No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ald White Craig Farm

3Self Classified Farmhouse Ratings explained
Shield Hill, , , Haltwhistle, NE49 9NW
Ald White Craig Farm has five self contained holiday cottages within tastefully converted farm buildings. Situated on the edge of the Northumberland National Park, it makes an ideal base for walking, cycling, exploring Hadrian's Wall or simply relaxing whilst ovelooking the wild open countryside. Ald White Craig Farm's central location is perfect for day trips to the Scottish Borders, Newcastle, Carlisle, the Northern Lakes, and the MetroCentre. All of our accommodation has ample parking, fully equipped kitchen areas, bed linen and hand towels, TV and DVD players, and a communal cleaning store. Pets are welcome, but please let us know before you arrive if you do plan to bring a pet along. Most of our accommodation (excluding the Wren's Nest) have cots and high chairs. All of our accommodation is no smoking. Ald White Craig is the ideal venue for family parties and get-togethers. Come and use our gardens, we will provide an awning and barbecues to make the occasion more special. Ald White Craig has facilities to allow horse lovers to bring their four legged friend with them; stabling and ample space for horse boxes, come and discover the bridle paths in the Northumbrian countryside.
Picture of Ald White Craig Farm, Haltwhistle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cottage
Quiet, comfortable & friendly

Reviewed by
Louise d

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

relaxing place, helpful hosts
Farm, chickens, goats, county pub nearby, quite area and warm nice family. Exactly what I needed.

Reviewed by
Noam B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and helpful owners
Very friendly and helpful owners

Reviewed by
Philip Stewart Henderson

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what was needed
We had walked the South Tyne Trail from Alston and booked this for an overnight stop self catering, picking up food in Haltwhistle. After the last half mile up hill the accommodation was just what was needed. Only the slightest bit of TLC is needed as with most properties, but nothing that would stop us staying again.

Reviewed by
D Richards

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay in Smithy Cottage in April 2014
Perfect self-catering accommodation for two people. We were made to feel very welcome and would highly recommend Smithy Cottage and Ald White Craig Farm for any couple seeking a quiet break close to Hadrian's Wall. The views from the lounge and bedroom were beautiful.

Reviewed by
Christopher G

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very small compact cottage for two people for a short stay
Very nice for one night.Very small and basic. Bathroom area a bit of a nightmare particularly if you dont know each other well even then its not ideal. Suitable for one person only.

Reviewed by
WILLIAM L

From Warwick, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a great stay staff very helpfull

Reviewed by
Stephen Dawson

From Bedlington, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant place
Very friendly welcome and great place to stay - even if the red squirrel stayed in hiding!!!

Reviewed by
alan n

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy stay in Wren's Nest micro cottage
We stayed for 2 nights in February with our Border Terrier and found Wren's Nest just the right size for us. It is compact but had everything we needed. We were cosy and warm and really enjoyed our stay. The owners made us very welcome, they are very down to earth and friendly. Their goats are fabulous and the views are stunning. There are other sized cottages available. There are some very good dog friendly eating places in Hexham and Haltwhistle the helpful tourist info ladies in Hexham helped us out there, although we found nothing dog friendly in Carlisle. We also visited Hadrians Wall and Houstead Roman fort which are also dog friendly. Beautiful countryside, we will go back to Ald White Craig Farm again as we had a perfect long weekend there.

Reviewed by
Melanie Hardy

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A really great place to stay!

We were made to feel very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. The cottage was very homely and comfortable. The kids had a great time especially seeing the goats and chickens in the morning. We will definitely come again...

Reviewed by
Manuel Fernandez

From Barnet, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next