No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Elephant on the Tyne Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Elephant on the Tyne Hotel, Green Lane, , Gateshead, NE10 0SB
The Elephant on the Tyne Hotel is located on the south bank of the River Tyne in Gateshead near Newcastle. Enjoying the best of both worlds, the hotel is situated by the riverside, and is only two miles from the city's commercial and entertainment centre. Newcastle's International Airport is just 15km away. The hustle and bustle of the thriving centre of Newcastle is nearby with its wealth of shops, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. The city is renowned for its shopping and the famous Metro Centre shopping complex is just 10 minutes away. Newcastle boasts a number of places of cultural interest such as The Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art, The Sage, the Centre for Life science centre and museums. Other places of interest nearby are the historic city of Durham, Beamish and the historic sites within Northumberland including Hadrians Wall. The hotel offers 27 comfortable, spacious bedrooms. Rooms are available as twin, triple and double and we also have multi rooms which are ideal for families or for groups of up to four people wishing to share. Many of the rooms boast a spectacular view of the River Tyne. Only moments away from Newcastle City Centre and with ample free car parking, we can offer a smart and professional environment where you and your colleagues can conduct your business in complete privacy and without interruption. Should your requirements involve overnight stays for you or your colleagues, we can offer special prices which can be included in the package if required. Fine food is served in the welcoming Library Bar and Restaurant. The hotel boasts a fabulous terrace where you can relax overlooking the River Tyne. Every effort is made to ensure your stay is a pleasurable one.
Picture of The Elephant on the Tyne Hotel, Gateshead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 56 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
51% recommended this accommodation to a friend 57% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not very good
We were a bit concerned when reading some of the reviews but we wanted a room for 3 adults so we had limited hotel options in Gateshead
The hotel could do with a complete makeover.
It looks shabby and the floor boards creak
Our room was dull and needed redecoration
Our main complaint was the mattress which was terrible and springs seemed to be nearly coming through
We expected a continental breakfast on the first night but were offered Full English which was very nice and cooked well
However I have never been to a hotel not offering cereals for breakfast
The location is ideal for The Gateshead International stadium and in easy walking distance but in an industral area, close to the tyne
The young lady at breakfast was nice and polite
I expect "you get what you pay for" but I did not consider it that cheap
I would only stay there again if I couldn't find anywhere else

Reviewed by
Trevor L

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for what we wanted
we went to newcastle for a party weekend away and this hotel was good for that. friendly staff that informed us how to best cheapest taxi to and from town in the evening. Rooms clean and good size. Only down side walls thin so could hear people in the rooms next door. So would not be suitable for people looking for a quiet night.

Reviewed by
Emma P

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic hotel close to Newcastle
I stayed here with my son who was visiting Newcastle University and we had a comfortable two nights. The room was fine, reasonably clean with comfy beds and basic facilities. Shame about the paint all down the glass of the window! Generally speaking the whole place could do with a massive facelift. The food offer was limited but we had a reasonable meal the first night, choosing to eat elsewhere on the second. On the plus side, the staff were very friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. My son has been using a wheelchair to get around due to ME which prevents him from walking more than a few steps. The access to this particular hotel isn't great for wheelchair users, although there is ramp access to the bar/restaurant area ok and a lift up to the bedrooms. It did occur to me though that we'd have been very stuck if there'd been a fire and we couldn't get down in the lift!!!! I would recommend this as a cheap, friendly place to stay in the Newcastle area but don't expect any frills and don't go if you are a wheelchair user!

Reviewed by
Carol S

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor customer service
We arrived at the hotel only to be greeted with a very loud wedding party. We struggled to get through to reception through people feeling like we didn't belong in the hotel because of the wedding. We stood at reception for about half an hour before a member of staff showed up to allow us to check in. We couldn't rest when we got to our room because of how loud the party was downstairs but the music was stopped after a while. The next morning when leaving, again there was no staff to be found at reception and there is no way to let them know you are there. Stood for a while only to be informed that there is no need to check out and to just leave the key. Surprisingly the hotel only takes cash and no cards too.

Reviewed by
christie w

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely surprise

Reviewed by
S Tolley

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Me and my friend were coming just for a girly weekend and we had a lovely stay. The customer service we could not complain with, everybody was very friendly. The toilet we had a little problem with, as in the flush did not work but this did not spoil our weekend. It was a little expensive for this hotel as I have paid that amount for a 4 star hotel, however we enjoyed it. I would recommend guests staying here as very near everythinh including the town which was the reason we chose this hotel.

Reviewed by
Olivia M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Omw!!!!!
On arriving at the hotel I intended to settle my account by debit card only to be informed that I had to pay cash or by cheque
The room was nicely decorated but a bit gaudy and VERY warm The valve on the radiator was faulty so I could not regulate the radiator output, There was a HUGE crack in the sanitary wear which had cleaning fluid stuck to it; the shower was faulty, here were black hairs in the bath and the pillows were lumpy
Disappointing

Reviewed by
Lesley Smith

From Tranent, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Horrible
Old fashioned, terrible decor, uncomfortable beds, rotten window frames and the hotel only takes cash no card facilties

Reviewed by
joannei i

From Normanton, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice spot by river
could do with a spruce up but staff very pleasent and helpful.
will stay here again

Reviewed by
p hindle

From Blackburn, England
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely friendly staff shame about quality
All staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was ok but not the greatest. heard every noise from rooms around us in early evening but once returned from night out all very quiet. I have stayed in rooms in a more central area for less money with breakfast provided.

Reviewed by
m macdonald

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next