Reviews - Rivers Edge Hotel

0

Green Lane, ,, Gateshead, NE10 0SB

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (59)

51% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • V Marsden

  • July 2015

Rivers Edge Hotel

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The only complaint is the Tuesday before our stay we rang to book a table for our evening meal. We were told oh you do that when you check in. That's fair enough we check in on Saturday to be told oh no we don't open the restaurant unless there is an evening function on you will have to go out to eat.

  • Gina Patten

  • July 2015

Room was very tired looking.

Hairs found in the bathroom.

On the second the rain had come through and soaked the bed. We managed to get a room change. Would have been nice for some sort of discount to be offered.

  • David C

  • July 2015

Perfect location for Great North 10k

Me and my partner travelled down from Scotland and stayed over night as we were running the GN10k The hotel is perfect location wise and only a short 10 minute walk to the start.

We never ate in the hotel so cant comment on that. the only staff member that we spoke to was a friendly guy at reception when checking in. there was a wedding on the night we stayed and the guy told us this on arrival and moved our room so to limit any noise which was great. there is an small Asda store just up the road to stock up on any food drinks snacks you need. The only real thing I would moan about was the kettle in the room it was dirty and the inside was pretty disgusting, I like a coffee in the morning but no way was I using this kettle. and another thing was the remote control for the tv didn't work properly not a big issue for us as we were just using the place for a bed for the night.

  • mary b

  • May 2015

By the river.

Hotel tired but staff great, nothing to much trouble, bedding and towels spotlessly clean, excellent value for money.

  • Paul A

  • January 2015

Lovely Room!!!

The Elephant on the Tyne is a very nice hotel, The room was decorated lovely and fresh.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We traveled down from Scotland to visit family and we arrived early ( 12pm ) the room stated available from 2pm. We asked if we could gain access to the room early and they were more than happy to let us :) i also requested a River view and this was also granted :)

The hotel is ideally located for traveling to a number of locations around the North East. Only thing i could say is that the corridors and the stairs could do with a lick of paint and new carpet ( also 1/2 the banister was missing on way to 2nd floor ) but that's being picky lol

Lovely hotel and will Definitely stay again Thank you :) xxx

  • Scott D

  • January 2015

Just what we needed

A perfectly adequate hotel.

We were in Newcastle to see a live band, the hotel was just across the river so not much in a taxi (£5). There was a wedding reception but it was all fine not noisy not late. All in all a good night.

  • Robert Lewins

  • January 2015

Leannes Wedding

Enjoyed our time at the venue during my Daughters wedding, the food was excellent and service was quick and unobstrutive, the decor was very good and the wedding package in general was very good....Only couple of minor things, parking area seemed quite constricted and was not clearly marked out, also during the wedding reception we were told that there was no ice available for drinks...Sorry might sound minor but should really never happen,particulaly during a quite large party of people being there on a celebration.

  • k hill

  • December 2014

clean comfortable

The room itself was fine and warm I think the only downside was in the bathroom there was what seemed to be damp on the ceiling which needed sorting out and the window catch needs renewing apart from that my stay was fine ,the staff were polite and helpfull

  • A Mcmenemie

  • December 2014

The Elephant on the Tyne Hotel

Very friendly & helpful staff room clean enough but bit dated.

  • Ian W

  • December 2014

Elephant on the Tyne

Not the easiest place to find if you're not local so take a satnav.

The hotel rooms are in need of a little refurbishment but you get what you pay for and this hotel is good basic accommodation. They have a nice bar area and a good lively function room.