No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Astor House

4AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
14 Oldfield Rd, , , Bath, BA2 3ND
Astor House is a large Victorian house providing comfortable and tastefully decorated accommodation with on-site car parking and only minutes away from the heart of the historic centre of World Heritage City of Bath. Ideally situated away from the traffic, yet only half a mile from the heart of the city. Enjoy the delicious breakfasts which offers something to suit everyone’s tastes, including vegetarian options. There is a large walled garden which guests are welcome to use. For those walkers amongst you, it's just a 10-15 minutes stroll to the centre....for those who aren't walkers then buses and taxis are readily available to and from the centre. Astor House is also centrally located as a touring base for Stonehenge, Avebury, Wells, Glastonbury, The Cotswolds, Longleat and other delights - just an easy drive away. Astor House has a 2 night minimum stay on Friday and Saturday nights.
Picture of Astor House, Bath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 45 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Astor House b&b Bath
The room was lovely. A bright and nicely furnished and clean loft room with a very comfy double bed and an ok single bed. The bathroom was warm and clean with plenty of toiletries. The room was a bit dark and quiet for sleeping and there was a tv and a kettle with tea, coffee and even hot chocolate and biscuits. A very nice touch. All the staff were very friendly and the rest of the house was lovely too. The only thing that let Astor House down was the breakfast. Some of the food was old and they had used the microwave for cooking. We would still come back as we loved everything else but they should pay some attention to the breakfast.

Reviewed by
Ulli Drewett

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice, comfortable, peaceful
Business trip so just needed somewhere quiet to relax and this fitted the bill.
Plenty of parking around and only 20mins walk from centre and pubs/restaurants.
Sadly unable to sample breakfasts due to early starts but room was just as required.

Reviewed by
W Bowden

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very homely,clean and would stop there again if in vicinity. Only downside is if walking to centre it's a bit of an hill to get there, otherwise very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
T Noble

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely weekend
The entire experience was a pleasure, it's that simple!

Reviewed by
peter scott

From Sleaford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay in Bath
We had a great evening at Astor House in Bath. The free parking was an absolute bonus and it was only a 20 minute walk into the centre. The room was very pleasant although we were quite hot at night! I would recommend a stay here anytime.

Reviewed by
Stef C

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful and welcoming house
I was the only customer at Astor House on the evening I stayed and had the run of the place. It is an immaculate and beautiful house which goes above and beyond the normal standards for a B&B. Whilst I did not make use of most of the supplied sundries I appreciate the thought that went into supplying them.

Reviewed by
T Hinkley

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Touch of class
Sadly I spent all too little time at Astor House and was too full from a meal the night before to fill up on breakfast, but this place is a little delight. Happily stay there again.. next time with my other half, and take more time to enjoy the city.

Reviewed by
Paul F

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
A really comfortable and welcoming stay in Bath. Good value for money at Astor House and a good location for getting to the city (provided you use a taxi or bus to come back up the steep hill from the city centre)

Reviewed by
Philip M

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

As a small guest house this was adequate. Room and en-suite clean. Breakfast not that special. Breakfast room had significant evidence of snails/slugs that had obviously crawled around at night.
Welcome by owner was adequate, not overly friendly.
Good location to walk to city centre and area to park car off road although front of house and parking area in need of maintenance.

Reviewed by
D Cutler

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My only regret is not using the hot tub!
It's a beautiful walk from the town center up a small hill through a narrow path. You get to see a gray veiw along your way. We were allowed to check in a few hours early after a very short wait in te beautiful study with a pot of tea. We were greeted by a splendid veiw from our bedroom too.
The bathroom was roomy, the bed was comfy... And we had complimentary custard creams and hot chocolate as well as tea, which I thought was a nice touch. The whole experience was just perfect in every way.

Reviewed by
R Kelly

From Erith, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next