No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Elephant on the Tyne Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Elephant on the Tyne Hotel, Green Lane, , Gateshead, NE10 0SB
The Elephant on the Tyne Hotel is located on the south bank of the River Tyne in Gateshead near Newcastle. Enjoying the best of both worlds, the hotel is situated by the riverside, and is only two miles from the city's commercial and entertainment centre. Newcastle's International Airport is just 15km away. The hustle and bustle of the thriving centre of Newcastle is nearby with its wealth of shops, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. The city is renowned for its shopping and the famous Metro Centre shopping complex is just 10 minutes away. Newcastle boasts a number of places of cultural interest such as The Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art, The Sage, the Centre for Life science centre and museums. Other places of interest nearby are the historic city of Durham, Beamish and the historic sites within Northumberland including Hadrians Wall. The hotel offers 27 comfortable, spacious bedrooms. Rooms are available as twin, triple and double and we also have multi rooms which are ideal for families or for groups of up to four people wishing to share. Many of the rooms boast a spectacular view of the River Tyne. Only moments away from Newcastle City Centre and with ample free car parking, we can offer a smart and professional environment where you and your colleagues can conduct your business in complete privacy and without interruption. Should your requirements involve overnight stays for you or your colleagues, we can offer special prices which can be included in the package if required. Fine food is served in the welcoming Library Bar and Restaurant. The hotel boasts a fabulous terrace where you can relax overlooking the River Tyne. Every effort is made to ensure your stay is a pleasurable one.
Picture of The Elephant on the Tyne Hotel, Gateshead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 62 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
50% recommended this accommodation to a friend 56% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nothing special, very average
The hotel was in an industrial estate with NO card facilities - had to pay cash!
No phone in the room to contact reception. There was; no milk, no spoon, no soap and a lamp that didn't work. The room was clean but dark with a poor bed but did have a good view of the river Tyne. The breakfast certainly wasn't the best I've ever had and had to wait a long time for it to arrive yet we were the only guests in the dining room. The staff were pleasant, polite, helpful.

Reviewed by
M Johnson

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stylish rooms and very helpful staff

Reviewed by
Anthony C

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved our stay. Will certainly be back

Reviewed by
rebecca w

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do with a make over, staff pleasant room bedding and towels clean fine for an overnight stay, no complaints

Reviewed by
Helen C

From Leigh, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What could have been
It should be pointed out that this is a cash only hotel! Our double room had a broken window latch leaving the window open. There was no shaver point. The wall coverings seemed to be a remnant from the post war era. It served its purpose for one night, but would not make a return visit. It is in need of a major facelift. Could be a nice hotel with a river aspect.

Reviewed by
Ian Richards

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room with a view of the river. Stayed there on a Sunday so got to try the carvery and it was delicious!

Reviewed by
Nicola C

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not very good
We were a bit concerned when reading some of the reviews but we wanted a room for 3 adults so we had limited hotel options in Gateshead
The hotel could do with a complete makeover.
It looks shabby and the floor boards creak
Our room was dull and needed redecoration
Our main complaint was the mattress which was terrible and springs seemed to be nearly coming through
We expected a continental breakfast on the first night but were offered Full English which was very nice and cooked well
However I have never been to a hotel not offering cereals for breakfast
The location is ideal for The Gateshead International stadium and in easy walking distance but in an industral area, close to the tyne
The young lady at breakfast was nice and polite
I expect "you get what you pay for" but I did not consider it that cheap
I would only stay there again if I couldn't find anywhere else

Reviewed by
Trevor L

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for what we wanted
we went to newcastle for a party weekend away and this hotel was good for that. friendly staff that informed us how to best cheapest taxi to and from town in the evening. Rooms clean and good size. Only down side walls thin so could hear people in the rooms next door. So would not be suitable for people looking for a quiet night.

Reviewed by
Emma P

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic hotel close to Newcastle
I stayed here with my son who was visiting Newcastle University and we had a comfortable two nights. The room was fine, reasonably clean with comfy beds and basic facilities. Shame about the paint all down the glass of the window! Generally speaking the whole place could do with a massive facelift. The food offer was limited but we had a reasonable meal the first night, choosing to eat elsewhere on the second. On the plus side, the staff were very friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. My son has been using a wheelchair to get around due to ME which prevents him from walking more than a few steps. The access to this particular hotel isn't great for wheelchair users, although there is ramp access to the bar/restaurant area ok and a lift up to the bedrooms. It did occur to me though that we'd have been very stuck if there'd been a fire and we couldn't get down in the lift!!!! I would recommend this as a cheap, friendly place to stay in the Newcastle area but don't expect any frills and don't go if you are a wheelchair user!

Reviewed by
Carol S

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor customer service
We arrived at the hotel only to be greeted with a very loud wedding party. We struggled to get through to reception through people feeling like we didn't belong in the hotel because of the wedding. We stood at reception for about half an hour before a member of staff showed up to allow us to check in. We couldn't rest when we got to our room because of how loud the party was downstairs but the music was stopped after a while. The next morning when leaving, again there was no staff to be found at reception and there is no way to let them know you are there. Stood for a while only to be informed that there is no need to check out and to just leave the key. Surprisingly the hotel only takes cash and no cards too.

Reviewed by
christie w

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next