No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Thistlewood

3AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
203, Urmston Lane, Stretford, Manchester, M32 9EF
The Thistlewood is situated on the outskirts of Manchester in Stretford, with easy access to the M60, junction 7. Manchester United's Old Trafford Football Ground and Lancashire County Cricket Ground (Old Trafford) are both within walking distance. Manchester’s International Airport is just 7 miles away. The Thistlewood is set in a grand Victorian house, with nine en-suite rooms, which are well equipped with a flat screen colour TV/DVD player and tea/coffee making facilites. The bed and breakfast accommodation also contains a guest lounge where guests can relax and enjoy a good book. There is also a licensed bar which is used for private functions and family gatherings. Alcoholic drinks are available to enjoy in the lounge or the privacy of your own bedroom. The Thistlewood is an ideal base from which to explore the city of Manchester and its numerous attractions, with Media City and the Imperial War Museum just a short distance away. For those who enjoy the shops, The Trafford Centre contains all you need under one roof, or you can alternatively take a short drive in to the city centre and check out the high street names. Event City is just minutes away, adjacent to The Trafford Centre.
Picture of The Thistlewood, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely B&B
Lovely warm and friendly welcome, nice B&B with lovely gardens, room and food. Will definitely stay again. thank you

Reviewed by
DAVID S

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful character
A beautifully quiet retreat and a peaceful room to base yourself in whilst visiting Manchester and the surrounding area. There was a warm welcome upon arrival and breakfast was also good.

Reviewed by
Lee J

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, friendly people running this conveniently placed B&B. The house is absolutely gorgeous with stained glass windows, coloured glass chandeliers, beautifully landscaped grounds, and a Japanese themed breakfast room. The bedroom we stayed in was quite small but clean and had all the things you would expect, including a selection of teas.
Negative points: The windows are obviously very old and could do with some work doing on them, as they didn't close properly and there was a draft. This was welcome on the balmy night we stayed, but I wouldn't fancy it in the depths of winter! The room itself was a little tired, with some cracks in the coving in the bathroom and bedroom. And I'm never convinced by carpeted bathrooms, but that's probably more to do with personal choice.
Breakfast-wise, as a Vegetarian I would have liked the choice of a proper Veggie breakfast, but I understand people like me are a rare breed in Manchester, so maybe this is wishful thinking from an unusual person! They catered to my off-piste food requests as well as they could though, and I certainly wasn't underfed!
I might have been more comfortable in a room like this if it had cost less; for £62 a night I hoped for a little more than I got. But I can only commend the customer service, and everything was clean and reasonably well cared for, despite it starting to show its age.

Reviewed by
A Corvyn

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

typical standard single room
The room was typical of the type of room allocated for single occupancy-in the loft and poky. We pay over the odds for substandard rooms and this was no exception. Clean, yes, but the shower was unusable-switching from freezing cold to boiling in an instant-I could actually hear the water boiling in the shower unit! I would stay here again, but only because it is convenient for the purpose of my visit to the area.

Reviewed by
Gillian M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay
I found this hotel so be exactly what I wanted.The room was fine,the breakfast in the morning was included in the price and was served up quickly after taking my order.
The staff that I encountered were friendly.The hotel itself was very clean and it appeared to be in a very nice part of the town.The car park was very secure and large enough for several cars.
I would have liked to spend more time here but as I had a meeting in Doncaster planned and I was soon on my way after breakfast .

Reviewed by
Peter G

From Hampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the hotel was in a quiet area of Manchester,bus stop right outside the building..Had problems with the shower though either too hot or too cold.

Reviewed by
s duff

From Chatham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A
A

Reviewed by
A Caine

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute booking
Received a warm welcome on arrival, full personal touch unlike chain hotels, shown lounge, breakfast room and taken to our room. Breakfast was very good. Value for money. Have already recommended and will no doubt be staying again when in the area.

Reviewed by
Peter H

From Trowbridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a find!
We needed a hotel to visit our daughter but the weekend we chose clashed with a ManU match of significance and all the hotels we had used were fully booked or over priced. So we went to Trip Advisor to see what we could find and they came up with this gem. Not only was it clean and well presented the facilities were wonderful. The bed was comfortable and the leafy street we were in was quiet yet only 10 minutes from the city.
The room was a good size and the bedroom was en suite......well decorated with everything clean. Tea and Coffee as well as an hairdryer. Tv too. Good wardrobe and lighting, The entrance to the hotel has no reception but the landlord was very welcoming and helpful. The building is surrounded by other large redbrick houses and gardens in Stretford. Easy to drive past though so keep your eyes peeled.
Excellent breakfast which was included in the price,,standard fayre with a choice of full english or continental breakfasts.
Such a wonderful find and we will be going back.

Reviewed by
Jane W

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place
This B&B is great for what we wanted to do 45mins walk to Old Trafford really clean great off road parking. The full English isnt the best but will stay again. 4 out of 5 for me.

Reviewed by
Matt Batley

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next