No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Astor House

4AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
14 Oldfield Rd, , , Bath, BA2 3ND
Astor House is a large Victorian house providing comfortable and tastefully decorated accommodation with on-site car parking and only minutes away from the heart of the historic centre of World Heritage City of Bath. Ideally situated away from the traffic, yet only half a mile from the heart of the city. Enjoy the delicious breakfasts which offers something to suit everyone’s tastes, including vegetarian options. There is a large walled garden which guests are welcome to use. For those walkers amongst you, it's just a 10-15 minutes stroll to the centre....for those who aren't walkers then buses and taxis are readily available to and from the centre. Astor House is also centrally located as a touring base for Stonehenge, Avebury, Wells, Glastonbury, The Cotswolds, Longleat and other delights - just an easy drive away. Astor House has a 2 night minimum stay on Friday and Saturday nights.
Picture of Astor House, Bath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My only regret is not using the hot tub!
It's a beautiful walk from the town center up a small hill through a narrow path. You get to see a gray veiw along your way. We were allowed to check in a few hours early after a very short wait in te beautiful study with a pot of tea. We were greeted by a splendid veiw from our bedroom too.
The bathroom was roomy, the bed was comfy... And we had complimentary custard creams and hot chocolate as well as tea, which I thought was a nice touch. The whole experience was just perfect in every way.

Reviewed by
R Kelly

From Erith, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what I needed.
Simple, friendly accommodation. I was given a room with plenty of space, enough so I could do some paperwork. The bathroom and toiletries made the early start easier, and breakfast was well worth getting up for.

Reviewed by
James B

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Guest House not far from town
As other reviews suggest we arrived to find the room keys pinned to the front door so that we could show ourselves to our room, which as it happens was very roomy and inviting with its fresh look and relaxing feel. The guest house was about 10-15 minute walk down the hill into town and really easy to find. Breakfast was good with a range of options. Staff were friendly and helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our short stay here.

Reviewed by
Allan B

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A comfortable stay
Overall a pleasant stay. Room 1 afforded a lovely view over Bath. Facilities are quite basic but everything is catered for and Liz the owner is only to happy to help as necessary. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Please note that the hotel is located above the city centre so whilst the 15 minute walk into town is reasonably easy it is an uphill grind coming back!

Reviewed by
steve f

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable accomodation
The house id a very nice example of local architecture and well maintained. The rooms were comfortable but the bed too small. I am six foot two and the bed was six foot.
The breakfast choice was very good but I did not enjoy the full English much and should , on reflection have chosen an alternative from the food on offer.

Reviewed by
A Seaton

From Epsom, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Owners absent
When we arrived our keys were left at the door. There was no owners presence in the hotel. We wanted a cold drink as it was an extremely hot day but nobody was around. We also wanted some local advice - again the house was deserted other than guests - seemed strange. A bottle of water may have been nice but the possibility of a cold drink, even to purchase, even better. It was a lovely place but certainly lacked the personal touch and at £110 I thought it rather expensive.

Reviewed by
Jane M

From Poulton le Fylde, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Astor House - what a great find!
Had an absolutely lovely stay at Astor House.
Staff were lovely, the room and communal areas were spotless and a very relaxed atmosphere due to the very nice decor!
Would definitely stay again and recommend others to do so also.

Reviewed by
Lisa B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal location for the Tunnels.
Relaxed and comfortable house.wi-fi a bit hit and miss.
Perfect location for cycling the tunnels and canal paths , we would definitely use Astor House again.

Reviewed by
Carolyn S

From Marazion, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Twin room size
We found the twin room was rather small for the 2 of us-and said so to the proprietor-but this is the problem when booking over the internet - you don't get to find out size of rooms. We walked in to the City but it isn't easy if you have mobility problems and buses are expensive although readily available. We used the park and ride on the first day-that was brilliant and if you have a day in the City better than paying parking fees!!

Reviewed by
J Mitchell

From Bodmin, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Guest House, friendly service
A great guest house 3/4 mile from the city centre. Beautifully clean, and wonderful breakfast. A gentle walk into Bath in the mornings, but it is up hill on the way back, but still a manageable walk

Reviewed by
Jo R

From Southend on Sea, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next