No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Brown Horse Hotel

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
The Brown Horse Hotel High Stoop, Tow Law, DL13 4HJ
A warm welcome awaits you at The Brown Horse Hotel, offering Bed & Breakfast facilities at very competitive rates. Here at The Brown Horse, we have 7 en-suite rooms, all of which have been recently refurbished to a very high standard.

Guest Rooms at The Brown Horse Hotel feature the following facilities:
- Tea & Coffee making facilities,
- Widescreen Television,
- Free Wireless Internet access,
- On-Site Parking for all guests,
- Smoke-Free Environment,
- Warm and inviting atmosphere for all guests to enjoy

Single, Double and Twin Rooms are available, for further information, current pricing and reservations, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Picture of The Brown Horse Hotel, Tow Law at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay at the Brown Horse
Although not obvious from the outside the Brown Horse is an excellent hotel. Once renovations are complete and the grounds cleared of building rubble it will be even better. The service was most helpful and prompt and the room spacious and well-equipped. I would definitely stay there again if I am in the area.

Reviewed by
Mary C

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly accomodation
A warm welcome gave a good start to an enjoyable stay at the Brown Horse. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The staff were friendly and efficient, making sure that I did not want for any thing. Good value for money. I would recommend it to my friends and would stay there again if I was in the area.

Reviewed by
PAMELA Y

From GREAT YARMOUTH, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A cosy hotel with exceptional hospitality
We stayed here for 1 night, the room was clean and cosy. The lady and gentleman who own the hotel are so welcoming and friendly. Lovely hotel ran by lovely people. Couldnt fault our stay. Sunday dinner was also great. Defo be returning. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Reviewed by
April M

From Stanley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent weeks stay.
Stayed here as a base for visiting the surrounding area and attractions, whilst building work is still on going it currently has little or no effect on your stay. The accommodation is clean and pleasant, the staff are all friendly and helpful, and the food is excellent. Even interesting and friendly locals in the bar - I'll happily stay here again next time I'm up that way.

Reviewed by
Nigel Goodwin

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Firendly Host
Stayed at The Brown Horse on route to play golf near Hexham. Arrived mid evening and so only had a sandwich and a couple of beers. The friendliness and hospitality within the hotel/bar was most appreciated. The ensuite room was simple, covered all needs and equipped with satelite TV. I didn't take breakfast, but Im sure it would have been another personalised service. Great value for money and I'd definitely stay there agian.

Reviewed by
C Hine

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, friendly
Owners were so accomodating, very friendly and couldn't be more helpful. Accomodation going through renovation, was a little dated, but absolutely fine and excellent value for money. Could not recommend enough.

Reviewed by
Kevin M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The worst stay ever!
I have just stayed 2 nights in your hotel and i was not at all happy with the service provided. On arrival I was informed that I was in room 13 which had no key, I was told that the room can be locked from the inside and can't be locked from the outside when I go out. Therefore I had to take all my valuables to and from the hotel for security. On Monday evening I returned to my room and the door had been locked, therefore I had no key to get back into my room and the staff also had no way to get into the room to unlock the door. Gentlemen that were in the pub at the time climbed onto the roof outside and tried to break he seal on the window to gain access and this yet again was unsuccessful. I then had to watch 2 men crow bar their way into room 13 shattering the doorframe, yes they got me into my room but not only was I unable to lock the door from the outside, I could no longer lock the door from the inside. They informed me that it wasn't my fault it has locked;the handle and lock was falling to bits inside causing it to lock when I closed the door. The aftermath of all this was a single young female was sleeping in a room with no lock in a hotel full of strangers and expected to rest ready for a full day of commute and business. This was highly unacceptable and no change of room or option was offered. I'm sorry but for a 4 star rated hotel I feel It was beyond unacceptable and it's fair to say I will never be returning to the hotel nor will I be recommending it to any other business commutes.
I feel that 70.00 for the 2nights was highly priced and would like a refund for the stay. It was by far the worst couple of days I have ever had away from home.

Reviewed by
S Wilson

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not to be missed
Although on arrival it is obvious major changes are being made to extend and improve the hotel. Don't let it stop you. The accommodation is spotless and good sized rooms that are well fitted. The food is excellent value and not to be missed. Portions are large and you need to be hungry. Sunday carvery is very popular
A great place to stay with friendly staff owners and locals.
All in all a great experience and one we will be repeating.

Reviewed by
Neville M

From Windermere, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Granddad and Grandson
Very friendly owners and staff. When extension is completed this will be a very good stop over Hotel.
Hope to stay again in the future.

Reviewed by
G Dawson

From Holmfirth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Modern, Clean & Welcoming.... what more do you need in a B n B ?
Quick overnight stop. Convenient location right on A68, clean room, reasonably priced, modern facilities, with a decent breakfast and welcoming staff! Thumbs up from me!

Reviewed by
e KANE

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next