No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Elephant on the Tyne Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Elephant on the Tyne Hotel, Green Lane, , Gateshead, NE10 0SB
The Elephant on the Tyne Hotel is located on the south bank of the River Tyne in Gateshead near Newcastle. Enjoying the best of both worlds, the hotel is situated by the riverside, and is only two miles from the city's commercial and entertainment centre. Newcastle's International Airport is just 15km away. The hustle and bustle of the thriving centre of Newcastle is nearby with its wealth of shops, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. The city is renowned for its shopping and the famous Metro Centre shopping complex is just 10 minutes away. Newcastle boasts a number of places of cultural interest such as The Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art, The Sage, the Centre for Life science centre and museums. Other places of interest nearby are the historic city of Durham, Beamish and the historic sites within Northumberland including Hadrians Wall. The hotel offers 27 comfortable, spacious bedrooms. Rooms are available as twin, triple and double and we also have multi rooms which are ideal for families or for groups of up to four people wishing to share. Many of the rooms boast a spectacular view of the River Tyne. Only moments away from Newcastle City Centre and with ample free car parking, we can offer a smart and professional environment where you and your colleagues can conduct your business in complete privacy and without interruption. Should your requirements involve overnight stays for you or your colleagues, we can offer special prices which can be included in the package if required. Fine food is served in the welcoming Library Bar and Restaurant. The hotel boasts a fabulous terrace where you can relax overlooking the River Tyne. Every effort is made to ensure your stay is a pleasurable one.
Picture of The Elephant on the Tyne Hotel, Gateshead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 53 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
52% recommended this accommodation to a friend 58% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable. room was clean just old & tired. window wouldn't shut.

Reviewed by
louise w

From westmoor , UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disaster
Actually refused to stay and left withing 15 minutes because of the lack of service and state of the accommodation. Had to explore the bar on arrival as there were no staff to be found at reception, to betold it was cash only and to pay later. Got to the room to find the wallpaper hanging off the wall, the bed stained, the bathroom ceiling black with damp and the basin smashed. Would not stay here if they paid me to, never mind paying to stay there.

Reviewed by
Tracey M

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

horrible
my self and my husband stayed here never again my sister and husband got a room as well the room was dirty and drab .We asked for our money back to go else were.They swopped rooms for my sister which was slightly cleaner.I think late rooms should visit this property to see what they are selling to customers.They said they were having trouble with the cleaner why wasn't the room inspected before we arrived.

Reviewed by
j wallace

From scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

waste of money
Rooms look like they had not been clean in years dirty towels, carpet not been cleaned or hovered bathroom a mess .

Reviewed by
k elfleet

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night at the elephant on tyne
The hotel is situated on the banks of the river tyne with boat moored along the side.
On entry the reception looked basic but this is what was expected.
I was asked to pay on arrival by cash even though booked via card on line, they don't take cards, due to having no cash I was pointed to the onsite cash machine that charges £1.75 to use it so I could pay them. The cash machine didn't work. Luckily they allowed me in and I had to find a cash machine the following day to come back and pay.
The rooms were 1960 ish and reasonably clean. The small tv in the room had no remote with it and there wasn't any at the reception to borrow either.
The included breakfast was either a small sausage or bacon sandwich with coffee
Personally I wouldn't purposefully go there for any other reason than a quick one day stop while working.

Reviewed by
C Boddy

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What colour elephant?
No hairdryer but one of the staff supplied one when asked. Mattress well past it's best. Bathroom door would not shut. No fan in bathroom. No tissues. Very noisy all night. creaky floors all over. Could not wait to get out. We were 5 miles down the road by half past seven and took breakfast in Durham.

Reviewed by
Thomas McCollam

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needing some TLC but fantastic location
We live local and needed the room as our bathroom was being refitted at home. No-one in reception when we arrived and after ringing the bell 3 times to actually get into the building we had to walk round and go in the patio entrance (which we knew was there - what if we'd never been there before??). I was only able to pay for the room with cash! No card payment services available! Bar service was good, and the evening meal was excellent value for money. The room was spacious and clean enough, but the bed was uncomfortable, the sheets rough and pillows lumpy. We had a terrible night's sleep!

Reviewed by
E Cordiner

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant hotel
Pleasant comfortable and clean hotel. Great location our room overlookedthe river. All staff were friendly and helpful. We look forward to returning.

Reviewed by
G Nuttall

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Arrived in room to find no toilet room and not enough towels. Room also smelled damp.
Staff very friendly!

Reviewed by
S Gerrie

From Harrow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I knew it was a budget room but I wasn't impressed
I arrived at the hotel and the hotel looked a little tired but as I knew it was a budget stay it was what I expected, on check in I was informed that they only accepted cash not cards. As a busness traveler I use the company card to pay for all expensed and I'm aware that some business travelers are not aloud to draw cash on a company card so this needs to be made clear at the time of booking! The member of staff I had contact with was very pleasent and helpful and directed me to a cash mashine a quarter of a mile down the road and said he would wait for me to withdraw the cash. Once in the room I was very disapointed as the floor had not been hooverd for some time and there was a great deal of hair, ouse on the floor. the bedding was clean but the bed and pillows were not very comfortable to sleep on. As for the food it was ok but the choices were very basic and again cash only! The inclusive breakfast was very poor and consisted of a choice of two options either a roll and link sausage or a roll and bacon to eat in or take away and a poor selection of toast and cerials, I opted for the sausage but it was the cheapest quality sausage I've ever had the tea was not very nice but that may be a personal taste issue. As an engineer our job is quite demanding and its good to get a good breakfast to start the day's work so again I was disapointed. I know it was a budget stay and the hotel was a bit tired but I would not stay there again and I wouldn't recommend to a friend either. Shame really as the staff were very pleasant but the general hotel issues let them down

Reviewed by
Gavin S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next