No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Strathmore Hotel

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
MARINE ROAD EAST , MORECAMBE, LA4 5AP
Ideally positioned on Morecambe's East Promenade, the Strathmore Hotel overlooks the bay and Lakeland Fells. We are close to several places of interest and attractions such as Morecambe Promenade, Morecambe Sands, The Platform, The Dome and the many seasonal festival, and we also make for a great base from which to explore the neighbouring Lake District and Lancaster.

While staying at the Strathmore Hotel you are welcome to dine in our Restaurant choosing from our set-priced Table d'Hôte menu, enjoy the evening’s entertainment or simply relax in our comfortable lounges and Bar with views great views over Morecambe Bay.
Picture of The Strathmore Hotel, MORECAMBE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
40% recommended this accommodation to a friend 50% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Traveller
The room was by the fire escape with a tiny window, very hot and claustrophobic. The TV had barely 5 channels, how do they manage that in this day and age?. Overall the room facilities were OK for the money, couldn't fault the staff, they prepared a breakfast for me earlier than their other guests who were tourists, and the quality of the food was excellent.

Reviewed by
george e

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fawlty Towers is alive in Morecombe !! A travellers tale!!
Arriving at about 19.00 after a very long day driving and working, to be told they did not have enough food to prepare a meal for me. No real suggestions how to overcome this issue, other than rather vague directions to the town centre. Room poor with shower cable broken, so water alternated between luke warm and boiling. One bath towel more suited to a hamster than a fully grown man.
At breakfast the next day shunted to back of restaurant, to an identical table, as I was a B&B guest, so could not sit at front !!!! Service was poor at best with "full time" guests being served first with smiles and conversation. As a B&B guest all I received was a long wait for coffee and a breakfast which not only did not meet the description shown in the menu but was small and very poorly prepared. Menu indicated a cooked breakfast to include a Cumberland sausage. Actually received a spoonful of beans , 1 rasher of bacon, 1 hash brown and a sausage which was so cheap I could not actually cut it as it simply squashed due to the lack of any real content. Clearly the cheapest product on the market. Toast was burned ! At this point I complained and due to lack of response left.
In my opinion as a well seasoned traveller who has stayed in many hotels across the country, this was the worst example of British customer care I have ever experienced. I accept that the rate was cheap but that should not detract from a suitable standard of service including an evening meal. I eventually ate at a Chinese restaurant at a quite high cost including taxi fares.
It was obvious that no one cared a jot about my situation. In my opinion the service was mi-sold and clearly the hotel is not set up to provide even the most basic levels of service for the last minute traveller.If so they should not be advertising as such and need to make clear the real level of service they are prepared to offer.
Hotel standard - dismal, customer care - dismal, facilities - dismal.
A poor reflection on the Late Room service I'm afraid.
Richard Rees

Reviewed by
Richard Rees

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a night to remember.
wonderfull time lovely staff will certainly go again

Reviewed by
gerald watson

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very enjoyable stay
A beautiful sea view room which had been redecorated.
Very comfy bed.
Excellent drinks tray and breakfast.
Altogether a very nice break.

Reviewed by
B Taylor

From Clitheroe, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Strathmore Hotel
Tired dated Hotel requires refurb rooms basic look unchanged from the good old 80s, good location though.

Reviewed by
P Jackson

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Going big is not always best.
Hotel is far overated,
I attended as part of a wedding party ,so i stayed two nights .Otherwise i would have left after first terrible,cramped and uncomfortable night..
The only consolation was the staff ( they deserve a medal for loyalty to their employers ) were apologetic for the circumstances,and conditions.
This hotel is way past its ' sell by ' date.

Reviewed by
John Tate

From Withernsea, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

i found i was unable to shut the small window in my room.
my only real problem was the cooked breakfast. I thought it was a childs portion 1 bacon 1 sausage a tablespoon of beans. other than that everything was good. The room was nice and warm and the bed was very comfortable( which was needed as i hurt my back before i left home)

Reviewed by
ian b

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend in morecambe
rooms were lovely and warm, staff very pleasant.only down side to me was the distance to town centre, or shops. busses very few and far between at weekend.

Reviewed by
a bell

From Newton Stewart, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thank you Morecambe
Having worked in Glasgow we decided to treat ourselves to an overnight stop on the Sunday night and Morecame appealed. The Bay Strathmore Hotel's half price Late Room offer (£45 B&B, double ensuite) was ideal for us. And free and available road parking outside made our arrival easy. Although the Strathmore is clearly set up to cater for coach parties/Bay groups with evening entertainment etc, we (rare?) 'overnighters' were made welcome at all times by all the efficient and friendly staff. As well as the usual cereal, fruit, toast etc there was a good choice of hot food for breakfast (including vegetarian). We were both delighted with our choice of kippers and brown bread.
The Strathmore has 3 classes of rooms standard, better(?), best (Premier I think). Unsurprisingly we were in a standard room (# 204) at the back of the hotel. If staying for several days I think an upgrade plus sea view would be worth considering. The bed was comfortable, and bedding and towels fresh and clean. The small TV was adequate for us. (The best rooms have plasma screens) Sadly, although there is a no smoking policy, we smelt stale smoke in the corridor outside our room, and somewhat in the room too - although a window had been left open in an attempt to refresh the air. The shower unit in the en suite is ok but showing age, and wasn't as sparkling clean as the rest of the bathroom.
Although the morning was grey, fortified with our good breakfast, we enjoyed exploring the town, elevenses at the Midland Hotel, and a stroll along the seafront before heading home.

Reviewed by
Carrie H

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't Think We Could Go Back !!!
The hotel room was very dated and old fashioned. The shower was in the corner and was absolutely tiny! Problems with trying to flush the toilet, and the TV was from the late eighties. Because we were staying for bed and breakfast we were put to the back of the dining room which made us feel like lepers!

Reviewed by
w MCBRIDE

From Airdrie, UK
Who stayed in October 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.