No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Elephant on the Tyne Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Elephant on the Tyne Hotel, Green Lane, , Gateshead, NE10 0SB
The Elephant on the Tyne Hotel is located on the south bank of the River Tyne in Gateshead near Newcastle. Enjoying the best of both worlds, the hotel is situated by the riverside, and is only two miles from the city's commercial and entertainment centre. Newcastle's International Airport is just 15km away. The hustle and bustle of the thriving centre of Newcastle is nearby with its wealth of shops, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. The city is renowned for its shopping and the famous Metro Centre shopping complex is just 10 minutes away. Newcastle boasts a number of places of cultural interest such as The Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art, The Sage, the Centre for Life science centre and museums. Other places of interest nearby are the historic city of Durham, Beamish and the historic sites within Northumberland including Hadrians Wall. The hotel offers 27 comfortable, spacious bedrooms. Rooms are available as twin, triple and double and we also have multi rooms which are ideal for families or for groups of up to four people wishing to share. Many of the rooms boast a spectacular view of the River Tyne. Only moments away from Newcastle City Centre and with ample free car parking, we can offer a smart and professional environment where you and your colleagues can conduct your business in complete privacy and without interruption. Should your requirements involve overnight stays for you or your colleagues, we can offer special prices which can be included in the package if required. Fine food is served in the welcoming Library Bar and Restaurant. The hotel boasts a fabulous terrace where you can relax overlooking the River Tyne. Every effort is made to ensure your stay is a pleasurable one.
Picture of The Elephant on the Tyne Hotel, Gateshead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 65 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
51% recommended this accommodation to a friend 57% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap, cheerful and convenient, But! Please, get the facility to take a debit card!!

Reviewed by
Gavin S

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant little hotel with beautiful views
The customers service was excellent very nice staff. A taxi into Newcastle was only £6 so that saved us a lot. The room was lovely very comfortable beds and the views of the river Tyne were stunning. Would definitely stay here again. Great value for money.

Reviewed by
Rachel S

From Brampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel is run down and has very thin walls
We booked this as we were participating in a 5k run in Newcastle and needed somewhere to stay, based on the price I was not expecting 5 star however the place is very run down and needs some real investment to be remotely appealing. The décor is very old and the work they have attempted to undertake to update the place has been done without really investment - i.e. new wallpaper over damp / leaks which are then just showing over the new paper. Breakfast was also disappointing - everything has been friend within an inch of its life so the eggs were rubbery as where the tasteless sausages. I have worked in hotels and you don't need to spend a fortune to improve these things. The view of the Tyne while we had breakfast was pretty impressive though, and the staff were polite enough - although having been told we could pay on check out (as they don't take card and we didn't have the full amount in cash on us) they then reminded us every time they saw us that we owed them the money which became uncomfortable!

Reviewed by
Sarah L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was ok although nice view. Reception clised early 10pm at night and there was no food available in hotel or closeby.

Reviewed by
m larkin

From Magherafelt, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Does the job
Owner/manager let us check in two hour early and was very friendly and accommodating. We weren't looking for anything high end and it was pretty much perfect for as a crash pad for a weekend trip to Newcastle. Everything was as expected and in decent condition. Would have liked some teabags in our room but the staff went and got us some with a friendly smile so all was well. No complaints. All in all it was good value for what we paid.

Reviewed by
Sarah C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

was not that impressed with the whole thing - sorry

Reviewed by
Martin D

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everyone very friendly and even gave us a choice of room as we did not want to overlooking the industrial estate.good value for money but shame on the location.

Reviewed by
s stevens

From cullompton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay after attending a wedding reception at this hotel
We stayed over night at this hotel after attending a wedding reception in this hotel. On arrival the staff were friendlily and helpful. The check in was fast and easy, we were given a discount on the bill due to attending the reception. The room was clean with on suite, tea making facilities and biscuits. The bed was very comfortable we slept soundly. The full English breakfast was really tasty and value for money the staff provided a fast and friendly service.

Reviewed by
S Dagg

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Marie Celeste
When we arrived there was a member of staff behind the counter - he explained that they could only take cash, but their cash machine was out of order. So we went for a drive to find another cash machine, and when we returned, he was nowhere to be seen. This was around 4.30pm on a sunny afternoon, with an inviting drinks terrace overlooking the river, we would have loved a cold beer but there was no-one in the bar area. So we took a walk along the riverside to a local pub - the Schooner - where the welcome was warm, the drinks were good, and the food was amazing value, great quality and plenty of it.
Our room was odd - several pieces of storage furniture (which you don't really need for an overnight stay, and I didn't get the impression this was a 'long stay' destination) but no bedside tables, which you do want / need.
OK for what it was.

Reviewed by
Mark F

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really friendly hotel with good parking and great location for Newcastle. Very accommodating.
We stayed because we were taking part in the great north run. The staff were more than helpful in giving us directions and advice for the journey into Newcastle. We had a lovely breakfast and were offered a meal for the Sunday afternoon but had to travel back .

Reviewed by
J Dutton

From Clayton le woods, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next