No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Elephant on the Tyne Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Elephant on the Tyne Hotel, Green Lane, , Gateshead, NE10 0SB
The Elephant on the Tyne Hotel is located on the south bank of the River Tyne in Gateshead near Newcastle. Enjoying the best of both worlds, the hotel is situated by the riverside, and is only two miles from the city's commercial and entertainment centre. Newcastle's International Airport is just 15 km away. The hustle and bustle of the thriving centre of Newcastle is nearby with its wealth of shops, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. The city is renowned for its shopping and the famous Metro Centre shopping complex is just 10 minutes away. Newcastle boasts a number of places of cultural interest such as The Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art, The Sage, the Centre for Life science centre and museums. Other places of interest nearby are the historic city of Durham, Beamish and the historic sites within Northumberland including Hadrians Wall. The hotel offers 27 comfortable, spacious bedrooms. Rooms are available as twin, triple and double and we also have multi rooms which are ideal for families or for groups of up to four people wishing to share. Many of the rooms boast a spectacular view of the River Tyne. Only moments away from Newcastle City Centre and with ample free car parking, we can offer a smart and professional environment where you and your colleagues can conduct your business in complete privacy and without interruption. Should your requirements involve overnight stays for you or your colleagues, we can offer special prices which can be included in the package if required. Fine food is served in the welcoming Library Bar and Restaurant. The hotel boasts a fabulous terrace where you can relax overlooking the River Tyne. Every effort is made to ensure your stay is a pleasurable one.
Picture of The Elephant on the Tyne Hotel, Gateshead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 70 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 60% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Leannes Wedding
Enjoyed our time at the venue during my Daughters wedding, the food was excellent and service was quick and unobstrutive, the decor was very good and the wedding package in general was very good....Only couple of minor things, parking area seemed quite constricted and was not clearly marked out, also during the wedding reception we were told that there was no ice available for drinks...Sorry might sound minor but should really never happen,particulaly during a quite large party of people being there on a celebration.

Reviewed by
Robert Lewins

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Elephant on the Tyne Hotel
Very friendly & helpful staff room clean enough but bit dated.

Reviewed by
A Mcmenemie

From Renfrewshire, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Elephant on the Tyne
Not the easiest place to find if you're not local so take a satnav. The hotel rooms are in need of a little refurbishment but you get what you pay for and this hotel is good basic accommodation. They have a nice bar area and a good lively function room.

Reviewed by
Ian W

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean comfortable
The room itself was fine and warm I think the only downside was in the bathroom there was what seemed to be damp on the ceiling which needed sorting out and the window catch needs renewing apart from that my stay was fine ,the staff were polite and helpfull

Reviewed by
k hill

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Elephant on the Tyne Hotel
Good value for money. Clean accommodation.

Reviewed by
S Nel

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very tired and dated hotel,
needs a complete makeover, creaky floors, thin walls, shabby decor and furniture. No atmosphere or ambiance, loune bar poorly laid out, only one person working reception, bar, function area, poor parking facility. More like a YMCA

Reviewed by
J Roby

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap and cheerful
My partner and I stayed here for one night as we were attending a gig in Newcastle.
The price and location first attracted us to this hotel and we weren't expecting a great deal for our money.
However, we were pleasantly surprised upon our arrival as we were made to feel very welcome from the guy behind the desk. Our room, although quite basic was clean, well decorated with a vegas theme, fresh towels, complimentary shower gels etc.., tea/coffee making facilities and a tv.
We'd definitely recommend this to others and would certainly stay here again ourselves.

Reviewed by
Keith T

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap, cheerful and convenient, But! Please, get the facility to take a debit card!!

Reviewed by
Gavin S

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant little hotel with beautiful views
The customers service was excellent very nice staff. A taxi into Newcastle was only £6 so that saved us a lot. The room was lovely very comfortable beds and the views of the river Tyne were stunning. Would definitely stay here again. Great value for money.

Reviewed by
Rachel S

From Brampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel is run down and has very thin walls
We booked this as we were participating in a 5k run in Newcastle and needed somewhere to stay, based on the price I was not expecting 5 star however the place is very run down and needs some real investment to be remotely appealing. The décor is very old and the work they have attempted to undertake to update the place has been done without really investment - i.e. new wallpaper over damp / leaks which are then just showing over the new paper. Breakfast was also disappointing - everything has been friend within an inch of its life so the eggs were rubbery as where the tasteless sausages. I have worked in hotels and you don't need to spend a fortune to improve these things. The view of the Tyne while we had breakfast was pretty impressive though, and the staff were polite enough - although having been told we could pay on check out (as they don't take card and we didn't have the full amount in cash on us) they then reminded us every time they saw us that we owed them the money which became uncomfortable!

Reviewed by
Sarah L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next