No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Craigarran Bed and Breakfast

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Main Street , , , Gretna Green, DG16 5EH
Craigarran is a small friendly family run bed and breakfast situated in the village of Springfield, Gretna Green, Dumfriesshire, approximately 200 yards from the Famous Old Blacksmiths Shop and adjacent to Gretna Green Post Office. Craigarran is a very modern house built in 1993 over the village shop and decorated throughout to a high standard. It has a Scottish Tourist board rating of three stars. With easy access just off the M74 and A75 in the Annandale and Eskdale Valley commanding views to the south over the Solway Firth to the Lake District (1 hour drive). This is an ideal holiday base to explore the South West of Scotland and especially the unspoilt Galloway coastline. Edinburgh and Glasgow just one and a half hours drive north. Carlisle is just half an hour south with all the major retailing shops and has won major European awards for its very friendly shopper environment. Dumfries is also just about half an hours drive west and is a very beautiful market town situated on the River Nith. There are three comfortably furnished letting bedrooms at Craigarran comprising: 2 Double rooms & 1 Twin room. All accommodation has en-suite shower, washing & wc facilities, colour television and tea/coffee making facilities. We always ensure that guests are comfortable and are appraised of the local area. There are many bars & good restaurants close by with menus ranging from bar type meals to full a-la-carte dinners.
Picture of Craigarran Bed and Breakfast, Gretna Green at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice B&B
The hosts, the accomadation and the food were all of a very good standard. I would reccomend Craigarron to one and all. I will be back again in the future.

Reviewed by
Stephen Peebles

From Dunblane, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value B and B
Attended friends wedding in Gretna and this B&B was less than 5mins walk to Smiths Hotel. Double bed and clean room with clean towels and tea/coffee facilities and TV. Cooked English breakfast in the morning and for £30 real value for money. Definitely recommended if simply after clean comfortable room to rest your head.Nice couple who owned B & B.

Reviewed by
Dave Wood

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great People and Great Place
What can I say, very friendly people, Great location, Great Price. Great Food. AAA Star

Reviewed by
Colin Botterill

From Feltham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Have been to numerous hotels and B&B's worldwide. By far the worst experience
When I initially booked the B&B, I left comments indicating I wouldn't be able to check in until later that evening around 9. With my flight being delayed and not arriving in Glasgow till later that evening, I wasn't able to arrive at the time I indicated. Knowing I had to catch a 2 hour train from Glasgow train station to Gretna, I called the B&B about an hour before arriving to let them know I was still on my way and to confirm I would still be checking in.
I was very surprised upon arriving that I was told I could not allow my friend to come and relax with me for awhile. The door was shut in his face. After being shown to my room. I was told 'this is a family B&B" and they did not accept such a late check in. On top of this, I was told not to bother staying for the second night I booked and was told to find somewhere else to stay.
I found this to be very rude considering I had kept them informed of my late arrival and my travelling problems.
I ended up checking out at 10 o'clock in the morning (when the booking on the website said 10.30). In the end. I didnt bother having the breakfast that was included with the booking.
The husband was rather apologetic to some degree in the morning, but I would not recommend this B&B to anyone.

Reviewed by
Felix A

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money , friendly host . Not the easiest to find , it's in Springfield nr Gretna adjacent to the post office drive past it about 5 times . Would stay again

Reviewed by
Robert Lowrie

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely awful place. will not return there.
On arrival had to search for someone(the husband) in the adjacent/attached store, in the rain for 10 minutes to gain assistance/entry. Was eventually given a key and shown to our accomodation. Some of the family laundry on a clothes maiden in our room( that,s a good start we thought). No replenishment of tea making items/no cups either. TV not working. Poor quality beds. Smelly/fusty pillows/bedding. Quilt cover had been turned insideout to hide stains. Had to sleep with towel covering the pillows. Overall very poor. Only wife in attendance and appeared disinterested or overrun with jobs etc( a 18month noisy baby on site seemed to be the main reason). No lounge and the family lounge which is situated upstairs adjacent to bedrooms was unbeliveable untidy with toys and other things just strune around with reckless abandon. We will never ever go there again. A bad bad experience. AVOID . Needs sorting this place. Food awful.

Reviewed by
M Quaile

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation just off M6
I was en-route for home in the West Midlands from Scotland and broke my journey by staying at this accommodation. I can speak very highly of this B&B and would recommend it. The en-suite room was immaculate and very comfortable indeed. and the double-glazing ensured the noise from the nearby M6 was kept to a minimum - in fact I was hardly aware of the nearness of the motorway. The owner was helpful and pleasant and is clearly mindful of guests' comfort,

Reviewed by
B Cameron

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a very nice clean room and friendly welcome
enjoyed our stay very nice and clean room and very welcoming host could not fault there home or hospitality

Reviewed by
gary harvey

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and comfortable room, pleasant hostess, wonderful breakfast, convenient to M6/A74 and Carlisle. Just the place for a one night stay.

Reviewed by
Trevor W

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good size twin room. Clean and comfortable. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
N Thomas

From Haywards Heath, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next