No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cheviot Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Main Street, Bellingham, , Hexham, NE48 2AU
Deep in the heart of the North Tyne valley, in the village of Bellingham, Northumberland lies the Cheviot Hotel. Here, the fantastic high standards are sure to entice guests and visitors from far and wide time and time again! Spend time relaxing & de-stressing amid the glorious, slow pace of the countryside or take advantage of the activities and adventure it has to offer; there’s always something for everyone! Our New website is currently under construction and will be up and running as soon as it’s ready, with an online booking system, image gallery and links to a host of local amenities & attractions.
Picture of The Cheviot Hotel, Hexham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room we got wasn't the one one we booked on LateRooms.com
We booked the room on LateRooms.com. It was the only room available, a family room at £90 pn. We didn't mind paying for a family room as it had a walk-in shower, which was better than a shower- over- the- bath, in view of my wife's knee operation. The room was also said to be overlooking the village centre. When we arrived I was shown to a room at the back of the building with no view of the main street. The bathroom had no walk-in-shower - just a small nozzle shower head above the bath. When I questioned why we had not got the room that I thought was confirmed on LateRooms.com I was told that by the time my booking had got through to the Cheviot Hotel someone had walked off the street and booked the family room that we thought was ours. I was told that they then gave us the only other available room at a reduced price of £80. Is the reason we didn't get the room we thought we'd booked the fault of the Cheviot Hotel, Bellingham or of the booking system of LateRooms.com? Our room was very clean with a very comfortable bed but the loss of the walk-in shower and the aspect over the centre of the village didn't justify only a £10 reduction on our expectations when we booked through LateRooms.com

Reviewed by
Tom Little

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great place to stay
Although the hotel is in the process of being done up the room I stayed in was great and my welcome was great. When refurbishment is complete I am sure it will be a brilliant place to stay. The breakfast was amazing and I would recommend staying .

Reviewed by
P Stratford

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
We stayed at the Cheviot in Bellingham on a saturday night for a family birthday celebration. For the amount we paid (£80), we thought our stay was very good value. The staff were pleasant & efficient without being overbearing & the rooms were adequate with a very comfortable king sized bed, although the bedroom decor did look very tired. Breakfast on sunday morning was first rate with lots of choices in a very pleasant breakfast room.
Overall, I would say a very pleasant stay in a beautiful part of the country.

Reviewed by
B Taylor

From Sunderland, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wow!
Cheap and convenient and surprisingly wonderful. For a great welcome, excellent breakfast, a good quality quiet room and great service this is a fantastic place to stay. There was a band playing in the bar but my worries about getting a good sleep were completely unfounded - very little sound reached my room, the bed was comfortable and the room clean and well equipped. Definitely recommended.

Reviewed by
Jim V

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mould in shower. Shaver light didn't work. Low shower pressure. There was a large hole/ damage on the wall on the left as you ducked to come in the room door! We had been away for a month and stayed at a lot of B&B &Hotel/ Motels. This was not good value compared to a number of others. Needs some money spent on it.

Reviewed by
Graham H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good old Hotel
Good food and excellent Staff

Reviewed by
D Macrae

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden gem
When we first arrived at the Cheviot Hotel l was a little disappointed as the bar is a little dated and l thought that it would not be as nice a place to stay as l'd hoped. This was definitely a wrong first impression. Our room was lovely and and very nicely decorated but the bathroom could do with a little bit of tlc. The bar was quite busy both nights and it appears to be a popular haunt for the locals which gave a really lovely atmosphere to the Cheviot. We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was outstanding. We had aimed to go to a different restaurant on our second night but decided we wouldnt find one as good. We had rump steak, seabass and a roast beef dinner, all of which we could thoroughly recommend. The breakfast was simply the best, a good choice and the only complaint was probably too big portions. Hopefully it wont be too long before we return .....

Reviewed by
Helen C

From Malton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.