No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Elephant on the Tyne Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Elephant on the Tyne Hotel, Green Lane, , Gateshead, NE10 0SB
The Elephant on the Tyne Hotel is located on the south bank of the River Tyne in Gateshead near Newcastle. Enjoying the best of both worlds, the hotel is situated by the riverside, and is only two miles from the city's commercial and entertainment centre. Newcastle's International Airport is just 15km away. The hustle and bustle of the thriving centre of Newcastle is nearby with its wealth of shops, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. The city is renowned for its shopping and the famous Metro Centre shopping complex is just 10 minutes away. Newcastle boasts a number of places of cultural interest such as The Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art, The Sage, the Centre for Life science centre and museums. Other places of interest nearby are the historic city of Durham, Beamish and the historic sites within Northumberland including Hadrians Wall. The hotel offers 27 comfortable, spacious bedrooms. Rooms are available as twin, triple and double and we also have multi rooms which are ideal for families or for groups of up to four people wishing to share. Many of the rooms boast a spectacular view of the River Tyne. Only moments away from Newcastle City Centre and with ample free car parking, we can offer a smart and professional environment where you and your colleagues can conduct your business in complete privacy and without interruption. Should your requirements involve overnight stays for you or your colleagues, we can offer special prices which can be included in the package if required. Fine food is served in the welcoming Library Bar and Restaurant. The hotel boasts a fabulous terrace where you can relax overlooking the River Tyne. Every effort is made to ensure your stay is a pleasurable one.
Picture of The Elephant on the Tyne Hotel, Gateshead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
58% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What colour elephant?
No hairdryer but one of the staff supplied one when asked. Mattress well past it's best. Bathroom door would not shut. No fan in bathroom. No tissues. Very noisy all night. creaky floors all over. Could not wait to get out. We were 5 miles down the road by half past seven and took breakfast in Durham.

Reviewed by
Thomas McCollam

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needing some TLC but fantastic location
We live local and needed the room as our bathroom was being refitted at home. No-one in reception when we arrived and after ringing the bell 3 times to actually get into the building we had to walk round and go in the patio entrance (which we knew was there - what if we'd never been there before??). I was only able to pay for the room with cash! No card payment services available! Bar service was good, and the evening meal was excellent value for money. The room was spacious and clean enough, but the bed was uncomfortable, the sheets rough and pillows lumpy. We had a terrible night's sleep!

Reviewed by
E Cordiner

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant hotel
Pleasant comfortable and clean hotel. Great location our room overlookedthe river. All staff were friendly and helpful. We look forward to returning.

Reviewed by
G Nuttall

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Arrived in room to find no toilet room and not enough towels. Room also smelled damp.
Staff very friendly!

Reviewed by
S Gerrie

From Harrow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I knew it was a budget room but I wasn't impressed
I arrived at the hotel and the hotel looked a little tired but as I knew it was a budget stay it was what I expected, on check in I was informed that they only accepted cash not cards. As a busness traveler I use the company card to pay for all expensed and I'm aware that some business travelers are not aloud to draw cash on a company card so this needs to be made clear at the time of booking! The member of staff I had contact with was very pleasent and helpful and directed me to a cash mashine a quarter of a mile down the road and said he would wait for me to withdraw the cash. Once in the room I was very disapointed as the floor had not been hooverd for some time and there was a great deal of hair, ouse on the floor. the bedding was clean but the bed and pillows were not very comfortable to sleep on. As for the food it was ok but the choices were very basic and again cash only! The inclusive breakfast was very poor and consisted of a choice of two options either a roll and link sausage or a roll and bacon to eat in or take away and a poor selection of toast and cerials, I opted for the sausage but it was the cheapest quality sausage I've ever had the tea was not very nice but that may be a personal taste issue. As an engineer our job is quite demanding and its good to get a good breakfast to start the day's work so again I was disapointed. I know it was a budget stay and the hotel was a bit tired but I would not stay there again and I wouldn't recommend to a friend either. Shame really as the staff were very pleasant but the general hotel issues let them down

Reviewed by
Gavin S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stevie B
Good easy to use site. No complaints.

Reviewed by
S BOYLE

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nothing special, very average
The hotel was in an industrial estate with NO card facilities - had to pay cash!
No phone in the room to contact reception. There was; no milk, no spoon, no soap and a lamp that didn't work. The room was clean but dark with a poor bed but did have a good view of the river Tyne. The breakfast certainly wasn't the best I've ever had and had to wait a long time for it to arrive yet we were the only guests in the dining room. The staff were pleasant, polite, helpful.

Reviewed by
M Johnson

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved our stay. Will certainly be back

Reviewed by
rebecca w

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stylish rooms and very helpful staff

Reviewed by
Anthony C

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do with a make over, staff pleasant room bedding and towels clean fine for an overnight stay, no complaints

Reviewed by
Helen C

From Leigh, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next