Reviews - Rivers Edge Hotel

0

Green Lane, ,, Gateshead, NE10 0SB

Price From 85.49 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (63)

51% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • s stevens

  • September 2014

Everyone very friendly and even gave us a choice of room as we did not want to overlooking the industrial estate.good value for money but shame on the location.

  • S Dagg

  • September 2014

Overnight Stay after attending a wedding reception at this hotel

We stayed over night at this hotel after attending a wedding reception in this hotel.

On arrival the staff were friendlily and helpful. The check in was fast and easy, we were given a discount on the bill due to attending the reception. The room was clean with on suite, tea making facilities and biscuits. The bed was very comfortable we slept soundly. The full English breakfast was really tasty and value for money the staff provided a fast and friendly service.

  • Mark F

  • September 2014

The Marie Celeste

When we arrived there was a member of staff behind the counter - he explained that they could only take cash, but their cash machine was out of order.

So we went for a drive to find another cash machine, and when we returned, he was nowhere to be seen. This was around 4.30pm on a sunny afternoon, with an inviting drinks terrace overlooking the river, we would have loved a cold beer but there was no-one in the bar area. So we took a walk along the riverside to a local pub - the Schooner - where the welcome was warm, the drinks were good, and the food was amazing value, great quality and plenty of it. Our room was odd - several pieces of storage furniture (which you don't really need for an overnight stay, and I didn't get the impression this was a 'long stay' destination) but no bedside tables, which you do want / need. OK for what it was.

  • S Roe

  • September 2014

hotel review

The hotl was well off the beaten track and a car or taxi is needed to get into the city.

You have to leave your key every time you leave as it is attatched to a large block of wood in the shape of a fish. The hotel is in serious need of a refurbishment and it is situated between modern apartments and a boatyard. One side of the hotel has views of the river and one side views of the boatyard. Not enough tea and coffee and no tv at all in my room. For £50 for one night you expect tv. If your trying to impress a ladyfriiend stay clear, ok for somewhere to sleep for one night but thats all.

  • J Dutton

  • September 2014

Really friendly hotel with good parking and great location for Newcastle. Very accommodating.

We stayed because we were taking part in the great north run.

The staff were more than helpful in giving us directions and advice for the journey into Newcastle. We had a lovely breakfast and were offered a meal for the Sunday afternoon but had to travel back .

  • R Rice

  • September 2014

I arrived during a noisy wedding party at 11pm on a Saturday.

Staff were helpful enough but there seems to be a policy of paying the whole price in cash up front. Although there was a cash machine in the foyer, it was out of order, meaning that I had to get a cab to the nearest supermarket to find a cash machine in order to check in. The policy was not obvious from the booking email, so if you can find any small print I recommend you read it. I still can't find any reference to this policy despite the member of staff being sure it was on "page 3". Of what.

  • louise w

  • August 2014

comfortable.

room was clean just old & tired. window wouldn't shut.

  • Tracey M

  • August 2014

disaster

Actually refused to stay and left withing 15 minutes because of the lack of service and state of the accommodation.

Had to explore the bar on arrival as there were no staff to be found at reception, to betold it was cash only and to pay later. Got to the room to find the wallpaper hanging off the wall, the bed stained, the bathroom ceiling black with damp and the basin smashed. Would not stay here if they paid me to, never mind paying to stay there.

  • j wallace

  • August 2014

horrible

my self and my husband stayed here never again my sister and husband got a room as well the room was dirty and drab .We asked for our money back to go else were.They swopped rooms for my sister which was slightly cleaner.I think late rooms should visit this property to see what they are selling to customers.They said they were having trouble with the cleaner why wasn't the room inspected before we arrived.

  • k elfleet

  • August 2014

waste of money

Rooms look like they had not been clean in years dirty towels, carpet not been cleaned or hovered bathroom a mess .