No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - A1 Summerville Guest House

3Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
33 Orchard Road, Whickham, , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE16 4TG
The Summerville Guest House offers three star rated bed and breakfast accommodation in the picturesque village of Whickham, just four miles west of Gateshead. This lovely village location is set on high ground and looks out over the River Tyne. Its location allows guests the best of both worlds – quiet surroundings yet convenience for visiting Gateshead and the Metro Centre.

The Angel of the North, Beamish and the Northumbrian coastline are within easy reach. The A1 is nearby, providing access for those travelling between Scotland and the south of England. The A69 provides access to the Lake District.

As well as comfortable rooms, The Summerville offers a guest lounge with satellite TV and fridge and microwave facilities. The tariff includes breakfast choices from an extensive menu, which includes a full English breakfast (including vegetarian options), a continental platter, fruit of the day and traditional smoked Craster kippers.

Guests are assured of a warm welcome at the A1 Summerville Guest House.

*****PLEASE NOTE OUR CHECK-IN TIMES*****
Picture of A1 Summerville Guest House, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wow !!!!
This lovely guest house could give any of the more corporate chain hotels
A run for there money
Absolutely brilliant
The host was fantastic , a warm Geordie welcome , felt I known him for years
Will certainly be staying there again
Many thanks to Paul
Gary
Liverpool

Reviewed by
Gary Reynolds

From Prescot, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
Very Friendly warm and welcoming,,,,, will stay again

Reviewed by
D W Lawrence

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent

Reviewed by
Paul A

From COLCHESTER, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean. friendly.

Reviewed by
Sherry G

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean. friendly.

Reviewed by
Sherry G

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of Summervile Guest House Whicham Newcastle - Saturday November 10th 2012
After being put on the wrong bus to get to Whickham (!) - I arrived at this guest house mid afternoon Saturday.
Whilst the official information does ask guests to check in after 4 pm I was met by the owner and sole proprietor outside the property where he just happened to be working.
Very warm Geordie welcome which I greatly appreciated and was allowed to my room early where he ensured I had everything I required. All I required were bus times back into Newcastle which he quickly had printed off for me !!
The rest of Saturday afternoon & evening were spent back in Newcastle but I was pleased to discover,that when I got back off the bus,that Whickham itself is a really nice village to discover if anyone staying at the Summerville perhaps did not wish to go into Newcastle one afternoon.
Sunday - I got up early and was greeted with a genuine smile & warmth and after a smashing breakfast at 8 am - I spent the next 2 hours making use of the hotel's free Wifi in the lounge whilst watching Sky TV!
In summary this venue fully met all of my expectations of a Newcastle guest house and then some - because Paul is also a Newcastle United supporter and he very kindly got me the phone number for the club to see if I could get a ticket for the Sunday match (against West Ham United) which to my absolute delight I did ! Highly recommended -

Reviewed by
Patrick Kenny

From Sheffield, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly,clean and accomadated my late arrival. i found it hard to find. Confusing house numbers.

Reviewed by
Rebecca Johnson

From Worcester, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, comfortable and friendly.
This was just an overnight stay to attend a social event. The room was fine with an ensuite and a comfortable bed. Paul could not do enough for us. The breakfast was great. So good to have a freshly cooked breakfast rather than serve yourself from tureens with food that has been kept warm for ages!

Reviewed by
Elaine P

From Bingley, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3