provided.
Picture of The Ram's Lodge, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 85 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
30% recommended this accommodation to a friend 38% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very basic
This is VERY basic accommodation. I can only say that it is a last resort roof over your head.

Reviewed by
Owen C

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

DO NOT STAY HERE
We turned around and left to find another hotel.
The room was really manky, just filthy.
The curtains and the walls were almost dripping.
I generally stay in the cheaper hotels but this was really a step below.
The room was really smokey.

Reviewed by
Sam A

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay they at your own risk
Very poor customer service. Unprofessional staff. My room was cold. Hitting system was (maybe broken) not provided. I can go on and on! Lucky for me I only booked one single night. I will never go back.

Reviewed by
F Gelin

From New York, USA
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shabby but not Chic
The Ram's Lodge has definitely seen better days. We booked in here with an element of desperation after realising that the rest of Manchester was full. On arrival the muddy and pot-holed drive leading to the tiny car park was somewhat off putting. This was compounded by the rubbish and broken furniture piled up around the area. Check-in was in a noisy pub, but was genrally friendly. A covered walkway leads to the rooms and bypasses the puddles. This area smelled badly of damp and cigarettes, a smell that persisted onto and in the accommodation block.
Our room had been cleaned to a reasonable standard, but sadly this did not cover up the fact that the door showed signs of having been forced and repaired a number of times. This was extremely off putting and so I am trying not to be over critical. However, obvious faults included a cracked window, broken furniture handles, tired mattresses and signs of damp everywhere in the room. On the plus side; there was plenty of really hot water and we did get a good night's sleep.
In conclusion. If what you are looking for is a cheap place to lay your head then then Ram's Lodge could be for you. If however, you are looking for high standards then go elsewhere.

Reviewed by
Mel T

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Ram's Lodge
My stay at The Ram's Lodge was very straightforward. I paid, I got my receipt, I got the keys, I was given a card with all the info I needed for my stay including transport. For the bargain price I paid I was satisfied with my room and was handy for somewhere to lay my head after a night out. Would recommend to anyone needing a quick and easy place to stay for the night.

Reviewed by
Andrew C

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic accommodation.
Do not expect too much from this hotel! It is quite a basic accommodation block located behind, put part of, a popular music pub, which fronts busy Wilmslow Road in the Fallowfield area of Manchester. The building is in need of renovation, in an area of many student residences. OK for overnight stay when business or leisure means guests are out in the city all day. Bed linen and bathroom towels fine. Lots of buses from front run to city centre in 15 minutes. Several Pubs and restaurants adjacent. Parking on site.

Reviewed by
L Murray

From Lee on The Solent, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutly disgusting
Rooms were filthy mold growing through carpets, staines on the walls beds and matresses filthy bathroom full of mold, cracked toilet and sink , carpets were damp , bars on windows that didnt shut due to being broken, fire exits padlocked . Staff could of cared less.

Reviewed by
M Gaffney

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rams Lodge
Stayed here for two nights, rooms were clean, building needing done up but you only get what you pay for.

Reviewed by
s norwood

From Grangemouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not good
well past its sell by date complete overall needed

Reviewed by
e wood

From Morecambe, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rams Lodge in need of a little TLC
From when we arrived and reported the light in our bedroom not working we were expected to fit a new light bulb ourselves.
There were cobwebs in many parts of the hotel.
There was graffiti scrawled on walls (not the Banksie sort neither)

Reviewed by
David Manclark

From Canvey Island, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next