No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Thistlewood

3AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
203, Urmston Lane, Stretford, Manchester, M32 9EF
The Thistlewood is situated on the outskirts of Manchester in Stretford, with easy access to the M60, junction 7. Manchester United's Old Trafford Football Ground and Lancashire County Cricket Ground (Old Trafford) are both within walking distance. Manchester’s International Airport is just 7 miles away. The Thistlewood is set in a grand Victorian house, with nine en-suite rooms, which are well equipped with a flat screen colour TV/DVD player and tea/coffee making facilites. The bed and breakfast accommodation also contains a guest lounge where guests can relax and enjoy a good book. There is also a licensed bar which is used for private functions and family gatherings. Alcoholic drinks are available to enjoy in the lounge or the privacy of your own bedroom. The Thistlewood is an ideal base from which to explore the city of Manchester and its numerous attractions, with Media City and the Imperial War Museum just a short distance away. For those who enjoy the shops, The Trafford Centre contains all you need under one roof, or you can alternatively take a short drive in to the city centre and check out the high street names. Event City is just minutes away, adjacent to The Trafford Centre.
Picture of The Thistlewood, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 70 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fine. room very clean, surprised that they did not do an evening meal, but breakfast was excellent. staff very pleasant, fine for an overnight stay.

Reviewed by
George S

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming building and great staff
The hotel is in a great location and has real character when you enter. Our bed was wonderfully comfortable and I had a great nights sleep. There were plenty of options for breakfast and was an altogether pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
L Jagger

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small Room but Cosy and Warm, Lovely Building
I had a single room, on the second floor. It was quite small but furnished with everything I needed - a decent single wardrobe, desk/dressing table, chair, TV (free view), full-length mirror on the wall, kettle & tea/coffee making supplies. The bed was comfortable. The furniture was all matching, and in very good condition. The en-suite shower room was very small but perfectly adequate for a single room. I stayed on a cold February night and the room was cosy and warm - the radiator had a thermostatic valve which worked. Free WiFi is available, although the reception at the top of the house may be a little weak.
The scrambled eggs I had for breakfast were excellent. I could have had a full English breakfast, but I don't eat that much. The service at breakfast was also very good.
The gateway to the drive of the hotel is quite narrow, so care must be taken when you enter. Also, the road can be very busy, so leaving the drive can be a bit tricky as the view is restricted. The drive goes down to a small car park at the bottom of the garden, at the rear of the hotel. It is quite narrow and a bit uneven but well-lit at night.
The owner greeted me when I booked in and carried my case up to my room. I'm sure that if I'd asked for help getting my luggage from my car, then he would have done that too.
The building itself is lovely - late Victorian with Arts & Crafts original features. If you want a modern, plastic, soul-less hotel then this is not for you, but if you like interesting buildings and good service, then I recommend it.

Reviewed by
Alma D

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value weekend stay
We booked this hotel as it was a reasonable price & only a 45 minute walk away from Old Trafford.
Room was really nice, staff friendly & a really good breakfast.

Reviewed by
Paul T

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Thistlewood
Stay was spoilt by shower which didn't work very well.
I would stay there again as it is convenient to the purpose of our visit to Stretford but I would be upset if the shower situation hadn't improved and would look elsewhere for our following visit.
I would recommend it with proviso.

Reviewed by
R Richards

From Finedon, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Works Christmas Party
Staid at the Thistlewood for one night with 3 collegues for our xmas party. Accomodation was basic and the shower wasnt the best but didnt expect anything much for the money we paid, The hotel is very clean and the breakfast was lovely.

Reviewed by
julie r

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Thistlewood
Great value, greatfood the only problem was the room was a little on the small size, but would certainly use the same accommodation again.

Reviewed by
eugene e

From crewe, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If you are fed up with the clinical look of travel lodges and premier inns then this is for you. Like stepping back in time but in a good way.

Reviewed by
Karen M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

From the time of my booking and right through to my departure I was well looked after. The room was comfortable, clean and met expectations.

Reviewed by
Peter Winter

From Newmarket, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
I found the hotel to be in a great location. Bus stop outside the gate for the trafford centre. Nice ouv down the road. Staff were friendly and hotel was kept very clean. Unable to get staffs attention on first evening to resolve a matter.

Reviewed by
O Kelly

From Co. Meath, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next