No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ball Alley

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
STANLEY , COUNTY DURHAM, DH9 0LH
A newly established and refurbished family run property consisting of seven rooms,with en suite facilities and a seperate fully fitted kitchen for self catering if required along with laundry facilities for the use of our guests. We offer tea and coffee making facilities, along with the use of free Wi Fi, free safe and flat screen tv's with incorporated dvd players in every room.
We are above a friendly pub, offering a wide range of beverages, satellite tv, large screen sports, and pool table.
The Ball Alley Bed and Breakfast is ideally located for visiting Beamish Open Air Museum, Tanfield Railway, Newcastle, Durham and Sunderland town centres and all that these cities of interest have to offer
Picture of The Ball Alley, COUNTY DURHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oooohhh Yeessssss
Very convenient for Beamish, very nice nad clean, staff really friendly and helpful, quality accomodation, unfortunately doesn`t offer food, except the breakfast, but that one is fabulous,
If you want nice food around I could recommend the South Causey Inn, only minutes away and do fantastic food, we really enjoyed our stay there

Reviewed by
Karoly C

From Driffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late booking in order to visit Beamish
Entrance via pub a little disconcerting especially with a teenager in tow. However, rooms were very comfortable, spacious and clean and once in accommodation area you didn't realise you were in a pub.

Reviewed by
Robert L

From Bourne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay en-route to Nothumberland Wedding
After reading Tripadvisor reports we decided to book here and have no regrets whatsoever. The accommodation is clean and spacious, the staff friendly and helpful and the great cooked breakfast set us up for the day. It is on a main road but road noise is minimal and almost non existent after midnight. A great venue which we hope to return to when next in the area.

Reviewed by
G Wilks

From Ilkley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great experience
Our hosts could not have been more accommodating. We were greeted with friendliness and professionalism . The room was lovely and there was a fully equipped kitchen at our disposal if we so wished. Our breakfast was freshly cooked and plenty of it. It was a lovely experience and if we are in that vicinity again we would certainly stay there.

Reviewed by
Doreen Smith

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Storage
We thought that the hosts and the room were brilliant and so very friendly it felt like being at home!! Only thing I would say is that there was very little room for the storage of things, especially in the bathroom (en suit). Some more shelf's would be advantageous.
It would be great if they decided to do simple evening meals/snacks (burger and chips or whatever) instead of us giving our cash to other establishments - if the breakfast is anything to go by then any evening meals/snacks/lunches would be great!!
We will be back!!!

Reviewed by
Edward Cairns

From Leven, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice and very accomodating staff. Rooms kept well

Reviewed by
A Vardy

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

just the job
This was a perfect location for our trip to a wedding and evening event, The land lady was very welcoming and obliging. We were shown to our room and asked what time we wanted breakfast. The room was very nice, bright and clean with a neutral deco. There was a TV and tea making facilities, which we made use of. The en-suite was spotless, the towels were huge and fluffy. The bed was very comfortable with nice bedding. The breakfast was a delicious full English with plenty of choice of cereal and juices, and a cooked to order main. plenty of tea and toast. Everything tip top,


.

Reviewed by
m fitzgerald

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was disappointed not all rooms were en-suite, but it didn't spoil my stay there!

Reviewed by
Jacky M

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely but noisy
The accommodation was of a high standard, but being located above a busy pub, it was very noisy at night time.

Reviewed by
Jacqueline W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the ball alley
We stayed here to visit beamish museum an ideal location was a bit worried about staying in a pub as we had my mother in law who is 80 with us but we really enjoyed it,accommodation was comfortable but the bed was a bit too soft for myself but the room outlays & cleanliness was very good Breakfast was good too would recommend this b&b pub

Reviewed by
j harris

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next