No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ovington House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Prudhoe, , , Ovington, NE42 6DH
Ovington House bed and breakfast accommodation, Ovington, Northumberland situated close to Newcastle upon Tyne and the Roman Wall offers a warm welcome to all vistitors. With both bed and breakfast accommodation and holiday cottage availability Ovington House caters for both overnight stay and extended holiday accommodation.. The three guest bedrooms each have their own charm and character furnished with sumptuous fabrics, chandeliers and antique furniture. The comfortable rooms include one with a king-size bed and the family room has a double bed with memory mattress - the ultimate in relaxation! These are both south facing with great views across the grounds and Tyne valley. All rooms have en suite showers and the family room also has a bath. Flat screen TV, tea & coffee, hairdryer, iron & ironing board. Ideal for the walker, the naturalist and the stressed city soul . Ovington is a small village between the A69 Newcastle-Carlisle road and the River Tyne bridge joining Ovingham and Prudhoe. A great location with Newcastle International Airport only 15 miles away and the A1 only 12 miles away. The award winning market town of Hexham. Local attractions include The National Trust properties of Thomas Bewick’s and George Stevenson birthplaces, Cragside and Wallington. Amongst the many sites in Newcastle/Gateshead are the Sage and the Baltic or why not head up to the breathtaking coastline of Northumberland with its endless sandy beaches, or visit one of its many castles such as Alnwick with it’s famous gardens and tree house. For a coffee or an evening meal there is Winships restaurant just around the corner.
Picture of Ovington House, Ovington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet and comfortable
I found Ovington House quite by chance and it proved to be my lucky night. Quiet, clean, comfortable, warm and with the excellent Winships bar and dining room 200 yards away this is the perfect B&B for me. I will be back.

Reviewed by
Paul Brooking

From Knutsford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb B&B
Everything about Ovington House was just perfect. My room was delightful and extremely comfortable. Breakfast was delicious.

Reviewed by
Sue B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Waited for us to arrive (after we were slightly late) welcomed with a smile and very friendly.

Reviewed by
Nick B

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as Expected
After reading reviews of this accommodation on here and other media we must say it fell below our expectations, the owner was very helpful with local information and the property in a nice quiet location, our room was small and the furnishings described as 'Shabby Chique' would be a kind way of putting it, Breakfasts were fine and plentiful, and the nearby restaurant for evening meals was excellent and very busy even mid week. So why do we say below our expectations, the room service was non existent, we stayed for two nights and nothing was done in the room, no cleaning, no restocking of tea/coffee etc, no replenishing of toilet/washroom items, bed not made, we had to go and request and collect tea/coffee/milk and toilet items ourselves, we were told that the cleaner had not shown up and that is why it was not done, in a 4* rated establishment we would have expected the owners to make other arrangements when this happens. No financial compensation was made for not receiving the service we should have had and paid for.
irrespective of the room service or lack of it, our stay in this accommodation and area was not ruined we accepted that on occasions this sort of thing is going to happen, however, it could have been dealt with better.

Reviewed by
Graham N

From Sheerness, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfection!
Beautiful place to stay,wonderful welcome. Everything I could have asked for was already provided. Breakfast ordered the night before, delicious!
Great location for Tyne Valley, Newcastle and Nothumberland.
Looking forward to coming back again!

Reviewed by
L Simmons

From Isle of Arran, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent all round
A friendly welcome to a beautiful house in an excellent location.

Reviewed by
David P

From Truro, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Whole experience was excellent
This is one of the best places for bed and breakfast which we have ever used. We would have no hesitation in reccommending it to other people

Reviewed by
Edward Cawston

From Stonehouse, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It would have been useful to know beforehand that we needed to pay by cash or cheque

Reviewed by
J Rogers

From Wales
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, welcoming stay.
Really lovely place to stay after a hard days work. Made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived. This was a short stay as we had an early start the next day. Cooked breakfast just how we wanted it. We would stay here again, hopefully a little longer next time.

Reviewed by
Rachel Joy

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Practically perfect.
The ideal place for visiting the sites of Hadrian's wall & Northumberland countryside.

Reviewed by
G Newman

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next