Reviews - The Thistlewood

3

203, Urmston Lane, Stretford, Manchester, M32 9EF

Price From 141.25 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (64)

92% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • a sawyer

  • August 2015

Lovely house and excellent value for money.

Will stay again.

  • Helen Y

  • June 2015

comfortable stay for one night

Lovely place, nice breakfast.

Room comfortable, quiet, only one drawback which was fine for one night but might get annoying on a longer stay - we were on top floor and door to ensuite bathroom was very low (husband's chest height!) with steps down beyond it so had to stop and negotiate step at same time. Would still recommend, as everything else was very good, and rooms on lower floor presumably would not have any similar problem.

  • chris Reid

  • April 2015

i stayed here because i was doing manchester marathon it was a nice hotel the breakfast was nice my wife tells me.

as i did not have the full english. i had a packed breakfast with poridge fruit and a couple off rolls as i was doing the marathon and i thought this was good off them to do this for me. i would stay here again if i am in manchester,

  • J Wright

  • March 2015

Man Utd 3 - Tottenham 0

Used the Thistlewood for a weekend visit to Old Trafford.

Ideal location without paying over the odds to get nearer to the ground. Approximately 40 minute walk to the ground or 10 min walk to the nearest metro station. Hotel was old fashioned but exceptionally clean. Breakfast was delicious and included in the reasonable price. Shower weren't great but was wet and warm. Also about a 5 minute drive to Trafford centre so really can't complain.

  • Susan Gill

  • March 2015

The room was a little small for two people not on intimate terms sharing but for one night it was fine.

It was rather warm and the radiator would not turn off. Otherwise it was great, the matresses were about a foot deep and very comfortable. My colleague and I are both Deaf (boarding school means sharing a room is no hardship). I let them know this and requested a TV with subtitles and the gentleman who received us was great, making sure we understood without being patronising and showing us how to get the text on the TV. Breakfast was probably the best I have had in a hotel/guest house type accommodation, so full marks for that. I would return and have already recommended it to other colleagues who may need accommodation in the area. Lovely old house with many of the original features preserved.

  • S Barev

  • March 2015

Trip to Old Traffird

Hello there I have booked this hotel because it was near to the Manchester United ground and training center.

There were a free parking and the price were affordable.

The people were great very nice and kind. I did't expect taht the breakfast to be so delicious. i would recommend it to all my friend who's going there

  • D Gray

  • March 2015

A breath of fresh air!

What a lovely homely hotel.

Our room was very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable, it was a struggle to get up in time for the delicious cooked breakfast ( which was perfect!).

  • George S

  • March 2015

fine.

room very clean, surprised that they did not do an evening meal, but breakfast was excellent. staff very pleasant, fine for an overnight stay.

  • Alma D

  • February 2015

Small Room but Cosy and Warm, Lovely Building

I had a single room, on the second floor.

It was quite small but furnished with everything I needed - a decent single wardrobe, desk/dressing table, chair, TV (free view), full-length mirror on the wall, kettle & tea/coffee making supplies. The bed was comfortable. The furniture was all matching, and in very good condition. The en-suite shower room was very small but perfectly adequate for a single room. I stayed on a cold February night and the room was cosy and warm - the radiator had a thermostatic valve which worked. Free WiFi is available, although the reception at the top of the house may be a little weak. The scrambled eggs I had for breakfast were excellent. I could have had a full English breakfast, but I don't eat that much. The service at breakfast was also very good. The gateway to the drive of the hotel is quite narrow, so care must be taken when you enter. Also, the road can be very busy, so leaving the drive can be a bit tricky as the view is restricted. The drive goes down to a small car park at the bottom of the garden, at the rear of the hotel. It is quite narrow and a bit uneven but well-lit at night. The owner greeted me when I booked in and carried my case up to my room. I'm sure that if I'd asked for help getting my luggage from my car, then he would have done that too. The building itself is lovely - late Victorian with Arts & Crafts original features. If you want a modern, plastic, soul-less hotel then this is not for you, but if you like interesting buildings and good service, then I recommend it.

  • L Jagger

  • February 2015

Charming building and great staff

The hotel is in a great location and has real character when you enter.

Our bed was wonderfully comfortable and I had a great nights sleep. There were plenty of options for breakfast and was an altogether pleasant stay.