Reviews - The Ball Alley



Price From 125.10 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (58)

97% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Gary T

  • November 2015

No Complaints

I have found this place excellent for me and the wife.

It's very clean, all the staff are great nothing is too much trouble. We have stayed there twice now and will be going back next year. Also the breakfast is excellent.

  • Steven Sharpe

  • November 2015

1 Nights Stay At Ball Alley, Stanley

We had a family party to attend just down the road from Stanley so this was the ideal location for us.

We arrived at The Ball Alley around 4:30pm to a very friendly pub atmosphere and were made to feel welcome straight away. The room was great, modern and very clean and the bathroom was also modern and spotlessly clean. Had a great nights sleep in a really comfy bed, and woke up to an amazing full English breakfast served by the very friendly hotel owner (Mrs Chapman)

I would highly recommend anybody to stay at The Ball Alley and I have already given the details to other members of my family for future family get togethers. Thanks

Steve Sharpe

  • Helen C

  • November 2015

Very Good Value, Friendly Accommodation

Proprietors were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

Our room was very clean and quite spacious, with a very roomy ensuite shower. We advised in advance of a feather allergy and duvets were switched to non feather. I would have to agree with some comments about the mattress being a bit too soft, but the children were very comfortable with theirs. Overall, we were all very delighted with the standard of the room and the warmth of both the accommodation and the welcome. Breakfast was very adequate. The Ball Alley doesn't do evening meals, so we ate our evening meal at the nearby Bluebell Inn, which was also a pleasant experience. There was plenty of parking at the Ball Alley. I would recommend the accommodation and would stay again.

  • Debbie S

  • October 2015

The Ball Alley

Very good hotel.

Deceiving really because from the outside you would not believe the quality of the accommodation inside. The beds were really comfortable. The hosts were fantastic. Would defiantly stay there again.

  • clare n

  • October 2015

Very comfortable stay

The staff were lovely and welcoming.

We had a very comfortable stay, the room was lovely and clean and the breakfast was very nice. Would definitely stay again.


  • Denis King

  • October 2015

Very friendly and accomodating place and helpful staff.

Have already booked another 5 days in Nov

  • Agnesa A

  • October 2015


The lady in reception was super.

She gave us a lots tips where better to go and what better to do. The room looked awesome. Thank you for support of South African rugby and for the good time Lindsay.

We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Sylvia Halliday

  • September 2015

My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Ball Alley, service and cleanliness was excellent.

Local customers very friendly and informative.

  • Phillip H

  • September 2015

Great Stay

The Ball Alley is a traditional pub at the bottom of a bank leading to the town of Stanley, it was easy to find and we had a warm greeting from the barman, even though the pub was quite busy he showed us straight to our room which was en suite.

In the room was a wall mounted tv. and a well stocked hospitality tray. The bathroom was large and well decorated and lots of soft towels available for the walk in shower unit. We had a few drinks in the evening and we were made most welcome by the owner and locals alike, and enjoyed a very hearty and tasty breakfast in the morning. A very enjoyable overnight stay.

  • Neil H

  • September 2015

Check what entertainment is downstairs before you book.

It's only a small gripe but the night that we stayed (Saturday) they had live music in the bar which just happened to be below our room.

This went on until about 11pm when there was an earthly hush came over our room and all we could hear was the patrons leaving through the front door. All was quiet by about 11.30pm and we could go to sleep. However, during the previous 2-3 hours the music had steadily increased in volume until we could feel it through the floor, couldn't hear the TV, read a book or surf the net as we found it hard to hear each other and to even think. However, apart from this, I was quite impressed by the accommodation which was bright, clean and very fresh. The in-room facilities were excellent and plenty of other things (tea, coffee, milk, sugar, etc) were available on the main landing, which also included a great supply of magazines. Also available was a fully fitted kitchen which included washing facilities (something we could have done with two days earlier) and an additional bathroom - these were all located in the communal area off the main landing. The breakfast couldn't be faulted. All in all we experienced a typical North East welcome and really good facilities which were all very much above standard. However, don't forget to ask if they have live music on the night of your stay as it makes getting an early night out of the question.