No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Elephant on the Tyne Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Elephant on the Tyne Hotel, Green Lane, , Gateshead, NE10 0SB
The Elephant on the Tyne Hotel is located on the south bank of the River Tyne in Gateshead near Newcastle. Enjoying the best of both worlds, the hotel is situated by the riverside, and is only two miles from the city's commercial and entertainment centre. Newcastle's International Airport is just 15km away. The hustle and bustle of the thriving centre of Newcastle is nearby with its wealth of shops, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. The city is renowned for its shopping and the famous Metro Centre shopping complex is just 10 minutes away. Newcastle boasts a number of places of cultural interest such as The Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art, The Sage, the Centre for Life science centre and museums. Other places of interest nearby are the historic city of Durham, Beamish and the historic sites within Northumberland including Hadrians Wall. The hotel offers 27 comfortable, spacious bedrooms. Rooms are available as twin, triple and double and we also have multi rooms which are ideal for families or for groups of up to four people wishing to share. Many of the rooms boast a spectacular view of the River Tyne. Only moments away from Newcastle City Centre and with ample free car parking, we can offer a smart and professional environment where you and your colleagues can conduct your business in complete privacy and without interruption. Should your requirements involve overnight stays for you or your colleagues, we can offer special prices which can be included in the package if required. Fine food is served in the welcoming Library Bar and Restaurant. The hotel boasts a fabulous terrace where you can relax overlooking the River Tyne. Every effort is made to ensure your stay is a pleasurable one.
Picture of The Elephant on the Tyne Hotel, Gateshead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a shockingly good find
I have driven past the sign for this hotel many time and now having stayed there have found it to be a fabulous little place. The river view from our room gave it a serine and relaxing atmosphere. The hotel as a whole just felt relaxed from the moment you check in. We were just staying as we went to a concert but I would most definately stay there again

Reviewed by
R Walters

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

"Ok"
Other than I had to ask for the iron 3 times, and still didn't receive one, this hotel is very pleasent, some rooms do need updating as they do look after they're sell by date, I had 2 rooms, 1 was old and dated and the other was new and fresh with new furniture? I didn't get it.

Reviewed by
Elias E

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely staff, needed a bit of a spruce up!
The staff were all very friendly and the hotel was family friendly.
We did have to ask for a kettle, but was sorted with no problem. They didn't mind us bringing our own travel cot and the breakfast was great, although would have preferred an alternative to a full English and toast.
A little inconvenient that they don't accept card payments, so had to look for a cash machine (they have one, but there was a charge).
The room was functional, but that and the ensuite needed an extra going over as there was a soap mark on the bath, the plastic cup provided looked like it had already been used and my 11 month old found some rubbish on the floor that wasn't ours.
Overall a functional hotel that needed a little extra for the money.

Reviewed by
Dee H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quirky, fun & value for money
Nice clean, quiet room overlooking the river. Staff were all helpful and always around when needed. Only ate once in hotel due to us travelling the area, but was excellent. Good location ( not near lunacy of Newcastle night life ;0) )

Reviewed by
Sophie D

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Great North weekend
Very friendly and accommodating staff and always someone about should you need anything. Room was clean and fresh and well stocked with towels and good tea and coffee making. Good food which was in the price. A big room for one person with a full size bath and great hot shower. I’ll use this hotel as my North East base again

Reviewed by
Phil T

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff
I stayed for the great north run and although initially I thought the price was very inflated (three times the standard room only price) it wasn't too bad as got free breakfast and dinner too after the event. There was a wedding on the saturday night so it was a bit noisy till 11.50pm when the music went off however the staff were all really friendly and helpful. You do need to take money though as hotel only takes cash.

Reviewed by
Emily B

From Smethwick, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

i booked a room with a traditional four poster bed omg it was far from a traditional four poster bed it was a white metal half four poster bed i paid £60 for that i was sooooo dissapointed it spoilt our whole evening ther was no dressing table to put our things on to be quit honest it was very grubby i will never be going back there apart from that the staff were lovly no fault at all there

Reviewed by
v kay

From East Boldon, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Certainly not a White Elephant
Good hotel, nice location by the Tyne run by the owners, Its actually in Felling not Gateshead. A bit of a walk from the metro, however there is a bus service. Would not hesitate to go back.

Reviewed by
J Wright

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place
I read other reviews and was a little worried as we were staying for 3 nights.
The receptionist was lovely and very helpful he gave us advice on taxis where to go to see the football etc. We even met the infamous 'miss trunchbowl' who I have to say was very pleasant but then again we weren't drunk and annoying other guests.
The rooms could do with a bit more attention on the cleaning side but overall not too bad.
We have stayed at worse places.
A little too far from the nightlife for our liking we spent a small fortune on taxis.
If I was gonna complain it would be about the price, we were charged £140 for the 3 nights with no breakfast but we were told that that's what Late Rooms told them to charge if this is right I won't book via the site again I will book with any future hotel direct as I could have got a better deal.

Reviewed by
DAWN W

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Card payment not acceptable
Squeaky floorboards in room
I was given two TVs in room that did not work

Reviewed by
DONALD ROSENDALE

From Sutton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next