No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Marlborough House

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
2 Marlborough Gardens, Stanwix, , Carlisle, CA3 9NW
Marlborough House bed and breakfast offers you friendly and comfortable accommodation in Carlisle and within easy reach of numerous local tourist attractions. Gretna Green is only seven miles away, and you can easily reach the historic Hadrian’s Wall. The house is situated in Stanwix and is believed to be situated on top of an old Roman fort named Uxelodunum (Stanwix). Also visit to our great border city which in itself is steeped in ancient Roman and Border Reiver history. Take in a guided tour of the city's landmarks; visit our Cathedral, Castle and Tullie House museum. The University of Cumbria is only a 5 minute walk away on Brampton Road. Apart from this there is an abundance of shopping in Carlisle city centre which is a 10 minute walk from Marlborough House. All this and more awaits you in the great border city of Carlisle and the wild Scottish borders. **PLEASE NOTE: Children under 5 are free. However, Children who are between 5 and 14 are £17.50 each. Children over 14 are charged as adults**
Picture of Marlborough House, Carlisle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good host, friendly and very accommodating. Breakfast was excellent - couldn't be bettered!!!

Reviewed by
stephen e

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming and friendly. Great location and facilities
I was given a choice of breakfast and my room was lovely. My daughter was starting Univ and came with me one afternoon during my stay to watch a bit of TV. I had asked if this was OK and I returned to find an extra cup and packet of biscuits for my daughter. So thoughtful.

Reviewed by
Yvonne D

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful B&B
We had a very nice stay at the Marlborough and Roy was a great host. I'm sorry about the cone!

Reviewed by
Clare D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall Fab

Reviewed by
N Tice

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful night
On arrival I was greeted by the owner, who took me up to my room, which was very clean and tidy, he showed me were everything was and explained the door locking routine, I asked for an early breakfast
Which was no problem, as he was the owner, cook, cleaner and chief bottle washer, he would be there in the morning and he was, and prepared a first class breakfast. I have stayed in various hotels in the local area, and his brekfast beat them all.As I said I have stayed in various accommodation, hotels, B&B,s and have had difficulty gettig a good night's sleep as the walls appear to be paper thin, but in this instance I slept like a top, thanks.An added bonus was that the town centre was approximately 10-15 min walk away.

Reviewed by
James Sharkey

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely weekend away
Very knowledgeable about the area very friendly spotless comfy lovely breakfast

Reviewed by
Malcolm M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay in carlisle
great Victorian guest house. spacious, clean and airy. Roy our host was very helpful and informative. Lots of places to see and things to do brochures on hand. breakfast was hearty and of a very high standard. Roy so chilled it felt as though I had known him all my life.

Reviewed by
peter b

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B&B. Good service and lovely breakfast!

Reviewed by
Phil W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place to stay
On arrival I was greeted by the owner, who took me up to my room, which was very clean and tidy, he showed me were everything was and explained the door locking routine.
The best breakfast I have had for a long time, I stayed in various hotels in the local area, and his brekfast beats them all.

Reviewed by
P McQuillan

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little guest house with superb customer service and even better breakfast
Could not have been happier with this little guesthouse. Was travelling on a business trip and arrived to warm welcome and owner could not have been more helpful.
Bed was comfy, room was quiet even though on major road, room was spotlessly clean, good shower and parking available right outside.
Breakfast included some of the best sausages I have ever tasted!
Highly recommended as base for exploring Carlisle (10 minutes walk) or as a business stop over.

Reviewed by
Jon B

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next