Reviews - Rivers Edge Hotel

Green Lane, ,, Gateshead, NE10 0SB

Price From 83.07 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (57)

49% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Michelle Creed

  • October 2014

Bargain for the Gateshead side

The staff were really friendly as they kindly picked me up from the end of an ultramarathon at a silly time of night.

The accommodation was very affordable in comparison to the rest of Gateshead. The room and the shower were very comfortable.

  • Sarah L

  • October 2014

Hotel is run down and has very thin walls

We booked this as we were participating in a 5k run in Newcastle and needed somewhere to stay, based on the price I was not expecting 5 star however the place is very run down and needs some real investment to be remotely appealing.

The décor is very old and the work they have attempted to undertake to update the place has been done without really investment - i.e. new wallpaper over damp / leaks which are then just showing over the new paper. Breakfast was also disappointing - everything has been friend within an inch of its life so the eggs were rubbery as where the tasteless sausages. I have worked in hotels and you don't need to spend a fortune to improve these things. The view of the Tyne while we had breakfast was pretty impressive though, and the staff were polite enough - although having been told we could pay on check out (as they don't take card and we didn't have the full amount in cash on us) they then reminded us every time they saw us that we owed them the money which became uncomfortable!

  • m larkin

  • October 2014

Room was ok although nice view.

Reception clised early 10pm at night and there was no food available in hotel or closeby.

  • Martin D

  • October 2014

was not that impressed with the whole thing - sorry

  • Sarah C

  • October 2014

Does the job

Owner/manager let us check in two hour early and was very friendly and accommodating.

We weren't looking for anything high end and it was pretty much perfect for as a crash pad for a weekend trip to Newcastle. Everything was as expected and in decent condition. Would have liked some teabags in our room but the staff went and got us some with a friendly smile so all was well. No complaints. All in all it was good value for what we paid.

  • s stevens

  • September 2014

Everyone very friendly and even gave us a choice of room as we did not want to overlooking the industrial estate.good value for money but shame on the location.

  • S Dagg

  • September 2014

Overnight Stay after attending a wedding reception at this hotel

We stayed over night at this hotel after attending a wedding reception in this hotel.

On arrival the staff were friendlily and helpful. The check in was fast and easy, we were given a discount on the bill due to attending the reception. The room was clean with on suite, tea making facilities and biscuits. The bed was very comfortable we slept soundly. The full English breakfast was really tasty and value for money the staff provided a fast and friendly service.

  • Mark F

  • September 2014

The Marie Celeste

When we arrived there was a member of staff behind the counter - he explained that they could only take cash, but their cash machine was out of order.

So we went for a drive to find another cash machine, and when we returned, he was nowhere to be seen. This was around 4.30pm on a sunny afternoon, with an inviting drinks terrace overlooking the river, we would have loved a cold beer but there was no-one in the bar area. So we took a walk along the riverside to a local pub - the Schooner - where the welcome was warm, the drinks were good, and the food was amazing value, great quality and plenty of it. Our room was odd - several pieces of storage furniture (which you don't really need for an overnight stay, and I didn't get the impression this was a 'long stay' destination) but no bedside tables, which you do want / need. OK for what it was.

  • S Roe

  • September 2014

hotel review

The hotl was well off the beaten track and a car or taxi is needed to get into the city.

You have to leave your key every time you leave as it is attatched to a large block of wood in the shape of a fish. The hotel is in serious need of a refurbishment and it is situated between modern apartments and a boatyard. One side of the hotel has views of the river and one side views of the boatyard. Not enough tea and coffee and no tv at all in my room. For £50 for one night you expect tv. If your trying to impress a ladyfriiend stay clear, ok for somewhere to sleep for one night but thats all.

  • J Dutton

  • September 2014

Really friendly hotel with good parking and great location for Newcastle. Very accommodating.

We stayed because we were taking part in the great north run.

The staff were more than helpful in giving us directions and advice for the journey into Newcastle. We had a lovely breakfast and were offered a meal for the Sunday afternoon but had to travel back .