Reviews - Beechwood Guest House


119 Ocean Road, ,, South Shields, NE33 2JL

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (8)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • C Brenham

  • August 2015

This hotel was absolutely excellent.

The proprieter was very welcoming, room was very clean, warm and cozy.

We stayed for 2 nights and breakfasat was first class. Linen very soft and plenty of tea and coffee supplied bas well as hot chocolates. There was even a box of chocolates for us inn the room, have never had that before, lovely touch. Bathroom was spacious and clean, lovely shower. first time we have used will be using them again, very affordable,

  • Chris Goodchild

  • August 2015

Best stay anywhere

This was, by far, the best place that I have ever stayed in.

Only a few weeks before staying here I was amazed by a place in Llundudno although this beat it. This place is absolutely brilliant and I can't recommend it highly enough. When I arrived late at the Beachwood (due to Metro problems), I had an incredibly friendly greeting. Being hungry, I was recommended a food place across the road and even told that I could eat it in the room as long as I didn't have any sauces. The room itself was compact but brilliant. It had a fridge. and plenty of facilities. The shower was excellent and had plenty of shower gell. Location was very good as it wasn't far from the metro stop and all the other food places in South Shields. Not only did I receive a really great greeting after arriving late, but on the second day, because I wanted to leave early in the morning, the owner felt disappointed that he couldn't provide me with a breakfast and left me cornflakes and milk in the fridge so I could eat this before leaving.

  • D Brown-wood

  • August 2014

A pleasant clean friendly place to stay.

Our room was very practical and compact, it was very clean comfortable and fresh.

We had full English breakfasts both days which were lovely. We ate in the Indian resteraunt opposite called Monsoon, which was brilliant, great food and good service.

  • Marvin B

  • August 2014

Nice find

Other than the extremely noisy seagulls early morning, but then this is very close to the coast and they didn't seem half as noisy the second morning anyway, this is a great place to stop.

The chap who runs it was extremely helpful, the room we had was small but perfectly adequate and the breakfast was good - what more can you ask for.

  • John Waine

  • June 2014

Welcome Here

As I was visiting relatives and I new the area well it only needed to find a place to stay.

The Beechwood Guesthouse was just right, the owner Rev made me very welcome on my arrival. I would not hesitate in recommending it to any one.

  • adrian d

  • May 2014

Beechwood guest house, look no further.

Polite and friendly owner who maintains an immaculate guest house.

Although the room was slightly small, it contained everything i required for a comfortable stay. A single bed which surprisingly give me one of the best nights sleep I've had in a long time, free Internet access, en suite, but most importantly for myself was the overall cleanliness. Great price for a single traveller and I will definitely stay there again. Many thanks.

  • J Hands

  • May 2014

Enjoyed our stay, the room was compact but comfortable.

Very clean, Breakfasts were lovely,

Service excellent

  • Annie L

  • December 2013

Everything a Guest House Should Be

We stayed at Beechwood for our honeymoon as we needed to be within travelling distance of Sunderland.

We picked this guest house as two previous reviews stated it was very clean and we were not disappointed, the room was spotless, as was the communial areas and dining room. Rez, the owner, is an excellent host, friendly and makes a lovely breakfast with lots of choice from a full English to just toast depending on how you feel. The room was well equipped with a fridge (very handy especially as we were staying for 6 nights) plentiful complimentary coffee/tea making facilities, trays (surprisingly useful) ,and lots of sockets. We would definately stay there again and would recommend Beechwood to family & friends if they were looking to stay in the area. If you want a swanky hotel then this probably is not the place for you but if you want somewhere quiet, clean, comfortable,well run with a hearty breakfast to start the day then we think Beechwood Guest House is ideal.