Rivers Edge Hotel

0

Green Lane, ,, Gateshead, NE10 0SB

Price From 77.40 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (66)

52% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • J Dutton

  • September 2014

Really friendly hotel with good parking and great location for Newcastle. Very accommodating.

We stayed because we were taking part in the great north run.

The staff were more than helpful in giving us directions and advice for the journey into Newcastle. We had a lovely breakfast and were offered a meal for the Sunday afternoon but had to travel back .

  • R Rice

  • September 2014

I arrived during a noisy wedding party at 11pm on a Saturday.

Staff were helpful enough but there seems to be a policy of paying the whole price in cash up front. Although there was a cash machine in the foyer, it was out of order, meaning that I had to get a cab to the nearest supermarket to find a cash machine in order to check in. The policy was not obvious from the booking email, so if you can find any small print I recommend you read it. I still can't find any reference to this policy despite the member of staff being sure it was on "page 3". Of what.

  • louise w

  • August 2014

comfortable.

room was clean just old & tired. window wouldn't shut.

  • Tracey M

  • August 2014

disaster

Actually refused to stay and left withing 15 minutes because of the lack of service and state of the accommodation.

Had to explore the bar on arrival as there were no staff to be found at reception, to betold it was cash only and to pay later. Got to the room to find the wallpaper hanging off the wall, the bed stained, the bathroom ceiling black with damp and the basin smashed. Would not stay here if they paid me to, never mind paying to stay there.

  • j wallace

  • August 2014

horrible

my self and my husband stayed here never again my sister and husband got a room as well the room was dirty and drab .We asked for our money back to go else were.They swopped rooms for my sister which was slightly cleaner.I think late rooms should visit this property to see what they are selling to customers.They said they were having trouble with the cleaner why wasn't the room inspected before we arrived.

  • k elfleet

  • August 2014

waste of money

Rooms look like they had not been clean in years dirty towels, carpet not been cleaned or hovered bathroom a mess .

  • C Boddy

  • August 2014

One night at the elephant on tyne

The hotel is situated on the banks of the river tyne with boat moored along the side.

On entry the reception looked basic but this is what was expected. I was asked to pay on arrival by cash even though booked via card on line, they don't take cards, due to having no cash I was pointed to the onsite cash machine that charges £1.75 to use it so I could pay them. The cash machine didn't work. Luckily they allowed me in and I had to find a cash machine the following day to come back and pay. The rooms were 1960 ish and reasonably clean. The small tv in the room had no remote with it and there wasn't any at the reception to borrow either. The included breakfast was either a small sausage or bacon sandwich with coffee

Personally I wouldn't purposefully go there for any other reason than a quick one day stop while working.

  • Thomas McCollam

  • July 2014

What colour elephant?

No hairdryer but one of the staff supplied one when asked.

Mattress well past it's best. Bathroom door would not shut. No fan in bathroom. No tissues. Very noisy all night. creaky floors all over. Could not wait to get out. We were 5 miles down the road by half past seven and took breakfast in Durham.

  • E Cordiner

  • July 2014

Needing some TLC but fantastic location

We live local and needed the room as our bathroom was being refitted at home.

No-one in reception when we arrived and after ringing the bell 3 times to actually get into the building we had to walk round and go in the patio entrance (which we knew was there - what if we'd never been there before??). I was only able to pay for the room with cash. No card payment services available. Bar service was good, and the evening meal was excellent value for money. The room was spacious and clean enough, but the bed was uncomfortable, the sheets rough and pillows lumpy. We had a terrible night's sleep!

  • G Nuttall

  • July 2014

pleasant hotel

Pleasant comfortable and clean hotel.

Great location our room overlookedthe river. All staff were friendly and helpful. We look forward to returning.