No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ball Alley

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
STANLEY , COUNTY DURHAM, DH9 0LH
A newly established and refurbished family run property consisting of seven rooms,with en suite facilities and a seperate fully fitted kitchen for self catering if required along with laundry facilities for the use of our guests. We offer tea and coffee making facilities, along with the use of free Wi Fi, free safe and flat screen tv's with incorporated dvd players in every room.
We are above a friendly pub, offering a wide range of beverages, satellite tv, large screen sports, and pool table.
The Ball Alley Bed and Breakfast is ideally located for visiting Beamish Open Air Museum, Tanfield Railway, Newcastle, Durham and Sunderland town centres and all that these cities of interest have to offer
Picture of The Ball Alley, COUNTY DURHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

just the job
This was a perfect location for our trip to a wedding and evening event, The land lady was very welcoming and obliging. We were shown to our room and asked what time we wanted breakfast. The room was very nice, bright and clean with a neutral deco. There was a TV and tea making facilities, which we made use of. The en-suite was spotless, the towels were huge and fluffy. The bed was very comfortable with nice bedding. The breakfast was a delicious full English with plenty of choice of cereal and juices, and a cooked to order main. plenty of tea and toast. Everything tip top,


.

Reviewed by
m fitzgerald

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was disappointed not all rooms were en-suite, but it didn't spoil my stay there!

Reviewed by
Jacky M

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely but noisy
The accommodation was of a high standard, but being located above a busy pub, it was very noisy at night time.

Reviewed by
Jacqueline W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the ball alley
We stayed here to visit beamish museum an ideal location was a bit worried about staying in a pub as we had my mother in law who is 80 with us but we really enjoyed it,accommodation was comfortable but the bed was a bit too soft for myself but the room outlays & cleanliness was very good Breakfast was good too would recommend this b&b pub

Reviewed by
j harris

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spot on
The Ball Alley was good all round choice for location to my event and i couldn't fault it i needed a taxi to get me to and from my event and that was excellent service as well well done soda taxis.

Reviewed by
Susan S

From Hartlepool, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Wonderful few days. The room was very comfortable, lovely big bathroom with great shower. Nice soft bed. The staff were excellent. So friendly and helpful - they couldn't have been more helpful. Breakfasts were wonderful. Will definitely be back.

Reviewed by
Margaret Elliot

From Johnstone, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

it is amust if you are visiting beamish nearly next door
excellent accommodation - lovely room - well furnished - en suite all virtually new with a power shower - staff warm and friendly eager to assist in any way possible - breakfast is a full English
with more toast and trimmings will set you up for the day. I would recommend this hotel to every
one - it could not be bettered and we will definitely visit again. A very enjoyable experience
Chris and June.

Reviewed by
chris robinson

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very noisy at night!
The rooms were great and the landlady very helpful but I don't know if she is aware of what goes on in the rooms in the night. We were woken up several times with shouting/swearing/banging of doors at 3am! I was told that someone had a party in one of the rooms.......

ManagementResponse

Due to the nature of the hotel industry it is always down to the respect of others that our guests enjoy a quiet stay. We are extremely disappointed to find out from a review rather than in person that this guest had a bad experience, had our attention been brought to this matter then we may have been able to deal with the problem guests directly, and at the time, but we were not given this opportunity.

Reviewed by
D Young

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
Only stayed one night here to visit nearby museum. Lovely place to stay, very clean, good breakfast. Entertainment on in the Pub downstairs was just our cup of tea. Would definitely stay again. What a gem of a place for a budget overnight stay.

Reviewed by
susan norman

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to stay
Excellent hosts and a wonderful welcome. Breakfast was superb and staff extremely helpful. Would certainly recommend staying at this venue, we hope to go again

Reviewed by
A WILLIAMS

From Haverfordwest, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next